We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all dog friendly”
Review of Tudor Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tudor Grange
Ranked #48 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Woodford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not at all dog friendly”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel, (I mean bed and breakfast) as it advertises being dog friendly. After checking in and going to our room, the owner knocked on the door to inform me that my dog was dirty and wet. Guess what it had been raining all day. The dog had been dried off and was sitting on a towel, she stood at the door for a couple of minutes telling me what I already knew. Once settled in I took the dog to the beach to get her clean and kept out of the hotel for as long as possible for the two days I was staying there.
I stated to the owner on my departure had she had a hose, I would have washed the dog. She told me there was a hose by the garage, she must have assumed I was a mind reader. I checked to see if there was a hose as I left. Infact there was no hose, just a tap.
Never again would I stay at this hotel not only for this reason but for the hostile reception I received as I checked in.
The only friendly staff seemed to be those not associated with the owner.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borisperis, Owner at Tudor Grange, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
The Tudor Grange Hotel no longer accepts bookings with larger dogs. We hoped a considerate dog owner would have enquired into the use of a hose before walking a dripping wet, muddy, long-haired dog through a hotel and into an accommodation room.
It is unfortunate that as in many things in life, the few spoil it for the many and we regret that we can no longer take bookings with larger dogs as we are great dog lovers ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    75
    36
    18
    21
See reviews for
57
163
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just recently had a chance of staying there. For our wedding anniversary. Booked on-line, after seeing few photos of the rooms. Because we wanted something more, we booked de luxe bedroom, which on the photo looked rather nice. When we arrived, there was no one at the hotel..it was shut, despite it being Sunday. Fair enough, the note on the door said "check in from 3 pm.". We waited patiently. At 3 we rang the bell, but no one answered..Rang few more times and give up and decided to wait for someone . Sat on the bench right next to the front doors on the porch. Waited another 5-10 minutes and then a figure of young man arrived, clearly in a hurry, rushing across the garden towards the front doors and us. Completely ignoring our presence (we had a big luggage next to us , as we were booked for 5 nights), the man(dressed in trainers, jeans and T-shirt and looking just scruffy had a keys to the doors, opened them and then got in and shut them again, all the time ignoring us and not even saying a world. So we rang the bell again only to see him open the doors and with a very surprised face asking us if we are here to check in? We got in to a very dark hall and after few more minutes a young man(who turned out to be a receptionist) had given us key to our bedroom and pointed upstairs saying:"your room is there". When we got to it, it turned out to be ok, just ok.furniture did looked like on the website, but the room itself was very dark and depressing. but our biggest surprise was the bathroom...or the shower room actually. It was very small. Myself being a big girl size 18 I knew i will have a problem to get in and out of the shower, once i will manage to past through the toilet seat. I must say that at that point I was already angry with the service we received so far and the idea of seeing this unhelpful man at the reception and spending 5 days trying to shower in something the size of the wardrobe was making me even more upset. I went down to the reception trying to find receptionist to raise my concern, but he was nowhere to be found, instead the owner turned up. I explained the situation, and he showed me another room..a bit lighter, but a lot lot smaller(the first room was also small but on ok side)but this time with slightly bigger bathroom that actually had a bath, but was also very small)The idea of staying there was depressing. I said we don`t want to stay and we checked out, 5 minutes after we checked in.We lost our deposit, as the owner refused to give it back(in fact he tried to make me feel guilty that he is losing money as we booked for 5 days so he could not offer this room to anybody else, but luckily his receptionist already told us they were not at all fully booked that week, so I could call out the owner play into charging us and, as I said, lost "only"deposit. We left and booked into one of the hotels at the seafront on the cliff , had a bigger room, bigger bathroom , lovely sea view and it cost us £460(with a lovely breakfast each day), as to compare to £400 we were supposed to pay at the Tudor.(despite the owner warning us"if u don`t like my hotel u can book one of the £200/night at the seafront"...no Mr. Owner, as is shows, it is just slightly cheaper, and we stayed in real hotel not BB with proper reception and staff that was on our call at all times, and we had a lovely view to go to sleep and to wake up to, as to compare to your dark bedrooms with a street noise and unwelcoming and unhelpful receptionist.
As for the warning:may the story be a warning itself:sometimes it is not worth to go for cheap(or not so cheap in this story) and hotels that are looking expensive may offer u a good deal if u ask for it(we got 10% discount in our hotel) And as for the owner who I hope reads the review:u must know that first impressions are most important, and our first impression was very bad and your receptionist just made it worst. It could be so much different:he could be late, say straight"sorry" and let us in and make us feel welcome...we received non of it.Thank u for not charging us for 5 nights and not adding to our misery, keep the deposit to send your receptionist to some training ..on the good side, the BB was clean .Of course this is our personal feeling and I think now should the start of our stay there was handled professionally, it would be a lot lot better and perhaps this review would be different.

Room Tip: only seen two de luxe rooms. remember:u must be no bigger than size 14 to easylly get to the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirsty_33_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borisperis, Owner at Tudor Grange, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for your comments on how clean the hotel is. I would suggest to this person that you do not book a Tudor hotel if you do not like oak panelling. The rooms in question are both double aspect with large south and west facing windows.
The receptionist you refer to was released from his employment here that same day. We were bitterly disappointed and shocked at his conduct as he was recommended to us.
Deposits are non-refundable, as per booking terms and conditions, this is the only way hotels can guarantee rooms.
This person was not satisfied with the room and as a gesture of good will we did not charge them for their stay, despite them being bound to a contract of 72 hours cancellation policy.
It is a very sad world that despite our good will , a sour review has been left on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

our room was a romatic room with four poster bed with balcony which over looked the front garden very spacious and clean found the staff friendly was offered some information and a map of the sourrounding area which was very helpful. Just ashort walk the the beach which was great for just a few days away you could walk for miles.would go back again .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52Jane966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is not a hotel, it is a bed & breakfast establishment.

Room Tip: DO NOT Recommend!! The hotel looks lovely however when we arrived we were not even properly greeted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony_Betts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borisperis, Owner at Tudor Grange, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
The Tudor Grange Hotel is in very short walking distance to a world of cuisine, therefore we do not offer evening meals.
There is a fully licensed bar.
Each room is ensuite and has free Wifi, digital television, tea and coffee making facilities and an allocated free onsite parking space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durrington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Lovely Friendly Hotel we stayed two nights and could of stayed all week it was so quite nice comfy bed and great breakfast you will be glad you booked it we were. Rosie & Mark

Room Tip: Romeo & Juliet Balcony was great we sat outside with nice glass of wine you carnt go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosina103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

DO NOT Recommend!! The hotel looks lovely however when we arrived we were not even greeted. When we finally met someone working at the hotel they were miserable and looked like they did not want to be there! They ignored us the first time they walked by and then we had to talk to them for us to get their attention, they just left us standing in the hallway! We got to our room and the size was reasonable, however the bathroom was awful! It was dirty, very small that you could barely fit in the shower and tiles virtually falling of the wall! Even though the hotel looked lovely, the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful therefore we do not recommend it and would definitely not come back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesyboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borisperis, Owner at Tudor Grange, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
The Tudor Grange Hotel bathrooms were all refurbished during January and February with many rooms having brand new bathrooms fitted. There certainly are no tiles falling off walls and showers are standard sizes.
There is a large bell for guests to ring on the reception table if the receptionist is not present.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were helped by a friendly receptionist with our luggage to our room, the deluxe double with a beautiful 4 poster bed in it.

The room itself is esquisitevely furnished, though the picture on the wall, would have been better to be more classically keeping with the decor of the room and needs to be replaced as is extremely wrinkled up under the glass. For a deluxe double, or any room for that matter, we were amazed there were no lamps on night tables. Yes their was a light above the bed, but only controlled by main light switch at the other end of the room. Luckily we had a torch in the car, as unfortunately we don't eat lots of carrots to see in the dark!

When we looked around the bathroom, we were disappointed to find, that there were 2 dark pubic hairs in the middle of the bath, which led us to believe, that the bath had not been properly cleaned from the previous occupants. On the brighter side, the bathroom toiletries were very generous and plentiful.

As soon as we arrived for breakfast on our first day, having been only the the 2nd couple to come down for it, there were only a tablespoon of dregs left in the cornflakes bowl, we had to ask for replenishment. On sitting down, the waitress asked for our breakfast order, before we had even looked at the menu. When the breakfast was brought out, one of us hadn't even finished our cereal, yet she wanted to take the dishes away as she was standing there with two plates of the next course. Perhaps she could have checked if we'd finished, before bringing them out. There was only one other couple in the room, so rushing wasn't necessary. It was noticed, on both of us having the same breakfast, one of us had 3 mushrooms the other 5, all uniform in size. This was also the case with other guests, same contents of breakfast, yet quantity of mushrooms, possibly thrown in at will. We all paid the same price ....Next morning one of us had two mushrooms the other 4, this not being very consistent. Understandable if we had different choices on our plates, yet again, some guests with same breakfast stretched to 5 mushrooms! On this 2nd morning, on coming down early yet again, being the first couple down, the young waitress excelled herself. She wanted to take our order BEFORE we had even sat down, were in process of pulling out the chairs, so had to stop midway and hastily order standing up. A lovely polite server, but a little training/customer service wouldn't go amiss. No one likes to be hurried to that extent!

We stayed at the Tudor Grange Hotel for 2 nights and went to the New Year eve’s party.

We both found the new year eve’s party, to be an acquired taste. We found the guests were very clicquey, and unlike other hotels we have stayed at, where there is a coordinator to encourage guests to mingle/ introduce themselves , this was not the case. We even stopped a lonely wandering gentleman and also later a lady, who were both alone and looked it! Interesting that last New Year's Eve 2010, a reviewer on tripadvisor, had pointed out exactly the same atmosphere, as if they had entered a private party of family and friends. At 11:pm, we gave up, went upstairs and watched New Year celebrations on Tv.

The management knew how many people to expect, yet they had put nowhere near enough chairs out for people to sit down on, so as soon, as a chair become empty, someone else jumped into it.

The yet again, eager young waitress, would come and attempt to clear plates as soon as someone would put one down on the table, even with a few morsels on them, that we eventually had to tell her that we and others were still eating!

Lastly, did we enter a ghost hotel? There were never any staff around in the two days we stayed, except at breakfast. We felt awkward to ring the bell for attention. Noticeably, their isn't a proper reception area, just a small table, with a landline & a mobile number to ring on it, so no one need man it. A reviewer on tripadvisor earlier in the year, can relate to this, when she attempted to enter for her stay there, but no one answered the door, and her calls went to voice mail. She stayed in a hotel opposite for the night. We couldn't even tell you now ,who, was, or if there even was a manager and at a guess, the poised, graceful lady with blondish hair may be the owner! This looks and feels a grand hotel, but its not meant to be a part time hobby run by the owners. One should have full time reception in sight, offer lunch or dinner, or bow out gracefully and change the name to Tudor Grange B and B. A majestic place, not bad, but the odd tweak here and there and it could be amazing :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinball23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGH_Charles, Owner at Tudor Grange, responded to this review, 30 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The feedback on our breakfast is helpful. Our staff are trained to wait and keep service efficient but professional at all times. The full english breakfast again should always be uniform.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
#43 of 132 in Bournemouth
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#11 of 132 in Bournemouth
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Grange

Property: Tudor Grange
Address: 31 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Grange is beautiful historic accommodation set in secluded gardens on Bournemouth's East Cliff, England's premier resort. There are thirteen en-suite rooms and one self-catering cottage; the Tudor Lodge. The rooms include a romantic four poster honeymoon suite with balcony, deluxe double rooms, twin rooms and double rooms which offer single occupancy. All rooms are en-suite and have digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free high speed Wifi. The Tudor Lodge is available for self-catering accommodation for up to three guests and is fully equipped with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The accommodation is on a bed and breakfast basis, which includes a full English breakfast and a fresh buffet table with cereals, fruits, yogurt, pastries, milk and fruit juices. The Tudor Grange has free car parking and beautiful secluded front gardens that provide the feel of a country house by the sea. The seafront is only a two minute walk from the guest house and Bournemouth town center is a pleasant five to ten minute walk along the sea front. The Tudor Grange does not accept bookings with children under the age of twelve. If you are looking for a relaxed or romantic getaway, this is the perfect place for a weekend to remember. The Tudor Grange is family run and has been with it's current owners since 2006, who have been running a continual improvement programme throughout. All thirteen rooms have now been completely refurbished including all en-suites, with individual styling and charm. In 2011 based on customer feedback the family adopted a new management system including a change of staff and job roles which has enabled us to offer greater customer service to all our guests. To improve our bed and breakfast service further from the end of 2016 the Tudor Grange will no longer be a Wedding and evening function venue. This means the Tudor Grange will be solely for the use of bed and breakfast guests, with improved lounge and dining facilities. In addition we can guarantee our guests a relaxing and peaceful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tudor Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing