We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It wouldn't take alot to make this a great venue.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tudor Grange Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tudor Grange Guest House
Ranked #52 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It wouldn't take alot to make this a great venue.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We hired the four poster bedroom suite. It was fine although the hotel is very cold - there are fireplaces so if they lit a fire or installed wood burners in the reception and dining areas this could be improved. The room was comfy but could be improved by a minibar and a telephone to reception. I suspect that these modcons wouldn't fit with the Tudor style, but could be hidden in a cupboard? We requested towels but they didn't arrive and we were unable to phone reception.
The location of the hotel is good - central but quiet road. Breakfast is served during one hour each day - extending this by a half an hour would give visitors a bit of flexibility and prevent a 'rush'.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 944claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGH_Charles, Manager at Tudor Grange Guest House, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Claire,
Thank you for taking time to review the Tudor Grange. Unfortunately it would be out of keeping to install a mini bar in the room and we took out the telephone to reception system as we felt it spoiled the manor house experience of staying here.
Towels are provided in the rooms and I offer my apologies if this was not the case for you as rooms are made with diligence and care by our house keeping staff as a matter of course.
I'm sorry that you felt to be cold. The house has been fitted with cavity wall insulation and the heating is always running in the cold season. The open log fires of the dining room and lounge are lit in the winter time for guests to enjoy.
We hope to see you again in the future,
Kind regards
Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    72
    34
    18
    21
See reviews for
53
157
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed two nights in the Tudor Grange Hotel which was very comfortable. This is a family run hotel and staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel ideally situated for a short walk to the Pier and shops restaurants and pubs. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were the best we have had for along time. Properly cooked, hot and tasty, sausage and bacon tasty, very very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherjelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this delightful Tudor style hotel. What a pleasant change to stay in a hotel with a bit of character. We arrived earlier than the appointed 3pm check in but were seen waiting in the parking area and invited in earlier. Very friendly staff and a very easy and quick check in. We were shown to room 7 at the front of the hotel. A compact but cosy double room with en-suite shower and wc. From the look of it I would guess it had just been refitted or very recently as there wasn't a mark on it.
We were in Bournemouth to see Miranda Hart at the BIC which was a 15 minute stroll along the seafront ......ideal.
In the morning there was a choice of cooked English breakfast or cereal, juices etc. very tasty and again very friendly staff. Check out was as quick as check in and we were soon on our way.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as it is well located, comfortable and with friendly staff. We would certainly return if the need arose.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night ,we were in room 6 which was lovely .we arrived early but we were let in our room which was really helpful .the staff were really polite . breakfast was lovely and certainly would set you up for the day .We would stay here again in this beautiful house if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Tudor Grange is a beautiful Tudor style Hotel with charm and great staff. The food and wine selection is great and the Hotel is tastefully decorated to a high standard. We are planning a 25th Wedding Anniversary soon and will choose the Tudor Grange, not only for the high quality of the venue, the Beauty of its surrounding grounds and the exterior but also for its location close to the attractions of Bournemouth and the beaches there. Highly recommended. Paul Davies MBM

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDavieshistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

had a christmas function at a near by hotel, so wanted to stay in a good hotel to make it a more special evening and was not dissappointed.
The room was very large and spacious and had the all important king size bed. I loved that it had a proper sofa and a electric flicker flame fire, which gave the room a good atmosphere.
The en suite shower room as a little small, but had done the best they could due to the character of the property.
I was dissappointed that in the front lobby they only had an electric flicker flame fire, it would of been wonderful if there had been a real fire there.
The welcome was good and breakfast was plentiful. Would visit again if in the area again

Room Tip: we were in room 5, which has a double aspect and one was a very large bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jksunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This well-priced hotel is perfectly positioned close to the seafront and the town centre. It is an interesting and attractive building and our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were courteous and helpful and breakfast was plentiful and good. We'll certainly go back if we need accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mashirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#8 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#30 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
#41 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Grange Guest House

Property: Tudor Grange Guest House
Address: 31 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Grange Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Grange is a beautiful historic guest house set in secluded gardens on Bournemouth's East Cliff, England's premier resort. There are ten en-suite rooms and one self-catering cottage; the Tudor Lodge. The guest house rooms include a romantic four poster honeymoon suite with balcony, deluxe double rooms, twin rooms and double rooms which offer single occupancy. All rooms are en-suite and have digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free high speed Wifi. The Tudor Lodge is available for self-catering accommodation for up to three guests and is fully equipped with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The accommodation is on a bed and breakfast basis, which includes a full English breakfast and a fresh buffet table with cereals, fruits, yogurt, milk and fruit juices. The Tudor Grange has free car parking and beautiful secluded front gardens that provide the feel of a country house by the sea. The seafront is only a two minute walk from the guest house and Bournemouth town center is a pleasant five to ten minute walk along the sea front. The Tudor Grange does not accept bookings with children under the age of twelve. If you are looking for a relaxed or romantic getaway, this is the perfect place for a weekend to remember. The Tudor Grange is family run and has been with it's current owners since 2006, who have been running a continual improvement programme throughout. All ten rooms have now been completely refurbished including all en-suites, with individual styling and charm. In 2011 based on customer feedback the family adopted a new management system including a change of staff and job roles which has enabled us to offer greater customer service to all our guests. To improve our bed and breakfast service further from the end of 2016 the Tudor Grange will no longer be a Wedding and evening function venue. This means the Tudor Grange Guest House will be solely for the use of bed and breakfast guests, with improved lounge and dining facilities. In addition we can guarantee our guests a relaxing and peaceful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tudor Grange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing