We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you get what you pay for (worth money we paid)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for (worth money we paid)”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

this has great entertainment we had a brilliant time a pity about mould all in bathroom if they did something about that and the got a more friendly manager in bar like the two younger bar staff it would be great my room only got cleaned twice in week

Room Tip: some rooms dont have showers ours didnt lift very small so better of on 1st or 2nd
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Hi Ann
I am pleased you had a brilliant time with us. I have taken on board your comments about the room and our bar manager. I am not sure why your room was not cleaned every day as this is our policy. I will pass on your comments to all concerned I know the two lads in the bar will be thrilled you mentioned them. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    234
    76
    32
    13
See reviews for
63
305
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is our second stay at the Bournemouth Majestic but our room was not so good this time. The downstairs public areas have been re-decorated but the bedrooms are in need of some up-grading. Our radiator refused to get any warmer than tepid but, as soon as we mentioned to the Manager that our room was cold, he arranged for us to have a heater delivered to our room and this arrived very quickly.

The building may be in need of attention but the staff certainly work hard to make the holiday a success. Our waitress - Anna - was always friendly and cheerful and Frederick the Hotel Manager was again always welcoming and helpful. The staff all work very hard (Shearings appear to be cutting down on their staff numbers) but in this hotel they appear to do so cheerfully.

The entertainment was great - many thanks to Amanda Jayne who is a superb hostess/singer/comedienne - plus the visiting comic.

We will certainly visit the Majestic again as, despite the 'tattiness' of the rooms (mainly due to the age of the building), the good food, entertainment and the friendly staff make for an enjoyable stay.

Another plus point for the hotel is its handy position, situated in a quiet road - a short walk to the sea & with frequent buses to Bournemouth Town Centre (or further of course) just round the corner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
HI Seasidedancer
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff all did their bit to ensure you had a fabulous time. As for your room, I am sorry to hear you didn’t like your room as much this time as you have in the past and I hope we can do better next time. We do have an ongoing program of improvements here and things are changing all the time. Please feel free to call or email me should you wish to discus anything with us at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed at the Majestic with a group friends for a long weekend. We found the hotel clean, warm & comfortable, yes the rooms could do with a makeover but non of us had any major complaints. The food & service were very good. All the staff were efficient & pleasant. The entertaiment was fine, we would all return just to see Amanda Jayne she made a refreshing change, a very funny lady.
The hotel is in a good position being just a short walk from the seafront.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and found it to be excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SheAKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Hi SueAKent
Great to see you enjoyed your time with us Amanda is fantastic isn’t she. I am pleased to see you like our location, we are perfectly placed just a two minute walk from the sea in one direction and a two minute walk from a bus stop in the other (where buses run every 5 minutes into town at around £1.80 return – can’t be bad can it) . We hope to see you again soon and don’t forget we are perfectly placed for the Air Show weekend at the end of August but book early for that one as we will sell out fast. I am glad you enjoyed the food and the service met with your expectations, I will pass your comments on to all concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Shearings are slowly getting better,
This hotel at least had some investment put in it - downstairs in the public areas at least.
However the rooms although 'freshened up' had no attention to detail.
The radiator was 'grubby', the window sill 'grubby'
The saving grace was that the staff worked very hard, the food was Ok well served and hot.
Limited parking which is 'hogged' by clients who arrive and then do not go anywhere in their
cars. On street parking at a small charge - except weekends....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyGerstner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Hi RoyGerstner
Thanks for your comments we are slowly improving things here and we do have an ongoing program of investment. I am glad to see you like the new look public areas and we are now starting to move upstairs with our improvement works. Car parking can be a bit tight at times but most weeks we don’t have any problems and as you say street parking is free at weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

To Date we have stayed at five Bay Hotels and without a doubt this was the best. Rooms could do with being modernising,but,they were clean and tidy. The food was well presented and the staff very helpful. The bar at night was the best run that iIhave seen at Shearings also the entertainmment was very good. Well done to all the staff

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ReddragonWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thanks for the great comments about both the hotel and our staff I will make sure I pass this on to them. We all do our best to ensure your holiday is just as you expect and its really good to hear we have lived up to your expectations. I have taken on board your comments about the rooms, we do have an ongoing improvement program here and I hope you come back soon, where I would be more than happy to show you the progress we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed here on Shearings Break, 7/11/11. Food excellent. Good menu choices and variety. Service very good. Entertainment superb. Hotel layout very nice. Rooms not very big but adequate with all facilities. Shower small but did the job. Lift is an old 2 people lift but o.k. Room cleanliness o.k. but could be much improved on. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barloo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thanks for your feedback on our hotel I am please to see we just about reached your expectations. All of us here do our best to not only meet your expectations but to exceed them. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and make your stay more enjoyable. I am pleased to see you found the service you received form us was very good I will pass these comments on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed for an 8 day holiday in August. Very nice hotel well placed for nice walks down into Boscombe and handy for the bus into Bournmouth. As a vegetarian pleased to see a very good choice but this is not the same with all Shearings hotels. Luckily the chef knew how to cook the vegetables perfectly. Only downside was the slow service in the restaurant. Never bothered with the entertainment I could hear it from the bedroom !! Suggest asking for a quiet room !!. Staff very helpful especially on receptiion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hi BrendaABC
Thanks for you nice comments I am please to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your praise on to Victor our chef I am sure he will appreciate it. As you say we have a great location here and the busses go every 5 minutes in to town making life easy. Sorry to see you thought the service was a little slow in the restaurant, we do try not to rush you too much with your meals, as we want you to enjoy the experience. I do that hope this did not cause too much of a problem for you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing