We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tudor Grange Hotel BOURNEMOUTHS BEAUTY”
Review of Tudor Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tudor Grange
Ranked #44 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Although we only stayed for one night on business, sorry we couldnt of stayed longer, in this beautiful maintained black and white tudor hotel. The room was very comfortable with a double bed, room for a sofa , coffee making facilites and a clean fully tiled shower room. Our breakfast was very tasty an English breakfast. bacon, sausage, eggs, beans. hash browns and hot buttered toast. the cereals were varied and fresh with a choice of prunes, berries and fresh yogurt. Not the normal heated trays where items have sat under a light. Lovely gardens with seating areas. Car park Free. The hotel was in walking distance to the centre of bournemouth and even closer to the sea. The family owned hotel was friendly and the staff courteous and helpful. If you are looking for a base to tour the Dorset countryside you will not be disappointed with this beautiful bournemouth hotel.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the garden , on the first floor up the grand oak staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank franniepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night last week as a treat away from family life. The hotel doesn't take guests under 12, so not a hotel we could use normally.

From the outside the building looks lovely and inside doesn't disappoint either.
It is decorated with dark wood which keeps in the character of the hotel.

We arrived a little early and we were shown to our room immediately. We had booked into the room with the four poster bed for an extra treat. It was a beautiful room with a little balcony, a walk in dressing room and good sized bathroom and a super comfy bed.

It was only a short walk down to East Cliff and the beach, we took the lift down to the beach. Its about a 15 minute walk to the pier. Just to note its a steep hill down to the pier, but there are car parks close to the pier if walking is difficult.

Breakfast was served between 8-9 and consisted of fruit and cereal and a hot breakfast cooked to order. It was good quality and served by a friendly waitress.

Really hope to have another night here again in the not too distant future

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clairemichelle1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel looks beautiful. Location ideal for a short walk to the beach and free onsite parking. I loved the olde world feel of the bedroom ( my hubby prefers a more modern set up) but I liked the quirkiness of our room which was clean and spacious. Somewhat less spacious was the 'showerroom' . It was only as wide as the shower cubicle , functional -just about, not really suitable for the 'fuller figure!'
Breakfast was nice- freshly cooked full English, but the service was , again functional. Its just the little things that were missing - 'is everything ok for you?' 'have a good day!' . Just a smile and a good wish goes a long way.
Good location and reasonably priced I would stay here again - the four poster suite would be my preference.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tn1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1night,and had a lovely time,we had a double room(large with a sofa and chairs)the building itself shows some very nice old features.the breakfast was ok,choice of cereals and a cooked breakfast.the young lady serving the breakfast was very helpful.the hotel has it own private parking.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ledolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We booked a one night stay in the Tudor Grange Hotel's 4 poster bed suite as a bit of a treat and it exceeded our expectations. The building is stunning , the staff friendly and attentive . Our room was without doubt one of the nicest we've ever stayed in . The king size 4 poster bed was very comfortable and the large luxurious en suite bathroom only added to the experience. The room opens out onto a small balcony with two chairs over looking the hotel's well kept garden. Breakfast was excellent,one of the best we've had at a hotel in a long while professionally served in a lovely room. The hotel is well situated for Bournemouth's many delights with the beach only a short walk away. Despite being at the seaside the Tudor Grange has a nice country feel about it. We thought our room was good value for money , you can pay a lot more in Bournemouth for a lot less ! All in all the perfect location for couples looking for a romantic get away by the sea and fancy staying somewhere a bit different to the usual seaside hotel. We're looking foreword to staying there again.

Room Tip: The 4 poster suite is the most expensive room but we thought it was well worth it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andyblakemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Lovely looking building from outside and in, run as a family business with current owners for the last 8 years. Able to have breakfast delivered to room as weather poor for our stay end of June 2013 and was intending to eat outside in the garden; very dog friendly. However due to wind/rain spent more time than expected inside room which was very narrow approx 8 feet wide beware those of larger than normal size. Cobwebs on ceiling. Hot water tap connection faulty so had a flood in bathroom on 2nd night, dealt with quickly and apologetically but spoilt the whole experience. Loo roll holder fell off to compound the issue and shower over bath was poor and leaked as well. The owner was aware of plumbing shortcomings but had run out of time to put in remedial work prior to summer season. Was very lucky to catch owners in building at time of leak I wonder what would have happened if as usual they were not in attendance leaving 3 mobile phone numbers to call in emergencies?????????

Room Tip: Go for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGH_Charles, Manager at Tudor Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Peter,
I am glad that the problem with the bathroom was dealt with quickly and effectively. Room 3 is the only room in the hotel that has yet to be fitted with a brand-new bathroom so apologies that you had this experience. The bathroom is to be completely refitted in January 2014.
Room 3 is a thinner room than any others in the hotel, yet hosts double bed, 2 tub chairs, desk and wardrobe, digital TV and tea and coffee making facilities comfortably. Rooms are cleaned and dusted on every departure.
The owner lives onsite so the mobile numbers once rung in an emergency mean someone is at the hotel within minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I must say we had the most amazing wedding day, in the company of each other and all our friends and family who had travelled from afar making the day so special. We had beautiful sunny weather and little wind. We fell in love with the tudor grange from just walking past, and spoke with friendly staff. We had good liason with staff up until a couple of months before when payment was due. The staff then attempted to alter the room prices (ours was supposed to be compliementary as we had booked out the whole hotel to which they tried to charge full price, and the standard rooms they added £10 and the deluxe rooms they added £30 to which they had originally stated, thankfully we had the email as proof to which they accepted to keep same prices). However i feel the staff thereafter and especially on the day were not as helpful as they once seemed. My husband arrived on the morning to drop of decorations as arranged with staff they would decorate as they had a wedding the friday (day before), however at 11am the previous wedding party were still packing up and staff had not tidied away, the staff seemed to be unaware there was even a wedding that day let alone the preperations made. A middle aged lady then retorted to my husband he would have to stay and set up as they would not be ready pn time for our reception, he explained the email conversation and insisted to memeber of staff we had liased with, he had to get back to shower get ready for HIS wedding, they reluctantly accepted this however my husband was left worried about preperations. . For the remainder of the day we did enjoy ourselves, as we were floating on such lovely company and weather. However on return from honeymoon our friends and family have stated some issues that have annoyed us due to the manor of the staff. They were reported to be grumpy with ushers over issues including confetti, we unerstand they have rules however it was the way they were enforced. They were also rude to our grandparents, and refused to make tea/and coffeee for them in the bar which seems ridiculous. Then moving to evening, the BBQ was very basic. With what seemed like basic sausages/burgers a very simple rice salad and a salad (iceburg lettuce leaves only), we were not impressed. However the main issue was that we had requested vegetarian and gluten free items for friends and family, of which none were prepared. Our uncle from australia (gluten free) ended up going to an indian restaraunt, and the mother of the groom (vegetarian) was left with a plain bread roll with some salad leaves. Unacceptable. The last issues were that tables were cleared away from outside areas whilst family and friends were still sitting outside. The one bar man was grumpy about using card machine. They were very grumpy when it came to the last dance, as some guests requested an encore and at 11.45 they turned the lights on and confronted people who were still singing by standing directly beside them. They took a bottle of wine (3/4 full) from bridesmaid who was staying at the hotel, as stated 'partys over'. The bridesmaid then asked if they could take it to their room or keep it to take with them in the morning, however they stated they had poured it down the sink. They even asked friends to help move some of the breakfast tables into what was the dance floor. It was just a shame that our nearest and dearest were treated by grumpy/ somewhat rude manored staff on our special wedding day. Lastly the honeymoon suite is beautiful, and was left clean and tidy however no special arrangements flowers or congratulations were left. We loved the hotel as location was near to our our church, grounds setting are beautiful, however the staff quite honesty we would have changed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsRolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGH_Charles, Public Relations Manager at Tudor Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi,
I'm so glad you had an amazing wedding day at the Tudor Grange. I do, however, feel really sad to have come on tripadvisor and read your review after all the hours of preparations we did together.
Everything on the day of your wedding ran smoothly, exactly as you had planned and we catered for everybody as you requested. The BBQ menu was discussed and agreed between us so what did you expect to be different? The burgers are 100% quarter pound beef burgers and the sausages butchers prime sausages. Salads were made freshly on the day as ordered.
Confetti is not permitted at the hotel and when your guests chose to throw it despite being asked not to this was a little upsetting to us, but we dealt with it calmly and professionally to not cause any upset to the main wedding party.
The music finishes at 11.45pm, as agreed previous to the day, so I am suprised that you were affronted at this? Drink up time is 15 minutes after last orders, as standard regulation. Hot drinks are served after the main wedding breakfast to all guests.
Room prices will have gone up since you booked, but we honoured your original quote.
Staff at the hotel are always friendly and helpful and the atmosphere during weddings at the Tudor Grange is wonderful.
Best wishes for your future as man and wife.
Kind regards,
Fran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Grange

Address: 31 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £57 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Grange is beautiful historic accommodation set in secluded gardens on Bournemouth's East Cliff, England's premier resort. There are thirteen en-suite rooms and one self-catering cottage; the Tudor Lodge. The rooms include a romantic four poster honeymoon suite with balcony, deluxe double rooms, twin rooms and double rooms which offer single occupancy. All rooms are en-suite and have digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free high speed Wifi. The Tudor Lodge is available for self-catering accommodation for up to three guests and is fully equipped with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The accommodation is on a bed and breakfast basis, which includes a full English breakfast and a fresh buffet table with cereals, fruits, yogurt, pastries, milk and fruit juices. The Tudor Grange has free car parking and beautiful secluded front gardens that provide the feel of a country house by the sea. The seafront is only a two minute walk from the guest house and Bournemouth town center is a pleasant five to ten minute walk along the sea front. The Tudor Grange does not accept bookings with children under the age of twelve. If you are looking for a relaxed or romantic getaway, this is the perfect place for a weekend to remember. The Tudor Grange is family run and has been with it's current owners since 2006, who have been running a continual improvement programme throughout. All thirteen rooms have now been completely refurbished including all en-suites, with individual styling and charm. In 2011 based on customer feedback the family adopted a new management system including a change of staff and job roles which has enabled us to offer greater customer service to all our guests. To improve our bed and breakfast service further from the end of 2016 the Tudor Grange will no longer be a Wedding and evening function venue. This means the Tudor Grange will be solely for the use of bed and breakfast guests, with improved lounge and dining facilities. In addition we can guarantee our guests a relaxing and peaceful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tudor Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing