We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY OUT-DATED PICS OF ?HOTEL TOTALLY MISLEADING” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fairmount Hotel
Ranked #126 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY OUT-DATED PICS OF ?HOTEL TOTALLY MISLEADING”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The pictures are of how the place once looked MANY, MANY years ago. Room 6 made smaller with use of petition wall for Room 5. Filthy carpets, ill-fitting curtains (no nets or blinds), no blinds on bathroom window (slightly frosted glass, but you are still visable from the outside).
Apart from two single beds imitating a double bed and a single bed (two feet away) pushed up against the bay window and a small table for kettle and cups, none of the advertised furnishings existed.

Bar was constantly used as a laundry room (steam pressing sheets).

Advert implies price is Bed & Breakfast per room. Confirmation email says food not included. Payment demanded on arrival.

Room Tip: Unless you are backpacking, this ?Hotel/B&B/??????? is ok. Booked through Booking.com, on infor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    54
    47
    24
    74
See reviews for
31
59
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have never felt it necessary to write a bad review for a hotel before but in this instance I will make an exception. I wrote with my complaints to the hotel but as they did not have the decency to reply I thought I would air my views here.

My husband and I had the misfortune to stay in room 5 and I have to say that it was definitely the worst hotel room we have ever stayed in. Every guest has a front door key allowing them access to the property throughout the night - the property is left unattended leaving the raucous guests unsupervised and free to behave in a disgraceful manner. From about 1 a.m. until at least 5 a.m. we were kept awake by foul mouthed, drunken yobs running up and down the stairs and banging doors. If my husband and I had not had a drink we would most definitely have left and driven home.

The room itself is sparsely furnished, there are no drinking glasses in the bathroom, no extractor fan and access to the shower, which ran at a pathetic dribble, would be impossible for a larger person. We had to keep the curtain closed due to the close proximity of the other hotel whose windows looked directly into our room.

If you want a decent nights sleep then stay somewhere else!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We booked this 'hotel' in a bit of a rush online, and admittedly should have taken a bit more time to check out reviews before booking. We quickly learned our lesson there.

Firstly, this is not a hotel, it's a large bed and breakfast, and I would not recommend it. Although the staff were fairly friendly, (one of the only good points about the hotel) the room was poor quality and overpriced. Over the years my girlfriend and I have collectively stayed in everything from high class hotels, to b&bs, hostels, and a number of budget hotels, so although we were not expecting five star quality here, we were still surprised at the lack of decent basics which anyone calling themselves a hotel should provide.

In our room ( a double), the double bed was made of two single beds pushed together; the carpet was stained and dirty in places; there was no wardrobe or even a rail to hang our clothes on, instead there was a third single bed which we used as a desk to leave our bags and clothes on; the room was dusty in places; the walls had stains in places (especially on the plug switches); the shower was well underpowered; there was no towel rail in the bathroom; the toilet was not even bolted to the floor, which meant that it moved when we sat on it, which could easily cause a nasty (and smelly) leak from the pipes; and the sink leaked from its base. On the plus side: the bathroom was clean; the bedsheets were clean; and the beach is only a few minutes walk away.

We saw the bar area, which consists of a tiny bar, a couple of tables and a vending machine, however in the mornings there were cleaners in there using clothes pressing machines to iron out the bedsheets, which left little room for anyone to eat breakfast (not that we ever saw anyone eating in there, and we certainly didn't want to).

We were only in the Fairmount to sleep and get washed, and spent the rest of the time enjoying our holiday, therefore the poor quality of the 'hotel' didn't affect us that much, but when you pay for a hotel you expect to have the basics covered, and that is where the fairmount falls well short, and my main reason for writing this review is to help prevent people making the mistake of staying there like we did. The walls do not keep out sound well, which could be a problem for families with young kids in particular.

We wanted to stay in Bournemouth longer, so we found a proper hotel only 30 seconds along the street, which we checked out first before paying, and spent the rest of our holiday there for only a slightly higher price per person.

As we left the Fairmount, we told the guy at reception about the problems with the room and he just said that they are a budget hotel, and that people don't usually stay long there, so the lack of wardrobe doesn't bother them. He did say he'd get the maintenance person to look at the other problems.


Overall I would not recommend this place to anyone, especially as there are much better places to stay for a similar price in the same area. Shop around folks, if you're on a budget you can still get better quality than this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I don't understand half the reviews here, I thought this hotel was a lovely little place that was a few minutes walk from the town centre and of course, the beach! Now, yes we did have to pay when we got there for our 3 night get away; but if you actually read the overview of the hotel after booking it, it does say to pay on arrival. I agree however this should be made clearer. Over all though, it was a pleasant hotel and don't really have any criticisms about it! There we're three of us sharing, and although the beds are narrow; it didn't bother us as we shoved them all together and just made a massive one!
The room itself was basic but absolutely fine. We had a flat screen TV with all the channels we desired, a kettle and enough coffee and tea to sink the titanic and fresh, white fluffy towels supplied everyday; no matter what state the room was in, the room was always freshened up.
The loo and shower were fine, no problems there; although the shower was a little slow to heat up and didn't really have much pressure behind it, but still wasn't a huge disappointment seeming as between all three of us we only paid £65 for three nights, totalling £195 over all.
The gentlemen on the front desk was pleasant, and ran us through all the front door requirements. As long as you had your hotel key, you could return at any time of night and had no curfew.
The only serious downfall I can recall was the street at night. The traffic unfortunatly can't be prevented but after a stern talking to, I did manage to control a few girls who thought it was OK to shout outside the hotel right underneath our window. They we're soon running away with their tail between their legs I can tell you! But other than that, no real issues there.
The breakfast has been described on here as, well a bit of a let down. We made the 'clever' decision of just finding a breakfast cafe and just going there. It was a little stroll along the cliff side and down past the square near to the car parks for the beach; a little place called the 'Grill Garden' (I believe); where we were served a full English breakfast for only a £1 more, all day. It was simply divine and a rather lovely cook and waiter (who was doing everything on his own!) made us feel most welcome.
Overall, it was a lovely hotel! No problems, and for the cost it was fine. Although the car park is one you have to pay for, £5 a for £24 hours is nothing. If it was free, it would have beach-goers packing out the place; it was nice to be guaranteed a spot when we got back after being out all day and with the CCTV, I felt reassured my car would be fine.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are guaranteed no one above making noise. Although on the second floor, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdml1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Do not go here unless you are paying under £40 or under for a family room!! Double beds are 2 single beds pushed together and beds so narrow if u over a size 14 and not a midget beds are tiny. Picture of hotel is not what the hotel looks like from outside. no where to put clothes ect. Only had a small TV stand for kettle and cord didn't reach plug socket so had to put on floor. If going with kids nowhere to hang wet towels ect as no hooks or anything in bathroom. Shower only trickled water out and we were on 1st floor so god knows what like if on top floor!! Kids cant reach sink to brush teeth as too high.Havent got decent TV aerial so only get channels 1 & 2 and some freeview. Also LCd so high on wall cant see proper picture.
Hotel right on top of hill so no good for elderly or disabled. Car park £5 per day. Bar is crap in a small dingy room. Breakfast over road cheaper to go straight there than book through hotel, obvs on commission!
As I said don't go there unless over night stay or getting bloody cheap as its dirty and cramped and nothing like the pictures, even though the pictures are pretty dismall as well.
Staff were friendly though if any consolation.... We also had to ask them to clean our room as forgot!! Carpets dirty as well & décor very tired

Room Tip: All rooms noisy so make sure whatever room you get is cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie111395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I don't know why it's calls 3 stars hotel? It looks more like a quest house.no shampoo, shower gel,no hair dryer. Very basic.dirty carpet, bed bases.old, cheeped furniture.in a shower lots of hairs. Would not stayed there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natashablakhina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

While travelling South from Hertfordshire on the evening of 24th July we received a phone call at approx 8:30pm to inform us that the hotel closes at 9pm and that we would be charged £5 for every 1/2 hour later we arrived after that - this was not made clear when the booking was made. Upon arrival, at approx 10:20pm, trying the phone number on the door, it rang out, despite learning minutes later that there was actually someone hiding in reception. We had to bite our tongues during the conversation with the male receptionist as he was unhelpfully sarcastic and somewhat smug. The triple room we had booked did contain 3 beds, but I have never seen such narrow single beds before. I spent the night clinging to it so I didn't fall out. We were woken up by traffic before 6am, but to be honest this was not a problem as we were glad to leave. The best thing that can be said about the room was that the bathroom was OK, although the shower didn't look very clean - luckily we didn't have time to use it. I would not recommend this hotel, due to the poor service and size of the single beds.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stripeygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#58 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#53 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trouville Hotel
The Trouville Hotel
#45 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#46 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmount Hotel

Property: The Fairmount Hotel
Address: 15 Priory Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmount is a hotel located at a central location in Bournemouth, only 5 minutes' walk from the beach and town centre. We offer affordable, clean rooms, which are perfect for a wide range of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Fairmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing