We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel”
Review of Tudor Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tudor Grange
Ranked #48 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for one night at the Tudor Grange. A very old house converted into a hotel by one family. Rooms were comfortable, the setting and gardens were lovely. Breakfast a must. An excellent hotel if you are touring.

Room Tip: Room Nr 7 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kahma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    75
    36
    18
    21
See reviews for
57
163
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, MI
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A somewhat odd bed and breakfast! We agree with a previous reviewer who said, "It seemed for sure like a ghost hotel - almost eery! The lack of staff and a proper reception added to the eery feeling! The only staff we saw was a check in receptionist and the morning waitress!" Although,
I think we may have met the proprieter on our morning of checkout, who seemed pleasant enough, but even when you heard rooms obviously being cleaned, you would look out of your room and see all the cleaning supplies, but no actual people.

My only real complaints were that the food quality was very average; we were spoiled by prior B&B's we stayed at that had only the very best quality and service and paid attention to every small detail. We stayed 3 nights -they often were low and/or ran out of coffee - quality was so-so. Often ran out of OJ - either didn't get any or had to wait till almost the end of our breakfast. Would have been nice to have milk, butter & jam already set up on the tables.

I was also alittle disappointed with our room; it wasn't terrible - it just looked old, out-dated, dark and gloomy, with peeling paint on the walls and cobwebs in the closet. For reference, we had room #8.

All in all, it was an average stay- nothing outstanding, but we did like the convenience of being close to the downtown area and the parking for our rental car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My mother and I spent 6 days at Tudor Grange hotel in May. It is a beautiful character Tudor house set in well kept grounds. It is a great location, only a short walk to East Cliff beaches and a moderate walk to the town center. We were pleased that there was parking available in the grounds. The hotel was guiet and relaxing with comfortable beds. We had a very large triple room with TV, arm chair and a 2 seater couch. This is family run hotel and all the staff were always very friendly and helpful. We had a very nice full English breakfast daily with good service. We would highly recommend Tudor Grange to anyone looking for a lovely quiet character B&B hotel

Room Tip: Room 5 is a lovely large room with great views of the front garden , it has a double and single pull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnPBGFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Tudor Grange Hotel is a small but really beautiful hotel located in the Lansdowne area in Bournemouth. The rooms are brilliantly unique and comfortable and staff is very friendly and helpful. Everything is nicely decorated and you get a very homy feeling in this beautiful setting. Full English breakfast is served in a room with nice stucco work on its ceiling and makes you feel like being in a little castle - what, in fact, is almost true! A beautiful garden with big trees round out this truly lovely place. The only downsides: breakfast is only served one hour and the road nearby is pretty busy and loud, however, the latter might not be a problem depending on in what room you are in...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissGuyWinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south Wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If it helps you to judge the ethos of a hotel by the piped music in the dining room, at the Tudor Grange it's Classic FM. That sums up so much about this place. It's a bit of a folly, architecturally, and it's a surprise to see somewhere like this so near to the beach in Bournemouth, but it's immaculately kept, the welcome is warm and the breakfast is excellent. Having stayed at other larger Bournemouth hotels we appreciated the scale of this hotel, and considered it good value. It's within easy walking distance of the town, and the street that seems to contain all the ethnic restaurants, it's easily accessible from the main roads and yet it's quiet and relaxing. Top marks!

Room Tip: The front rooms have much better views than the rear ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BensdadsouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Spent only one night here but wish it could have been longer. Lovely setting, beautiful room and very friendly, welcoming staff. Breakfast was delicious. The perfect amount, and swiftly served. Will definitely be back. Thank you to everyone at the Tudor France.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding at the hotel which I was bridesmaid for. The hotel itself is stunning, and our room was gorgeous and spotlessly clean. Loved the 4 poster bed! The shower was quite temperamental and went from hot to cold the whole time. The breakfast service also needs to be desperately improved. I couldn't attend breakfast on Saturday morning what with getting ready, but my other half went downstairs and waited at a vacant table. He waited for about half an hour and wasn't served, despite people being served around him. He gave up and went to McDonald's! The next morning at breakfast I had to ask to be served as seemed to be invisible again, but once that happened breakfast was tasty and just the right amount. Parking was also very difficult as not enough spaces, but I don't think this can really be helped. Overall the staff were really friendly and the hotel is beautiful and the bride had a lovely day. I would come here again, but do think the improvements should be taken into account.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
768 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
#42 of 132 in Bournemouth
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#11 of 132 in Bournemouth
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Grange

Property: Tudor Grange
Address: 31 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Grange is beautiful historic accommodation set in secluded gardens on Bournemouth's East Cliff, England's premier resort. There are thirteen en-suite rooms and one self-catering cottage; the Tudor Lodge. The rooms include a romantic four poster honeymoon suite with balcony, deluxe double rooms, twin rooms and double rooms which offer single occupancy. All rooms are en-suite and have digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free high speed Wifi. The Tudor Lodge is available for self-catering accommodation for up to three guests and is fully equipped with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The accommodation is on a bed and breakfast basis, which includes a full English breakfast and a fresh buffet table with cereals, fruits, yogurt, pastries, milk and fruit juices. The Tudor Grange has free car parking and beautiful secluded front gardens that provide the feel of a country house by the sea. The seafront is only a two minute walk from the guest house and Bournemouth town center is a pleasant five to ten minute walk along the sea front. The Tudor Grange does not accept bookings with children under the age of twelve. If you are looking for a relaxed or romantic getaway, this is the perfect place for a weekend to remember. The Tudor Grange is family run and has been with it's current owners since 2006, who have been running a continual improvement programme throughout. All thirteen rooms have now been completely refurbished including all en-suites, with individual styling and charm. In 2011 based on customer feedback the family adopted a new management system including a change of staff and job roles which has enabled us to offer greater customer service to all our guests. To improve our bed and breakfast service further from the end of 2016 the Tudor Grange will no longer be a Wedding and evening function venue. This means the Tudor Grange will be solely for the use of bed and breakfast guests, with improved lounge and dining facilities. In addition we can guarantee our guests a relaxing and peaceful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tudor Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing