We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faultless we will be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
tyne&wear
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“faultless we will be going back”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

i stayed at this hotel for three nights,with my wife to celebrate our anniversary, also to visit family on booking we asked for a nice pleasant room and sure enough the staff delivered, we were given room 221 on the front the room has been recently redecorated to a high standard,for the price we paid it was as good as any 4* we have stopped in. the staff from reception to restaurant were just so polite and well mannered and made our stay so enjoyable, our waiter yurij robkevich you could put this guy in the savoy in london, with his method of speaking to guests, the food also was excellent quality and well presented so ignore all the silly small negative reviews and give this hotel a visit when in bournemouth as we are definitely coming back here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank petedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    236
    76
    32
    13
See reviews for
63
307
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Very Enjoyable 8 day breay with Sheerings
Nice hotel good food, all the staff especially Mario the waiter he was allways smiling! nothing was to much trouble i made a couple of requests because of illness & they were done in 10 minutes.
I travelled with my Mum who has Cealiac disease (allergy to flour) the waiting staff were all very attentive to her needs & helped her to choose her evening meal & breakfast pointing out what she could & could not have, first class service!
The food was all very good nice & hot with lots of choice for both meals.
There is a very good bus service at the end of the road (two minute walk) or a nice walk into town about 15 minutes.
The hotel is lovely & clean all the main areas are nice dining room/bar although the rooms are a little dated the beds are lovely & comfortable.
The entertainment in the evening was good especially Neil Scott his Michael Buble' was first class, as in the words of Simon Cowell..........."Neil i really dont think you realise just how good you are"......believe in yourself!!!
We had some great days out to Christchurch, Portsmouth, Sailsbury, Swanage & Isle of White the drivers Ricky & the lovely Dave were great, thanks for all the help with the Wheelchair. but it has to be said the "star" of the holday was our main driver Paul what he does not know is not worth knowing & his quizzes drive you insane! but he is so funny, he should replace the in house comedian (sorry cant remember his name) cant ever remember laughing so much & yes Paul Blanche says your air breaks work a treat!
All in all our stay was great this is our third time with Sheerings we will be Back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joellecarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I've been reading the more recent reviews of The Majestic with interest. It seems that happily, standards have improved since we last visited in June 2010 (not August) for a weekend. It transpired that neither the manager or deputy manager was on duty the particular weekend we were there. We'd always been extremely satisfied with the food at Shearings hotels, but that weekend at the Majestic, it was very poor. On the Saturday, the spaghetti bolognaise was dried up and the vegetables were nearly cold. The following day, the scrambled eggs were watery and insipid and the "fish in breadcrumbs" was served in a greasy batter. We had to ask for the meals to be changed. To make matters worse, we had a very sulky and unhelpful waitress. Her attitude was very evident from the start. There were also problems regarding entertainment, as the artistes didn't turn up on time. Some guests went to reception to find out what was happening, but didn't get much joy from the staff. We've had many happy holidays at The Torbay Hotel in Torquay, where all the staff are excellent, so our weekend at The Majestic was a very disappointing contrast. We will visit the Majestic again, and I will then write another review, which I hope will be more favourable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainbowDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

my partner and i stayed on the first of the shearings 8 dayers and had a great stay with first class food good entertainment and two great drivers in ricky and paul ,first class days out highlights portsmouth and isle of wight .found plenty of areas to sit in hotel and nice areas outside great location for local buses staff first class highly recommened for anyone wanting a visit

Room Tip: ask when booking for ground floor or one near lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank caz083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed at the Majestic for a long weekend May 20-23, 2011 and it was brilliant.
There were 4 of us (2 married couples) with ages from 53 to 66, this was our 3rd visit to this Hotel. We had a fantastic time and couldn't complain about anything. We all even went in the swimming pool, after being on the beach for 6 hours on Saturday. The water was rather cold, but great fun (It entertained the other guests anyway).
The entertainment on Friday & Sunday was OK, but Saturday was excellent, being entertained by Christopher Gee & Zoe. this is definately the best act we have seen at any hotel or complex, home or abroad.
We will be booking for next year soon.
Simon, Jo, Brian & Linda

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HaddenhamWibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walton on thames
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The food was great, the serving sfaff wre great , reception staff a bit off hand.
Room 313 was light and airy but you had to wait a minimum of 15 minutes running the wate to get something warm, the tiny lift (max two at a time ) is adjoining this room sono sleep until the last guest has gone to bed.
Bar prices were amazingly low, snooker room had a very nice table , unfortunately never brushed and all the tips were missing and also void of cue rests to enjoy a game. This facility is advertised in the write up so it should be there.
For the price it was passable mainly due to the good food ,I wouldnt go back as I think this hotel is well overdue for a makeover.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank royjames82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

On arriving at the hotel we found the staff to be very helpful and informative. Our room was very clean and all be it a little dated very comfortable. A great location near to the beach but far enough out of town for a bit of peace and quiet. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marty05Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing