We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Hi we booked a two night stay at this hotel last weekend. It was cheap and this was reflected in the quality of various things.
1. The breakfast buffet was a joke, assorted cereals and prunes and grapefruit. No sign of the yogurts or anything else. Fruit juice was the worst ever, straight out of a carton with a bit added from the tap.
2. The full english comprised of one egg(Cant go wrong with an egg really). one very undercooked hash brown, a single rash of bacon, eight baked beans and what was supposed to be a cumberland sausage( Think 90%was connective tissue and ten % sawdust), Seriously the worst breakfast Ive ever been served.Oh and cold toast.
3. Ever tried watching the six nations rugby on a 16'' old TV. forget it. Even in the TV lounge the TV was only 27''.
4 No complimentary toiletries, I mean in this day and age of rising hotel standards, why no complimentary tioletries. A good job Bournemouth has a wilkinsons.
5. The noise from loose floorboards from adjacent rooms was unbearable, both nights we hardly slept due the comings and goings of people and creaking floorboards.
6. The cost of drinks at the bar. £3.30 for a pint of rapidly poured Wortingtons. Note to the management: Please get your grumpy bar staff trained on how to pour the perfect pint. I wouldnt grumble so much if that £3.30 went towards a decent pint.
7. I twice had to ask for a clean cup for tea in the morning at breakfast, as the ones on the table were dirty, one with ladies lipstick on from the day before. Note to managment: Please buy your dishwasher a new brush. (Wilkinsons in bournemouth 99P).
8. Finally, what I always judge a good hotel on, you guessed its the quality of the loo rolls. Wafer thin one hard ply loo roll. I mean what does a decent two ply roll cost these days.Note to management: Shop in Wilkinsons, just round the corner, give your customers some little thing to smile about.

On the plus side, yes there is one, the hotel was very clean and well presented. Car parking on site cost £5.00 per day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank supersel110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Hi supersel110
Thanks for your comments I have taken them on board and will relook at all the points you have raised. As for TV’s we have a load on order and they will be here in may we do however have 2 TV rooms and the Larger room has a 40” LCD with bar service when big games are being shown. We do always aim to deliver first class service and value for money. Thank you once again for your comments i will use them to see where we can make improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

We went on a late booking, and got a good deal at a good price, Our room was quite pleasant but the bathroom quite tired, but the rooms were clean,apart from the mould on the bathroom roof, wasnt too happy about that. We were on the third floor but didnt use the lift as it was so small it scared me in case i got stuck in it! The room and in fact all of the hotel was very warm, at times too warm for us. We were a bit younger than a lot of the guests so found the entertainment a bit dull at times although we do love a quiz and we got one every night, The Entertainment on the Wednesday and the Thursday evenings though was much improved and we really enjoyed Thursdays party night!. if the hotel wasn't so far out of town we would have gone into Bournemouth at night but as we went walking a lot in the day we just wanted to relax in the evening, It was a good half hours walk to get into town properly. The station wast too far away and we did use that to get a train to Weymouth. All the staff we encountered were absolutely lovely and couldnt do enough for us, and the food was okay, better than some places. a good varied menu. The four free drinks was great and there is a wide choice of drinks that you can use the vouchers for so we thought that was really impressive, My holiday has been slightly spoiled by the fact that when I got my case off the coach when we arrived home the case has been ripped and damaged badly, i dont know if that was done at the hotel or by the coach driver, but that is very disappointing. apart from the we have had a lovely break

Room Tip: We had room 322 it was very quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeashelleDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Hi SeashelleDerbys…
Thanks for your comments and I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say we are about 30 minutes walk from the town center but the buses come along every 5 minutes so getting in to town is dead easy. I have taken a look at your room and taken on board your comments about the bathroom everything will be sorted straight away. We look forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The outside appearance of the hotel was promising, however, the stair carpet in reception was threadbare and the ladies toilet off of the lobby had an strong and unpleasant smell - possibly sewage?
The evening meals were rather hit and miss. The first night I had breaded haddock which was soggy & very tired looking. Another night I had sweet & sour pork with rice & 2 boiled potatoes!
The full english breakfast was OK but avoid the sausage at all costs - very poor quality. Where do Shearings get them from? On a more positive note the serving staff were polite, quick & efficient (in particular, Csaba) and we had a quiet room (as requested) - 124 on the first floor overlooking the staff accomodation although preparations for breakfast could be heard from around 7.00 am onwards - not a problem as we were awake anyway. The room was warm & cosy with plenty of hot water & towels and the bed was very comfortable. Nice to see a flatscreen TV with freeview, much better than the old boxes that you find in some Shearings hotels. Nonetheless, the main window was much in need of a repaint as was the bathroom window.
The evening entertainment was very good - Amanda Jane is a scream - very funny and very dry. There was the usual mix of bingo & quizzes every night also a singer and a comedian.
Unfortunately the entertainment was spoilt by a coachload of ramblers from Warrington who chatted loudly and virtually non-stop. On several occasionsthey were asked to keep the noise down, but to no avail.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CybilSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Hi CybilSurrey
Thanks for your comments we do have an ongoing refurbishment program here at the hotel and both things you mentioned are on our list to be done. I am glad to see you found your room met with your needs and you were comfortable. I will pass your great comments on to Amanda and the rest of the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I booked a last minute party weekend break at this hotel with shearings for myself and my husband ( in our 50's) and took along my mum and aunty (80's). We all felt this was exceptional value for money - rooms were clean / food was good / entertainment was very good. One very small negative, no sachets of shampoo/shower gel in room as you usually get in a hotel but we'd take our own in the future.The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and our particular coach driver was superb!! This was our first taste of a shearing coach holiday and was booked with no real expectations. However, we'll be scanning the brochures for more trips soon and would hightly recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staymag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Hi Staymag
Welcome to the family I am so please to see you have taken the plunge. Great value for money and 1st class service is what we are all about; I am pleased to see you experienced this. At bay hotels we don’t provide shampoo or shower gel in the standard rooms however most of us have a few behind reception if you as we are more than happy to give them to you. We all hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

March 1st and 2nd 2013 Self- drive weekend away to deliver an antique table to my brother in Poole, from Bolton near Manchester, arrived early but was allowed to park in front of hotel, and then booked in at 3pm, room 301 on 3rd floor, clean, bright and over looking outdoor pool, room central heated, so warm and comfortable, food very good and service quick and staff very friendly. Hotel very close to beach, so on Sat. 2nd we walked to Poole Harbour and back approx 15 Miles., calling at Sandbanks were the millionaires live, (found a large black shell approx 5 inch circular) and Bournemouth pier and back to hotel for party night, entertainment good and when we won the bingo £42.00. Made for a very enjoyable weekend, so big thankyou to all the staff and Shearings. We "SHELL" return

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Hi Karen C
Fantastic I am please you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had a very enjoyable weekend at the majestic hotel the staff were very nice every thing well presented ,good choise of food well cooked ,our room was on the top 3rd floor and as the weather was very cold so was our room,the evening entertainment was great ,we also had a very nice comfortable journey by coach welldone sherrings coach holidays .

Room Tip: Ask for room on level 1 or 2 and state bathroom shower or Beth preference
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvia39_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Hi Sylvia_11
Thanks for your great comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us It was exceptionally cold last weekend and although most of our rooms stayed nice and toasty as normal I know a couple of them needed a little extra help next time just let us know and we can get you an electric heater to top things up a little. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

My partner and I Stayed here from the 21-24th Feb 2013 for the Motown weekend.
We read reveiws before booking and they are fairly actuate, the room was clean and tidy bathroom small, and a bit dated.

Main parts of the hotel are in good decorative order.

Food ok (order more chips) you do get all veg whatever you order, it's warm and eatable that's it.

Staff good friendly and tidy.

Entertainment was great this made the weekend for us. Motown and compares we're great.

Overall a good experience and we would return



  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonys36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Hi Tonys36
Thanks for your comments I am pleased to see you enjoyed your weekend with us. We pride ourselves on being great value for money with 1st class service and it looks like we are getting it right. I will pass your comments on to both the kitchen and the ents team. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#36 of 67 in Bournemouth
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 67 in Bournemouth
597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £76 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing