We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed,but it was a pleasant stay”
Review of Tudor Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tudor Grange
Ranked #54 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed,but it was a pleasant stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

First lets go with the good things.The place is great!The room we had was fabulous,clean and spacious.The breakfast was superb!Now lets go to the bad thing! We arrived at the hotel and nobody were there to check us in.We had to go look for someone to attend us after ringing the bell and waiting for almost 10 mins.We asked the lady if we can chill a bottle of wine we have and she said she can not because the bar closes at 8 pm.So we asked for some ice and a bucket,the reply was they ran out of ice!Not helpful at all.But,over all it is a good hotel,its clean and the garden is beautiful,plus its free parking...oh,the shower does not have enough water pressure...if I recommend it? Yes!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dzenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    73
    36
    18
    21
See reviews for
55
159
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

When driving down the Gervis Road, the Tudor Grange Hotel is exactly the kind of hotel you would wish you had booked. Fortunately my family and I did. After countless bad experiences with hotels in Britain, this is exactly what we had wished for, but never had expected to find. A lovely surprise.

The hotel is quite small with only 10 rooms. We had a room at the ground floor, and it was spacious, very clean and with a very nice atmosphere with wooden panels. There were a couple of chairs, a table with coffee and tea and amble room for 3 adults and their luggage. The main bed is very narrow but ok. The free wifi was slow but ok for checking emails and looking up information.

The staff was very helpful and nice and made us all feel welcome in the beautiful house and its typical English garden. There is no reception, but staff tended to be there whenever needed.

Breakfast included full English breakfast and was delicious.

The Tudor Grange is a very nice change from the awful tourist hotels all around this area. We had tea every afternoon in the garden, and parking is on the premises, which is good, as parking in Bournemouth is a pricy nightmare. The beach is only 5 minutes away on foot, and town centre is a 10 minutes strole. The main restaurant road (Old Christchurch Road) is also only 5 minutes by foot. It doesn’t come better if you appreciate quietness in a typical tourist town.

Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is only one room at the ground level. This room is very quiet and undisturbed. The room is als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanishCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Down the driveway, park the car, walk across the lawn and knock on the door of the gracious old Tudor style manor and you will be greeted by your host. With a no fuss check in you'll need to be ready to climb the stairs with your luggage, but it will be worth it once you see the room. Although quite small, our room had French doors opening onto the balcony with views of the manicured lawns and surrounding trees which housed a large family of grey squirrels. The bathroom was quite modern and well appointed. Breakfast was a la carte, good service and good food. The only concern is the WiFi internet is not suitable if you need it for business during your stay..apart from that, this is a value for money quality b & b which I can recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HoneyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 3 nights stay. Good things about hotel are the cleanliness, breakfast and grounds. We were disappointed that the hotel bar closed at 8pm, YES 8pm, their website made no mention of this little fact. Our room had a four poster bed but was very small and an on suite bathroom with stand in shower that in our opinion was dangerous, you just get the temperature of the water right then if anyone else turns on their cold water or flushes a toilet you get scalding hot water instantly out of the shower, I got caught with this twice. Don't bother turning up before 3pm as the door is closed and a sign on the bell advises of check in time. We had to go for a stroll for an hour before we could check in. This isn't a hotel we would return to, in our opinion it's just a glorified guest house, in fact we've been to better guest houses. Three stars because it was clean and comfortable even though there is no lounge.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGH_Charles, Manager at Tudor Grange, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Steve,
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel and I'm pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, grounds and cleanliness of the hotel.
Our king size deluxe four poster room is on the wing of the house and enjoys double aspect windows over looking the garden and is fitted with flat screen television, full length mirror, large picture of Poole bay at sunset, writing desk, sofa and bed side table and lamps both sides of the beautiful four poster bed.
The en-suite offers both shower and bath. Thank you for bringing to my attention about the water temperature and apologies that it was uncomfortable to you. This matter has been looked into by the maintenance team.
Upon booking, it is made clear that check in time is from 3-8pm, which is the time that the bar and reception are open from and til. If guests require an early or late check in, they are advised to contact the hotel prior to their arrival for this to be arranged.
The William suite on the ground floor is left open all day for guests to enjoy reading in the arm chairs, playing cards at the table or just relaxing and enjoying the fountain and gardens through the window. This room offers a stately atmosphere for guests to unwind with gold embossed rose ceilings, open fireplaces and original paintings of Victorian Bournemouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in these hotel very nice and peaceful . Staff were excellent very good breakfast room were well decorative and very comfortable . Close to town 10 minitus walk to beach and town centre . Only down side is check in very late

Room Tip: Rooms front has a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the beginning of June this year. The building itself is lovely and situated near the beach (5-10) min walk which was a plus. On arrival we were greeted by whom I assume was the owner ( he actually never introduced himself ) and he told us about places to eat and visit , handed us our keys then disappeared . On entering our room ( my husband and me ) we noticed it was very very warm ( underfloor heating ) and the room was small ( a single room made into a double ). It was cosy enough though. On reading the guest info book we realised the bar closed at 8pm ! Very early we thought as there were a few guests staying . Also 1 hour for breakfast (8-9) which we thought was not long enough really . The night we stayed we really found out it was a single room ! Everytime I turned over I kicked the window ledge and the under floor heating was stifling !. The shower the next morning was like a leaking tap , no power to it. Also we had one mirror in the bathroom and that's it so getting ready was made difficult . Overall it's nice but our room was a blatant single sold as a double and the bar should be open later !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennySueG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were greeted at the hotel by the receptionist. My son and his partner had been working for the first part of the day, and were starving. My son asked if we could go and get a take away, and eat it in the garden. This did'nt go down too well with the receptionist, and she indicated it was'nt appropriate. There seemed to be a problem with the lack of hair dryers, as there was only one available. Apart from that, the stay was very enjoyable, rooms very comfortable, breakfast enjoyable, and very quite location. The owners seemed very friendly, and ready to please, was a very relaxing break for three days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuolanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
#41 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#15 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cransley
Cransley
#8 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Grange

Property: Tudor Grange
Address: 31 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Grange is beautiful historic accommodation set in secluded gardens on Bournemouth's East Cliff, England's premier resort. There are thirteen en-suite rooms and one self-catering cottage; the Tudor Lodge. The rooms include a romantic four poster honeymoon suite with balcony, deluxe double rooms, twin rooms and double rooms which offer single occupancy. All rooms are en-suite and have digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free high speed Wifi. The Tudor Lodge is available for self-catering accommodation for up to three guests and is fully equipped with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The accommodation is on a bed and breakfast basis, which includes a full English breakfast and a fresh buffet table with cereals, fruits, yogurt, pastries, milk and fruit juices. The Tudor Grange has free car parking and beautiful secluded front gardens that provide the feel of a country house by the sea. The seafront is only a two minute walk from the guest house and Bournemouth town center is a pleasant five to ten minute walk along the sea front. The Tudor Grange does not accept bookings with children under the age of twelve. If you are looking for a relaxed or romantic getaway, this is the perfect place for a weekend to remember. The Tudor Grange is family run and has been with it's current owners since 2006, who have been running a continual improvement programme throughout. All thirteen rooms have now been completely refurbished including all en-suites, with individual styling and charm. In 2011 based on customer feedback the family adopted a new management system including a change of staff and job roles which has enabled us to offer greater customer service to all our guests. To improve our bed and breakfast service further from the end of 2016 the Tudor Grange will no longer be a Wedding and evening function venue. This means the Tudor Grange will be solely for the use of bed and breakfast guests, with improved lounge and dining facilities. In addition we can guarantee our guests a relaxing and peaceful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tudor Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing