We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fairmount Hotel
Ranked #116 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel on 7/11/13 on arrival we had to pay an additional £5 for parking overnight which was kind of expected being in the location it is. We also were asked to sign a piece of paper on arrival at no point were we asked to read and sign any terms and conditions. We got to our room where we had 7 beds squeezed in the room and the curtain was hanging off the rail but all seemed ok at first for what we were paying. Shortly after our neigbours above us arrived which sounded like a heard of elephants which was persistent for most of the evening and which also woke us up at 7am the next morning. The showers were clean enough but they were push button showers which lasted no longer than 7 seconds on pushing which was rather frustrating, but again you get what you pay for. Five of us 7 girls took our own towels , and 7 white towel for each person was provided by the hotel. Which then leads me to the most disappointing part of the whole experience, Today we received an email from the hotel themselves explaining that they were going to going to take a further £50.00 out of the bank card that paid for the hotel for 5 'Make up' staines to the towels provided so apparently they need to buy new ones. Firstly 5 of us took our own towels, and secondly these marks are minimal and could easily be washed out . We were all outraged to hear this and are going to be on to trading standards first thing Monday Morning, this is not the first time this has happened either as there are many other reviews similar. This is my first time on Trip advisor as i am generally very happy with experiences I have at similar hotels and am not one for complaining but this by far has been the most disappointing and WE WIL NOT BE RETURNING!
Please note do not use this hotel if you want to be scammed for using their towels/bedsheets!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel if you want to be scammed.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEN4258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for The Fairmount Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We Stayed here for one night on the 7th of October we came to Bournemouth for a music event a the bic centre , 4 girls in early 20s we shared in room 27. There was 3 single beds and one double the room was spotless and the beds were so comfortable!! One of the comfiest beds I've slept in. Tea coffee kettle all included. Bathroom nice and clean. Also the hotel had a vending machine with beverages paracetemol and snacks for when we were coming in the early hours.for four you gs girls coming for a night out it had everything we could of needed and everything was nearby. Thanks for a comfortable stay at a brilliant price if I ever come back ill be staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charly2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Arrived last night at the hotel for an overnight stop ahead of a meeting with work.

For £19.50 what more can you expect? The room was clean and tidy and the service was great on arrival.

Other visitors are quite loud throughout the night but I suppose the hotel can't stop that.

Overall a pleasant stay and worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hop3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as part of my hen night in Bournemouth. After reading other reviews on trip advisor I was really worried but when I arrived I pleasantly surprised!
The room was clean and spacious and had everything that we needed. We were only using it for somewhere to get ready and then sleep so it was perfect for our needs.
The location is also good as is not too far a walk from everything. Breakfast was included and we were given vouchers as this was at a pub around the corner. The breakfast was actually really nice!
Would reccomend staying here if you just need a cheap room to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahtaylor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I only stayed here overnight and booked the room through laterooms.com.
I have to say I wasn't expecting much as I paid so little but the room was lovely. The hotel is a dated and the carpets could do with a bit of a shampoo but you can overlook that as the room was clean and the bed very comfy.
The hotel owner/manager? was really nice. Friendly and happy to help.
Give it a whirl.. see what you think x

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaJFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed at this so called hotel with my family. If I had not paid upfront before being handed the key I would have driven to another hotel whatever the cost. On opening the door of our room it was so small the carpet was filthy, the plug socket near the table lamp was hanging off the wall. In the bathroom the toilet seat was hanging off and we were provided with one towel that bearly fitted round your body. The toilet window didnt even shut so there was a safety issue at night and during the day. At night it was rowdy as people were laughing and shouting at the top of their voices and banging doors. Overall I have to say I was glad to get out of there and come home.

Room Tip: I cannot see there being one
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

7 of us booked a room for one night for a work night out, after reading tripadvisor comments we were all a bit worried about the night but we were massively impressed with everything exactly what you pay for! Would defiantly return... Infact we are already planning it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mssjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 67 in Bournemouth
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#25 of 133 in Bournemouth
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 133 in Bournemouth
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonnington Beach Hotel
Bonnington Beach Hotel
#114 of 133 in Bournemouth
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carisbrooke Hotel
Carisbrooke Hotel
#72 of 133 in Bournemouth
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmount Hotel

Address: 15 Priory Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £25 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmount is a hotel located at a central location in Bournemouth, only 5 minutes' walk from the beach and town centre. We offer affordable, clean rooms, which are perfect for a wide range of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing