We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 day break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 day break”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel itself needs decor updating but is still clean and comfortable. We have stayed there twice this year and both times was more than satisfied with all the meals offererd.The staff all went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. We would definatly recomend this hotel for short breaks in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Hi Julie A
Thanks for your great comments I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us we are still continuing our updating. I will pass your comments on to the staff I know they love to read them and hope you come back soon for another short break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    234
    76
    32
    13
See reviews for
63
305
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Just returned from a 5 day Shearings break, staying at this hotel. Our room was tired but kept very clean and tea/coffee was replenished daily. I presume that some rooms still need to be refurbished. Our room had mould on the bedroom and bathroom windows and the curtains also had mould on them which isn't very good for one's health. However, the staff at the hotel were very pleasant and we had a wonderful waitress named Anna who was very efficient. There was a good selection on the menu for evening meals and they were all very enjoyable. Our driver for the week was Robert and he made our journey and trips out very relaxing. It would have been nicer still if the weather had been better but we will return at another time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Hi Ann C
Thanks for your comments I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us despite the rain. Like you say some of our room do still need updating and we are trying to get things done as fast as we can. I will pass your great comments on to Anna in the restaurant and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at the Bay Majestic Hotel, Bournemouth, during mid June 2012; we booked on an inclusive package for 4 nights inc Breakfast and dinner.
Comments as follows,
Food average standard
Service standard; I wish specify to MD, if I can obtain his email address.
Central Reservation is not very helpful after bookings taken. No customer care attitude.
Rooms are tired, need urgent attention.
JC2962

Room Tip: ask for top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JC2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Hi JC2962
Thanks for your comments, I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us but feel free to email me if you wish at tracey.moores@shearings.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel with a Shearings group.The main areas in the hotel were very good, (especially the bar and lounge area which was comfortable and spacious) but the updating of the bedrooms which I believe is going on should if possible be speeded up. It is spoiling what otherwise would be a very good hotel.Room 319 badly needed doing over, the window was rotting and the black mould had spread to the curtain.The bathroom though clean needed modernising. And please get rid of the sheets and blankets.The staff were all very good , they were friendly helpful and very efficient.The evening entertainment especially Amanda Jane was much better than some I have experienced.The food was always hot and the menu was quite varied.The hotel is a fair walk from Bournemouth but it is doable and the bus service by all accounts is excellent.The hotel was especially accomodating on our last day as they served breakfast early to enable us to go to see the olympic torch which was passing near to the hotel.Finally a thank you to Laurence (our driver) whose knowledge of the area was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask has the room been modernised.The hotel is situated in a quiet area so noise is not a problem .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starwoman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Hi starwoman58
Thanks for your comments we are moving as fast as we can with room improvements. I am pleased you enjoyed the new look lounge area. A tip for your next trip with us if you want duvets instead of sheets and blankets just ask this can be done for you ready for your arrival if you let us know before you arrive or just ask when you arrive and we will be more than happy to change them for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just returned from a four night break with Shearings to this hotel. Stayed in Room 119 which was
clean, but very tired looking. Bed was comfy and sheets, duvet and towels very clean. Window either needed replacing or cleaning, could not make out which.
Dining room needed refurbishing, but meals were good and staff were helpful and welcoming,
Did not bother with Bingo or Quiz in early evening, but went down about 9.00 for Cabaret.
Amanda Jayne, who was on three times in the week was absolutely brilliant singer and so witty.
Neil Scott who was on with Amanda Jayne once and solo once had a brilliant voice and was very easy to listen too.
Had problems with the T.V, could only get channels 1 - 5 and of these channels we kept losing channels 1 and 2. It appears that we were not the only room having this problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pax27nch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Hi pax24
Thanks for your comments, as you I am sure have seen we are always improving the hotel and the window in your room was one of the ones with the blown glazing units we are on to this and it will be done as soon as we can. We are also sorting out the TV reception at the moment and this should be sorted next week. I hope this didn’t spoil your stay to much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was what appers to be a typical Shearings Bay experience, albeit our visit there was 18 months ago. Interesting to see if other folks have had a different stay since then. Initial impressions were not good. The coil of electrical wire dumped on the roof to the right of the entrance, the swimming pool area with piles of windblown leaves (in February), the tired and broken pool furniture, and those palm trees in frony of the entrance totally pot bound and looking very sorry for themselves. Also the items of junk thrown up onto the flat kitchen roof outside our bedroom window. All this gives the very strong impression that although all the basic facilities are present and work OK, nobody actually runs or gives a damn about the place. But enough of the bad things for now, the food was very fair, the waiting staff were good, the bar was fine and the entertainment lady really worked hard. Our room was adequate, comfortable and warm. Like the title says, you get what you pay for.
However, unforgivably, on the morning trip to Southampton the coach driver left me behind after departing three minutes before the appointed time. Most fortunately there was another Shearings group from their other hotel in Bournemouth assembling and I rode back with them. That driver took me on to the Majestic once he had dropped his own passengers off. I can cope easily with an occurence like this, but I doubt that some of the older and less resourceful folks could have managed. Thirty miles from the hotel and the only direct link is the train with a one mile walk at each end. Be warned. Ignore the visit date, Trip Advisor web site doesn't go back that far.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the north end with delivery truck reversing horns starting early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ancientwokkadriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Hi ancientwokkadriver
Thanks for your reply a lot has happened here over the last 18 months as you saw from recant comments. Why don’t you come back and see for yourself I know we would all be happy to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

i have just returned from a 3 night stay in this Hotel and i my observations are that it needs a
lot of work!!.
We stayed in room 301 the sheets and towels were nice and clean (although towels were not big enough),but the furnishing was very out of date and the windows were filthy dirty!!

The whole of the hotel smelt really musty which didn't endear you to it as you walk in,however the staff were very accomodating,especially the restaurant staff who couldn't be more helpfull
and the food was good,nice choice and well cooked..And the less said about the swimming pool the better!!!.
Would i stay there again?.NO i don't think so unless they clean the place up

Room Tip: the first floor has been renovated i think!! try that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chigg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Hi chigg63
Thanks for your comments we do have an ongoing program of refurbishment and at the moment we are replacing some of the windows which have condensation in between the double glazed units. We have also taken advantage of the poor weather to make some improvements around the pool area as the rain at the moment is not inviting people to take advantage of our sun trap of a pool area. I am glad you enjoyed the food and will pass your kind words on the staff I know they will appreciate reading them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing