We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel.My Wife and I loved it!”
Review of Tudor Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tudor Grange
Ranked #44 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Was here last year for a friends wedding.My Wife said then that she would love to stay here.So as a Birthday surprise I brought her back.It was very comfy (Luxury double)A very warm room,with sofa's and a sliegh bed.The bathroom was a bit small with just a shower, toilet and basin,but hay ho,you cant win them all.Great breakfast (piping hot)
All in all a great venue.Will be using again! 5 stars

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Tudor Grange
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a stunning hotel, with really beautiful rooms. It's well situated for both the seafront, shops and restaurants. There is an amazing choice for breakfast, with everything cooked to order. I don't know why people are moaning about it being cold in the hotel - there is central heating, and we had an electric radiator in the room too. We actually woke up a little too warm on the first morning. I was sent a text on the day of arrival from the hotel offering that I could book in earlier than the normal time, which was appreciated. I would definitely stay again, and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Booked on line twin with bath but got family with shower. Had to keep phoning to arrange for reception to be open. Even had to phone again when standing on tbe doorstep and then waited 5 minutes for someone to
arrive. Room was freezing cold with no heating apart from a small free standing electric fire which was not
on. No central heating!

Breakfast adequate, room was clean. Would not stay agsi

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottypeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGH_Charles, Manager at Tudor Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

To clarify the hotel has a twin room with two single beds and two twin rooms with a double and a single bed, so they can be used as a family or twin rooms. The hotel bedrooms all have en-suites but some with baths and some with showers. If a guest specifically wants a bath en-suite then we do advise they specify at time of booking. There are some booking websites that can be misleading, as a bath symbol is used to mean an en-suite be it with shower or bath.
The hotel reception hours are made clear to all bookings but we try to be as accommodating as possible to guests wanting to check in outside of these hours. We have a very straight forward procedure for any guest arriving outside of reception hours, to simply phone the hotel when they are five minutes away so that we can check them in on arrival. It is regrettable this guest felt it necessary to phone the hotel several times, as this was not required, and did not actually phone when they were five minutes away so had to wait at the hotel door. It is obviously our priority that all our guests have a good experience, and therefore we try to make check in outside of reception hours as simple as possible.
The hotel has central heating in all the rooms, we supply additional heaters should guests require them. We hope that all the hotel rooms are warm and cosy for guests and have the heating on accordingly. The hotel takes note of this guest’s feedback and shall look in to the temperature in all the rooms and rectify the heating should we find any rooms are not warm enough.
We are glad this guest was pleased with the hotels very high standards of cleanliness throughout.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We hired the four poster bedroom suite. It was fine although the hotel is very cold - there are fireplaces so if they lit a fire or installed wood burners in the reception and dining areas this could be improved. The room was comfy but could be improved by a minibar and a telephone to reception. I suspect that these modcons wouldn't fit with the Tudor style, but could be hidden in a cupboard? We requested towels but they didn't arrive and we were unable to phone reception.
The location of the hotel is good - central but quiet road. Breakfast is served during one hour each day - extending this by a half an hour would give visitors a bit of flexibility and prevent a 'rush'.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 944claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGH_Charles, Manager at Tudor Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Claire,
Thank you for taking time to review the Tudor Grange. Unfortunately it would be out of keeping to install a mini bar in the room and we took out the telephone to reception system as we felt it spoiled the manor house experience of staying here.
Towels are provided in the rooms and I offer my apologies if this was not the case for you as rooms are made with diligence and care by our house keeping staff as a matter of course.
I'm sorry that you felt to be cold. The house has been fitted with cavity wall insulation and the heating is always running in the cold season. The open log fires of the dining room and lounge are lit in the winter time for guests to enjoy.
We hope to see you again in the future,
Kind regards
Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed two nights in the Tudor Grange Hotel which was very comfortable. This is a family run hotel and staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel ideally situated for a short walk to the Pier and shops restaurants and pubs. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were the best we have had for along time. Properly cooked, hot and tasty, sausage and bacon tasty, very very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopherjelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for one night in this delightful Tudor style hotel. What a pleasant change to stay in a hotel with a bit of character. We arrived earlier than the appointed 3pm check in but were seen waiting in the parking area and invited in earlier. Very friendly staff and a very easy and quick check in. We were shown to room 7 at the front of the hotel. A compact but cosy double room with en-suite shower and wc. From the look of it I would guess it had just been refitted or very recently as there wasn't a mark on it.
We were in Bournemouth to see Miranda Hart at the BIC which was a 15 minute stroll along the seafront ......ideal.
In the morning there was a choice of cooked English breakfast or cereal, juices etc. very tasty and again very friendly staff. Check out was as quick as check in and we were soon on our way.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as it is well located, comfortable and with friendly staff. We would certainly return if the need arose.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night ,we were in room 6 which was lovely .we arrived early but we were let in our room which was really helpful .the staff were really polite . breakfast was lovely and certainly would set you up for the day .We would stay here again in this beautiful house if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 67 in Bournemouth
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 67 in Bournemouth
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Grange

Address: 31 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £58 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Grange is beautiful historic accommodation set in secluded gardens on Bournemouth's East Cliff, England's premier resort. There are thirteen en-suite rooms and one self-catering cottage; the Tudor Lodge. The rooms include a romantic four poster honeymoon suite with balcony, deluxe double rooms, twin rooms and double rooms which offer single occupancy. All rooms are en-suite and have digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free high speed Wifi. The Tudor Lodge is available for self-catering accommodation for up to three guests and is fully equipped with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The accommodation is on a bed and breakfast basis, which includes a full English breakfast and a fresh buffet table with cereals, fruits, yogurt, pastries, milk and fruit juices. The Tudor Grange has free car parking and beautiful secluded front gardens that provide the feel of a country house by the sea. The seafront is only a two minute walk from the guest house and Bournemouth town center is a pleasant five to ten minute walk along the sea front. The Tudor Grange does not accept bookings with children under the age of twelve. If you are looking for a relaxed or romantic getaway, this is the perfect place for a weekend to remember. The Tudor Grange is family run and has been with it's current owners since 2006, who have been running a continual improvement programme throughout. All thirteen rooms have now been completely refurbished including all en-suites, with individual styling and charm. In 2011 based on customer feedback the family adopted a new management system including a change of staff and job roles which has enabled us to offer greater customer service to all our guests. To improve our bed and breakfast service further from the end of 2016 the Tudor Grange will no longer be a Wedding and evening function venue. This means the Tudor Grange will be solely for the use of bed and breakfast guests, with improved lounge and dining facilities. In addition we can guarantee our guests a relaxing and peaceful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Tudor Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing