We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, shame about the weather” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow upon Soar, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, shame about the weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have just returned from a 5 day Shearing break at the Majestic Hotel Bournemouth. This must go down as possibly the best we have been to. The standard of decor and cleanliness of
our room was excellent. Not always been able to say that about other hotels we have stayed at
in the past. The meals were first class with very polite staff serving.
The other thing of note was the standard of entertainment, which again was probably the best we
have had in any of the Shearing Hotels.
The excursions were also good value and interesting, as it is nearly 30 years since we last visited
this area.
Only thing that spoilt the holiday was the weather, rained solidly for 3 of the days we were there.
Still didn't spoil our enjoyment and would certainly go back again sometime.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor in room 203 above the entertainment room, so could hear music playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Hi Roger H
Fantastic I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us I will pass your great comments on to the rest of the staff. I hope it’s not another 30 years before you come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    226
    73
    31
    13
See reviews for
60
294
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Just back from a five day stay at the Majestic, travelled with Shearings. We had an uneventful drive down with our driver Lawrence. We have stayed at the Majestic last year, so we know the hotel well. We stayed in room 120 this time a nicely reburbished room, very clean with a modern free view tv.though being on the first floor overlooking the road it needed net curtains. The food was excellent hot with a good choice, service was good but marred the last two mornings at breakfast when the service on table 70 was very slow. Entertainment in the evening was good mrs won £54 on the bingo ! Some places at the hotel are dated and need tlc but I would recommend this hotel, I will no doubt go again next year. Well done to the staff and management for making it a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and not on a too higher floor, the lift is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Des C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Hi Des C
Great it’s nice to see people returning after a nice visit. I have taken on board you comments about net curtains and have ordered some new ones for the room you stayed in. I am sorry to read about your slow service on your last 2 mornings we have recently been training some new staff. I am glad to see this didn’t spoil your stay with us and we all hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Me and my family have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Bay Majestic and we felt that we would write to say what a fabulous time we had. We went by coach and the coach driver was lovely. We enjoyed the trips that were included in the price of the holiday, there was something for everyone. The hotel was clean, all of the staff were pleasant, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was very nice and there was plenty to choose from. The service in the dining room was excellent. While we were there it was my daughter's birthday and the staff organised for the dining table to be decorated and a birthday cake to be brought out after dinner. We would definitely go on another Shearings holiday and we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Hi Maxine A
Fantastic I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the trips we offer. I will pass your comments on the staff I know how much they enjoy receiving letters from guests who had a good time. We all Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We booked a short break with the above hotel on a half board basis arrived on the Monday afternoon after driving 150miles parked in a parking bay and was greeted by a Shearings driver shouting from the other side of the road ' You cant park there' same thing from the reception again 'you cant park there you should have booked a parking space at five pounds per night when booking the room:
This was not mentioned when booking was made and I must confess I have never been charged for Hotel parking in the past . Clearly there were no allocated parking spaces left and we were told 'you can park in the road at 50p per hour or !2pounds a day apparently where we parked could only be used at weekends since the coaches take up this area
I not only found the attitude of the staff and driver rude but also aggresive.
I object most strongly at being asked for a parking fee and would suggest to anyone using Bay Hotels that they are sure they are told about all the costs of the Holiday before booking. Needless to say you get one opportunity to make a good impression and this most certainly did not
I will be writing to the management of Bay Hotels to register a complaint however one saving grace was that we did get a no quibble refund on the day. Our holiday was rescued by The Filly Inn at Brockenhurst and The Crown Hotel at Lyndhurst neither of whom asked for a parking fee

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank rugbylad_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Hi Rugnylad_9
Parking is quite tight here at times and we do offer people the chance to pre pay for a space this takes away the worry some people have about parking when they arrive. As you didn’t book here with us at the hotel I can’t comment about you not being told about our car parking arrangements. I would like to apologise for the rhetoric of the coach driver and receptionist as it would not have meant to be rude or abrupt but rather to inform of the parking restrictions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedbergh cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

it was our first experience of a shearings coach holiday.why didnt we do it before?everything was good ,super coach, lovely driver,nothing too much trouble.great tours with ,im sure extra information supplied by the driver.traffic was bad on return journey to stretton,but again the driver came out with an answer.hotel was fabulous,lovely setting,quiet ,staff all helpful,especially reception staff.food was ideal plenty of choice,nice staff serving.entertainment was good and bar staff too.we enjoyed it so much that we have booked another holiday,with shearings but to a different resort.

Room Tip: our room was at the back of the hotel quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SedberghCumbriaHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Hi Sedbergh Cumbri…
Fantastic it’s always nice to see a new guest who has never tried us before have such a great time with us. I am so please your stay encouraged you to book another one of our hotels I am sure you will have another great time. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Just returned from holiday with Shearings staying at The Majestic. Despite few problems with the room which was dealt with efficiently, we had a pleasant stay. The food is good and also the service, albeit eating times need to be a little more flexible avoiding particuarly the early morning rush to the cereal bar. Drinks are expensive and it would nice to have had the vouchers. You should be aware that this hotel is not very near Bournemouth centre unlike the Savoy and to older visitors you do need the public transport, which is exellent. Having stayed before at the Savoy and indeed we visited there for a coffee on this holiday it is a much more pleasant hotel and much nearer the centre of Bournemouth. As with both these hotels, the bedrooms do need a makeoverAs to the size of the beds, i.e. double 4ft 6ins in this day and age is too small, unfortunely this is not an uncommon thing which is why we tend to have a twin room, but this was not possible on this occasion. Windows at the Majestic all need replacing as the seals have gone and almost impossible to see out of them. I understand that this is on the agenda!Would we visit Majestic again, answer is definitely no, but would go again to the Savoy.

Room Tip: Choose a suite or higher floor preferably overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patsyj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Hi Patsyj42
Thanks for your comments we are doing the windows as part of our ongoing improvements and these should be finished soon. We do offer bar vouchers on some of our breaks as do the Savoy keep an eye out for the voucher breaks when they are on sale. We try to keep our bar prices as competitive as we can to the high street and are cheaper than most other hotels near us but unfortunately we can’t mach one large high street pub chains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

my husband and i enjoed our time in bournemouth, hotel is in middle of revamp but in no way did it affect our stay never once did i see mould or smell anything bad in hotel. staff are so freindly in this hotel and willing to help always, food was of a good standard with a good varied menu bar staff came to your table every evening so you could order drinks. entertainment was ok but with it being a lovely week we only stayed in for entertainment once. we went with shearings and would come again thankyou to all the staff who work very hard and to laurence our driver. not 5 star hotel but great hotel for money we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geordieWashingtonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Hi geordieWashingt….
Thanks for your great comments I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We have just about finished the big jobs for this year now and are finishing off some small jobs We all try to keep things as unobtrusive as we can while work is going on and I am pleased to see this didn’t affect your stay with us. I will pass your kind words on the staff. We try to offer 1st class service here and like to think we are great value for money. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#35 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#20 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hinton Firs Hotel
Hinton Firs Hotel
#52 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing