We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY ENJOYABLE WEEKEND”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just arrived back from our weekend away at the Majestic and were very impressed by the initial check in, very quick, well organised especially as there were 3 coaches that appeared to arrive at roughly the same time.
Our twin room was lovely, tiny bathroom but all the facilities required and plenty of storage space in our room for all our belongings. It was also very clean and had a heated towel rail in the bathroom. As the bathroom was so tiny it would have been useful if the door had a robe hook on it but that was the only facility not supplied, the only other thing we found a nuisance was that the cistern in the toilet seemed to take several minutes to refill, but nothing too bad about this room that would encourage us to not highly recommend this hotel. We had a tv that had the 5 main channels plus Dave so not a full set of programmes but sufficient for our needs. Hospitality tray was replenished daily with plenty of tea, coffee, milk etc .
The location was very close to a pathway that took you down to the promenade but then there was a distance to walk before you got to the centre. We didn`t walk into the town so don`t know how long it would take to walk but estimate around 10 minutes. We got the bus to Poole which took around 30 minutes then came back to Bournemouth town and spent about 1 hour there before returning to the hotel by bus. Considering it was Sunday when we used the bus, they arrived frequently, sometimes 2 or 3 more or less together and we never waited more than 5 minutes for any of the buses we caught to arrive. The buses are also fitted with a sign that tells you what the next stop is, very useful when you don`t recognise the area you are in and need to press the bell to get off at your required stop.
Our driver, Ian, was one of the best Shearings drivers that we have had, although we have never experienced a bad one but considering Ian lived in the North, he was extremely knowledgeable about the area we were visiting and gave us several snippets of useful information at all times on our trip and also on our excursion. He also gave us very good information about the European holidays that Shearings do.
Entertainment in the hotel was ok, we enjoy bingo and quizzes and we got both for the first 2 nights then 2 quizzes on the 3rd night. We didn`t stay to watch the magician on the last night as we didn`t realise what the entertainment was but other guests said they had enjoyed it.
As usual in all the Shearings hotels we have stayed in, the food was delicious and the menu varied so there was always a choice and it always includes a vegetarian option, including veggie sausages at breakfast.
All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly and all gave you a smile, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmtigercrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hi jmtigercrewe
Fantastic thanks for your great review, i am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took full advantage of our fantastic bus service we have here in Bournemouth. We look forwatd to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went for Party Weekend on 3rd January with friends for a delayed cut price New Year celebration. First impressions were good for a 'Bay', spacious entrance lobby and lounge and nice clean but simple bedroom with bath. Staff were friendly and efficient and entertainment varied and good over the 3 nights. Drinks tend to be expensive (especially the mixers) but this is offset by the very reasonable holiday price. Food was the only slight disappointment with several of the evening meal menu choices being unavailable and a much publicised 'Gala Dinner' on Saturday night appeared to be exactly the same as the other nights. Overall very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtauldbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hi Courtauldbowler
Thanks for your review I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. I will pass your comments about the food on to my head chef I am sorry you found some dishes not available at the time of your visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Generally good Shearings hotel. Nice location. Friendly staff. Good choice of menus
Entertainment good in parts and Bingo is thankfully restricted to three games. Clean comfortable rooms. Excellent lounge areas. Separate lounge for TV cards etc. probably the best Shearings hotel we have visited (out of 12)

Room Tip: Beware of water in room301, takes an age to arrive at the tap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hi Tony R
Thanks for your great comments I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and “best one so far” I am honoured thank you. We hope to see you again soon
Thanks for letting me know about the water problem in 301 I am pleased to say it’s now been sorted and the hot water comes through much quicker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were supposed to have gone to the Isle of White but the ferry had stopped and the island was flooded so we ended up at Bay Majestic. What a good choice as we had a splendid 4day 3 nights from 27th Dec - 30th Dec ... The entertainment on all three nights were excellent, the staff all very friendly and the meals were excellent too .... a great snooker table and lots of places to sit and relax. The only thing that was a bit of a let down was the bathrooms they were tired and needed updating .... but it didn't stop the enjoyment of our stay. The bedroom was adequate and we had comfortable nights sleep. So all in all a good time we had. A short distance from the town and sea. W e would use this Hotel again if we were in Bournmouth! Thanks Majestic for an enjoyable Twixmas Break!

Room Tip: A trip to Salisbury and the Cathedral is a must some great architecture to view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hi David E
Fantastic thanks for your lovely review I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took time to explore the surrounding area. I will pass your comments to Amanda and the rest of the staff. As for the bathroom we are slowly upgrading them and adding showers i am hoping to get this finished this year if we can so for now if you come again give us a call and we can sort a shower for you next time you come. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hotel was nice but the bathrooms could do with updating, considering the age of the people staying there having to use a shower attachment on the taps of a deep bath is a bit outdated. The cleanleness of the rooms could of been a bit better, the cleaner doesnt know how to clean behind the door in the bathroom or around the bottom of the toilet.
The food was excellent and the waitress was very pleasant although she was rushing around alot.
The driver of our coach 'Terry' was very good had a pleasant journey down and back his driving was excellant.
Considering this wasnt the hotel we were supposed to of being staying at (should of been in the Isle of White at the Royale Esplanade) I think reading the reviews on here we got the better deal.

Room Tip: If you are used to a shower ask for a room with a proper shower otherwise you will get a bath that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hi amandajthorn
Thanks for your review and your comments I will certainly look in to the issues you raised and get them sorted ASAP. As for showers and baths we are slowly upgrading the rooms with baths only and adding proper showers so for now like you say if you want a shower give us a call and we can sort you a room that best meets your requirements. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you gain some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just returned today from our Christmas break at the majestic. I know the hotel is a bit `tired` but we had a fantastic time with so much fun, due to Amanda Jayne the tireless hostess with the moistest who ensured everyone had a ball! The food was really good and all the staff are excellent. Thank you all for a fab time and Happy new year...

Room Tip: Don`t expect 4 star quality but you can depend on good food, fun and entertainment from a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hi nadine b
Thanks for your great review i am delighted to see you enjoyed your Christmas with us. I will pass on your kind words to Amanda and the rest of my team. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Return visit to this hotel and yet again a fantastic week, thank you.
There was a warm welcome to everyone by Blanca on arrival.
All the restaurant and bar staff were friendly, helpful and would do anything to make your holiday enjoyable.
Food was always hot and there was ample to choose from.
The cleaners may not be seen very often but do a good job keeping everywhere looking good despite the hotel going through an upgrade which must be difficult for them at times.
Entertainment once again wonderful and something for everyone.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Hi JAH25
What a lovely review I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure I pass on your great comments to all the staff and thanks for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#36 of 66 in Bournemouth
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £69 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing