We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Tudor Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tudor Grange
Ranked #49 of 134 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A last minute booking through hotels.com and we were delighted with this hotel .. Quaint building ... Lovely quirky room, very clean. We were in room 12 .. Only criticism I'd make is the shower door is not very wide so a bit of a squeeze ... Other than that squeaky clean, great breakfast .. Would return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank notnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Bournemouth is full of Hotels & Bed & Breakfasts and we have stayed in several. This hotel however ticked all the boxes for us. It is a magnificent Olde Worlde building with some very quirky rooms. We only saw one bedroom and this was room 3. This room I would have thought was one of the smallest room in the hotel?. It is very narrow but long. The bed sits at one end and you have approx 18" either side of it to get by. Some people may find this room to narrow as a previous review would suggest. This however was not a problem to us as we only stayed here one night and just thought the whole experience was magical. The decor is good and the rooms clean and tidy. The hotel would appear to have no back garden but the front area is magnificent as you can see from the hotel picture. Our room had a brilliant view into the garden of next door and the owner there has really worked tirelessly to produce a garden which we inadvertently benefited from. I only wish mine looked half as good, I have never seen grass so green. Anyway back to the Tudor Grange, the hotel staff were excellent and very helpful. We had a look around all the rooms downstairs and these were very impressive. You can imagine some very fine weddings being had here. We went out in the evening down to Bournemouth and when we returned we found the bar closed at 2000. Not sure if this is the normal time of closure. The breakfast here was lovely and plenty of it. The check out was quick and efficient. The hotel has its own off road private parking which is also beneficial. The walk from the hotel to Bournemouth pier is only about 20 mins so you are not far away from anything. We would highly recommend this place and would certainly make this hotel our return first choice when we return. We would however book direct with the hotel and would most probably pay the extra and try and get the room at the front with the balcony which looked over the front garden and the lodge room, which is also part of the hotel and situated at the end of the front garden. Good luck with this hotel, you should love it.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room size when booking. Some other Tripadvisors have commented that there room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travellerclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned from this delightful Olde Worlde Hotel. Beautiful house and garden,very well kept.We stayed in the 4poster bedroom with a little balcony overlooking the garden which was lovely. We were greeted by a nice young gentleman who was very polite and friendly. He served us breakfast both mornings we stayed there,which we enjoyed very much. You would never know there were other people staying there,as it was so peaceful except when you saw other guests at breakfast. In fact I can say I have never stayed in such a quiet place before! The bar is only open from 5 until 8pm, so if you want a bar in the evening, you do need to go out. That wasn't a problem for us, but might be for some. As they do not do an evening meal,you would expect to go out anyway.Would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Can only review the 4poster bedroom with balcony overlooking the garden as that is where we stayed...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MAZ865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I celebrated our whole wedding day at the Tudor Grange Hotel on Saturday 3rd August. We had an absolutely amazing wedding with many comments from guests about the beautiful hotel and gardens and the professional nature of all the staff.

We are local to Bournemouth, and after considering several other local wedding venues we settled on the Tudor Grange as we simply fell in love with the hotel. From our initial enquiries through to the day itself, Fran the wedding co-ordinator and her sister Louise, were more than helpful and understood exactly what we wanted for our special day. They simply went out of their way to help and please us; for example when a guest cancelled last minute, we were able to swap their food choices free of charge, so that another person could attend.

We chose to have our whole day at this venue. We were married in the stunning Mary Suite with gold roses on the ceiling, a red carpet aisle, stained glass windows and a beautiful bay window looking into the gardens. We then had canapés outside in the gardens with live music playing, followed by a 3 course wedding breakfast in the William Suite. The tables were beautifully decorated and staff liaised with us all day, for example they let us know the room was ready for the wedding breakfast, when it was time to cut the cake etc. Other reviews have mentioned the staff are grumpy – this is certainly not the case. The food was delicious and all dietary needs were met.

During the evening party, guests could relax in the gardens, dance in the disco room or relax and eat in the large William Suite. Unless you book a certain number of guest bedrooms, the disco had to finish by 11 and guests needed to be off the premises by a certain time. This was fine, as we understood that other guests, not in the wedding party, had paid to stay at the hotel that night too. Drinks were reasonably priced and there were ample toilets for all of our guests.

We stayed in the 4 poster suite with a beautiful balcony, which was complimentary for our wedding night. The room is stunning, and we are planning on returning sometime soon! Breakfast the following day was delicious, we had a full English breakfast then sat in the garden to have some tea. All of the staff at the hotel congratulated us on our wedding, and made us feel right at home.

This really is a beautiful hotel, a hidden gem tucked away in the heart of Bournemouth, and was absolutely perfect for our wedding day. We could not have asked for more and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beach_Bum_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Had a lovely time ay the Tudor grange hotel. We stayed in the triple room . very big. had sofas too relax on.Breakfast was very good quality . James really helpful. My mother and I would stay again:))

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drdonChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed for 1 night in this lovely Tudor Mansion with its beautiful garden. The bedroom was very clean, spacious and bright, with a lovely bathroom and walk-in shower. Ideally situated for the beach and shops, both within walking distance. The hotel had so much character like the charming little bar if you needed a drink. Friendly staff and free parking made our stay so enjoyable. Great value

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alelstree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Although we only stayed for one night on business, sorry we couldnt of stayed longer, in this beautiful maintained black and white tudor hotel. The room was very comfortable with a double bed, room for a sofa , coffee making facilites and a clean fully tiled shower room. Our breakfast was very tasty an English breakfast. bacon, sausage, eggs, beans. hash browns and hot buttered toast. the cereals were varied and fresh with a choice of prunes, berries and fresh yogurt. Not the normal heated trays where items have sat under a light. Lovely gardens with seating areas. Car park Free. The hotel was in walking distance to the centre of bournemouth and even closer to the sea. The family owned hotel was friendly and the staff courteous and helpful. If you are looking for a base to tour the Dorset countryside you will not be disappointed with this beautiful bournemouth hotel.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the garden , on the first floor up the grand oak staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank franniepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
775 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Grange

Address: 31 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £59 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Grange is beautiful historic accommodation set in secluded gardens on Bournemouth's East Cliff, England's premier resort. There are thirteen en-suite rooms and one self-catering cottage; the Tudor Lodge. The rooms include a romantic four poster honeymoon suite with balcony, deluxe double rooms, twin rooms and double rooms which offer single occupancy. All rooms are en-suite and have digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free high speed Wifi. The Tudor Lodge is available for self-catering accommodation for up to three guests and is fully equipped with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The accommodation is on a bed and breakfast basis, which includes a full English breakfast and a fresh buffet table with cereals, fruits, yogurt, pastries, milk and fruit juices. The Tudor Grange has free car parking and beautiful secluded front gardens that provide the feel of a country house by the sea. The seafront is only a two minute walk from the guest house and Bournemouth town center is a pleasant five to ten minute walk along the sea front. The Tudor Grange does not accept bookings with children under the age of twelve. If you are looking for a relaxed or romantic getaway, this is the perfect place for a weekend to remember. The Tudor Grange is family run and has been with it's current owners since 2006, who have been running a continual improvement programme throughout. All thirteen rooms have now been completely refurbished including all en-suites, with individual styling and charm. In 2011 based on customer feedback the family adopted a new management system including a change of staff and job roles which has enabled us to offer greater customer service to all our guests. To improve our bed and breakfast service further from the end of 2016 the Tudor Grange will no longer be a Wedding and evening function venue. This means the Tudor Grange will be solely for the use of bed and breakfast guests, with improved lounge and dining facilities. In addition we can guarantee our guests a relaxing and peaceful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Tudor Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing