We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“classic comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tudor Grange Guest House
Ranked #53 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
south Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“classic comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

If it helps you to judge the ethos of a hotel by the piped music in the dining room, at the Tudor Grange it's Classic FM. That sums up so much about this place. It's a bit of a folly, architecturally, and it's a surprise to see somewhere like this so near to the beach in Bournemouth, but it's immaculately kept, the welcome is warm and the breakfast is excellent. Having stayed at other larger Bournemouth hotels we appreciated the scale of this hotel, and considered it good value. It's within easy walking distance of the town, and the street that seems to contain all the ethnic restaurants, it's easily accessible from the main roads and yet it's quiet and relaxing. Top marks!

Room Tip: The front rooms have much better views than the rear ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BensdadsouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    72
    35
    18
    21
See reviews for
53
158
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Spent only one night here but wish it could have been longer. Lovely setting, beautiful room and very friendly, welcoming staff. Breakfast was delicious. The perfect amount, and swiftly served. Will definitely be back. Thank you to everyone at the Tudor France.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding at the hotel which I was bridesmaid for. The hotel itself is stunning, and our room was gorgeous and spotlessly clean. Loved the 4 poster bed! The shower was quite temperamental and went from hot to cold the whole time. The breakfast service also needs to be desperately improved. I couldn't attend breakfast on Saturday morning what with getting ready, but my other half went downstairs and waited at a vacant table. He waited for about half an hour and wasn't served, despite people being served around him. He gave up and went to McDonald's! The next morning at breakfast I had to ask to be served as seemed to be invisible again, but once that happened breakfast was tasty and just the right amount. Parking was also very difficult as not enough spaces, but I don't think this can really be helped. Overall the staff were really friendly and the hotel is beautiful and the bride had a lovely day. I would come here again, but do think the improvements should be taken into account.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very pleasant one-night stay here at this elegant old mansion. Tastefully decorated throughout, and with a beautiful tranquil garden. The room we stayed in (#5) had windows on two sides, was spacious and bright and had a very authentic feel to it. Breakfast was nice and served in an equally-elegant room overlooking the garden. The only thing I wasn't very impressed with was the breakfast service, the young Asian woman who was serving the tables seemed to us quite reluctant to have to serve those tables. Otherwise, reception staff were friendly and welcoming. Overall, definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Apparently room 5 (with the double+single bed) is the biggest & most elegant one in the house, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton,UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

It was our 7 year anniversary and we had a lovely 4 day stay at this charming hotel. Room was clean and decorated sympathetically to the style of the Hotel bathroom not a bad size. Tea and coffee making facitlities, free Wifi and flat screen tv all nice little extras. Breakfast piping hot and good quality, asked for extra bacon and sausage was given that no questions asked. All staff very helpful and friendly was definitely the best looking Hotel in Gervis Road gardens are lovely and well maintained. Would recommend this Hotel to anybody with confidence. Town close by lots of activities all in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have been lucky enough to travel the world staying in a variety of hotels and guest houses. You start to know quickly what makes average to very good. This hotel looks great, it's well maintained and furnished the owners are lovely. Sleep quality is good the water pressure on the showers could be better but it's the little things you don't get that left us thinking that this could be a little gem if only, there were the little things like a hair dryer in the room a notepad and paper, some tissues some individual toiletries. Yes we asked for fresh milk and it was freely given. Breakfast was good quality but an extra sausage or piece of bacon would have enhanced a nice freshly cooked breakfast. We enjoyed our stay but just on reflection think for a couple of small extras it could have been great. Car parking is available on site but can be tight, you can walk to the beach but it's up hill coming back. There is wifi but the further away you are the weaker the signal.

Room Tip: If wifi is important ask for a room that has a strong signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeman5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Came across this very nice looking hotel while looking to book another one which did not have the number of days we required.
We stayed for three nights in room 10 with the four poster bed the room was warm and set out very nice with a large bathroom & a dressing room.
The breakfast room was real nice with its vaulted ceiling and breakfast very tasty.
The staff were very nice and gave us a warm welcome, it is approximately 5 minutes walk to the cliff lift and path down to the beach and about 15 - 20 minutes to the town centre ( slow walk ) we had a very enjoyable time at this hotel and would recommend for bed & breakfast ( no evening meals )

Room Tip: Room 10 comfortable bed and overlooking front garden some traffic noise but not a problem as quiet e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
#37 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#11 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cransley
Cransley
#9 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#1 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Grange Guest House

Property: Tudor Grange Guest House
Address: 31 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Grange Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Grange is a beautiful historic guest house set in secluded gardens on Bournemouth's East Cliff, England's premier resort. There are ten en-suite rooms and one self-catering cottage; the Tudor Lodge. The guest house rooms include a romantic four poster honeymoon suite with balcony, deluxe double rooms, twin rooms and double rooms which offer single occupancy. All rooms are en-suite and have digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free high speed Wifi. The Tudor Lodge is available for self-catering accommodation for up to three guests and is fully equipped with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The accommodation is on a bed and breakfast basis, which includes a full English breakfast and a fresh buffet table with cereals, fruits, yogurt, milk and fruit juices. The Tudor Grange has free car parking and beautiful secluded front gardens that provide the feel of a country house by the sea. The seafront is only a two minute walk from the guest house and Bournemouth town center is a pleasant five to ten minute walk along the sea front. The Tudor Grange does not accept bookings with children under the age of twelve. If you are looking for a relaxed or romantic getaway, this is the perfect place for a weekend to remember. The Tudor Grange is family run and has been with it's current owners since 2006, who have been running a continual improvement programme throughout. All ten rooms have now been completely refurbished including all en-suites, with individual styling and charm. In 2011 based on customer feedback the family adopted a new management system including a change of staff and job roles which has enabled us to offer greater customer service to all our guests. To improve our bed and breakfast service further from the end of 2016 the Tudor Grange will no longer be a Wedding and evening function venue. This means the Tudor Grange Guest House will be solely for the use of bed and breakfast guests, with improved lounge and dining facilities. In addition we can guarantee our guests a relaxing and peaceful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tudor Grange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing