We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”
Review of Tudor Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tudor Grange
Ranked #50 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
durrington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“weekend away”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Lovely Friendly Hotel we stayed two nights and could of stayed all week it was so quite nice comfy bed and great breakfast you will be glad you booked it we were. Rosie & Mark

Room Tip: Romeo & Juliet Balcony was great we sat outside with nice glass of wine you carnt go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosina103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    75
    37
    18
    21
See reviews for
57
164
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

DO NOT Recommend!! The hotel looks lovely however when we arrived we were not even greeted. When we finally met someone working at the hotel they were miserable and looked like they did not want to be there! They ignored us the first time they walked by and then we had to talk to them for us to get their attention, they just left us standing in the hallway! We got to our room and the size was reasonable, however the bathroom was awful! It was dirty, very small that you could barely fit in the shower and tiles virtually falling of the wall! Even though the hotel looked lovely, the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful therefore we do not recommend it and would definitely not come back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesyboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borisperis, Owner at Tudor Grange, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
The Tudor Grange Hotel bathrooms were all refurbished during January and February with many rooms having brand new bathrooms fitted. There certainly are no tiles falling off walls and showers are standard sizes.
There is a large bell for guests to ring on the reception table if the receptionist is not present.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were helped by a friendly receptionist with our luggage to our room, the deluxe double with a beautiful 4 poster bed in it.

The room itself is esquisitevely furnished, though the picture on the wall, would have been better to be more classically keeping with the decor of the room and needs to be replaced as is extremely wrinkled up under the glass. For a deluxe double, or any room for that matter, we were amazed there were no lamps on night tables. Yes their was a light above the bed, but only controlled by main light switch at the other end of the room. Luckily we had a torch in the car, as unfortunately we don't eat lots of carrots to see in the dark!

When we looked around the bathroom, we were disappointed to find, that there were 2 dark pubic hairs in the middle of the bath, which led us to believe, that the bath had not been properly cleaned from the previous occupants. On the brighter side, the bathroom toiletries were very generous and plentiful.

As soon as we arrived for breakfast on our first day, having been only the the 2nd couple to come down for it, there were only a tablespoon of dregs left in the cornflakes bowl, we had to ask for replenishment. On sitting down, the waitress asked for our breakfast order, before we had even looked at the menu. When the breakfast was brought out, one of us hadn't even finished our cereal, yet she wanted to take the dishes away as she was standing there with two plates of the next course. Perhaps she could have checked if we'd finished, before bringing them out. There was only one other couple in the room, so rushing wasn't necessary. It was noticed, on both of us having the same breakfast, one of us had 3 mushrooms the other 5, all uniform in size. This was also the case with other guests, same contents of breakfast, yet quantity of mushrooms, possibly thrown in at will. We all paid the same price ....Next morning one of us had two mushrooms the other 4, this not being very consistent. Understandable if we had different choices on our plates, yet again, some guests with same breakfast stretched to 5 mushrooms! On this 2nd morning, on coming down early yet again, being the first couple down, the young waitress excelled herself. She wanted to take our order BEFORE we had even sat down, were in process of pulling out the chairs, so had to stop midway and hastily order standing up. A lovely polite server, but a little training/customer service wouldn't go amiss. No one likes to be hurried to that extent!

We stayed at the Tudor Grange Hotel for 2 nights and went to the New Year eve’s party.

We both found the new year eve’s party, to be an acquired taste. We found the guests were very clicquey, and unlike other hotels we have stayed at, where there is a coordinator to encourage guests to mingle/ introduce themselves , this was not the case. We even stopped a lonely wandering gentleman and also later a lady, who were both alone and looked it! Interesting that last New Year's Eve 2010, a reviewer on tripadvisor, had pointed out exactly the same atmosphere, as if they had entered a private party of family and friends. At 11:pm, we gave up, went upstairs and watched New Year celebrations on Tv.

The management knew how many people to expect, yet they had put nowhere near enough chairs out for people to sit down on, so as soon, as a chair become empty, someone else jumped into it.

The yet again, eager young waitress, would come and attempt to clear plates as soon as someone would put one down on the table, even with a few morsels on them, that we eventually had to tell her that we and others were still eating!

Lastly, did we enter a ghost hotel? There were never any staff around in the two days we stayed, except at breakfast. We felt awkward to ring the bell for attention. Noticeably, their isn't a proper reception area, just a small table, with a landline & a mobile number to ring on it, so no one need man it. A reviewer on tripadvisor earlier in the year, can relate to this, when she attempted to enter for her stay there, but no one answered the door, and her calls went to voice mail. She stayed in a hotel opposite for the night. We couldn't even tell you now ,who, was, or if there even was a manager and at a guess, the poised, graceful lady with blondish hair may be the owner! This looks and feels a grand hotel, but its not meant to be a part time hobby run by the owners. One should have full time reception in sight, offer lunch or dinner, or bow out gracefully and change the name to Tudor Grange B and B. A majestic place, not bad, but the odd tweak here and there and it could be amazing :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinball23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGH_Charles, Owner at Tudor Grange, responded to this review, 30 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The feedback on our breakfast is helpful. Our staff are trained to wait and keep service efficient but professional at all times. The full english breakfast again should always be uniform.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

four of us spent this christmas break at Tudor Grange. From the start we all felt like part of the family, by the end of our break we were part of the family. It was like having a great family Christmas with traditional family fun. We had a great laugh with other guests and the food was very good and plenty of it,

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana_eames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Had a christams party here in dec 2011 for 35 people. Fran and her team were very helpful from the time of booking right through to the party finish. The venue is excellent, All the christams meals came out hot and were excellent, The bar service was very quick and not over priced. We booked the four poster bedroom with balcony which is a large spacious room, such a good price for such a lovely place. Then a nice hearty breakfast to start the day. Well done to all the staff, looking to book again for next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickiechoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel on the 13/11/2011 and I have to say I can not fault the hotel or the grounds at all. It was simply perfect and will deffinitly be going back.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Tudor Grange for one night. Its a beautiful looking place, in a great location and not too far from the centre of Bournemouth. The room was great with a lovely four post bed and the breakfast was very nice. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. I can't fault this place. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McMick_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#30 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Grange

Property: Tudor Grange
Address: 31 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Grange is beautiful historic accommodation set in secluded gardens on Bournemouth's East Cliff, England's premier resort. There are thirteen en-suite rooms and one self-catering cottage; the Tudor Lodge. The rooms include a romantic four poster honeymoon suite with balcony, deluxe double rooms, twin rooms and double rooms which offer single occupancy. All rooms are en-suite and have digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free high speed Wifi. The Tudor Lodge is available for self-catering accommodation for up to three guests and is fully equipped with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The accommodation is on a bed and breakfast basis, which includes a full English breakfast and a fresh buffet table with cereals, fruits, yogurt, pastries, milk and fruit juices. The Tudor Grange has free car parking and beautiful secluded front gardens that provide the feel of a country house by the sea. The seafront is only a two minute walk from the guest house and Bournemouth town center is a pleasant five to ten minute walk along the sea front. The Tudor Grange does not accept bookings with children under the age of twelve. If you are looking for a relaxed or romantic getaway, this is the perfect place for a weekend to remember. The Tudor Grange is family run and has been with it's current owners since 2006, who have been running a continual improvement programme throughout. All thirteen rooms have now been completely refurbished including all en-suites, with individual styling and charm. In 2011 based on customer feedback the family adopted a new management system including a change of staff and job roles which has enabled us to offer greater customer service to all our guests. To improve our bed and breakfast service further from the end of 2016 the Tudor Grange will no longer be a Wedding and evening function venue. This means the Tudor Grange will be solely for the use of bed and breakfast guests, with improved lounge and dining facilities. In addition we can guarantee our guests a relaxing and peaceful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tudor Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing