We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appalled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fairmount Hotel
Ranked #116 of 134 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 July 2014

we were shocked when we arrived, we had stayed in this small hotel on the west cliff in
Bournemouth some years ago and as it was a last minute booking and close to the town center we decided that would do. We checked in and where offered a ground floor room or one at the top 3rd floor. We opted for the top even though my husband walks with a stick and we knew there was no lift we had stayed up there once before and did`nt fancy being in the front next to the front door .when we got up there it was nothing like the room the last time we came. It was full of beds 4 or 5 we went down stairs and looked at the ground floor room it was the same full of beds we were then shown another room at the back down a couple a step then up some more passing a door that had been propped open by a shoe and i could see one foreign man lying in bed and another on the floor when we went into the 3rd room it was the same it had 1 double bed and 4 singles i could have cried it was like being in a doss house we decided to go for a walk to be fair the chap who had checked us in asked us if there was anything he could do which would make it better if you are a group on a weekend bender its probably a good choice but i would not define it as a hotel by any stretch of the imagination

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank peaceat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Came to Bournemouth with my friends and my boyfriend, wasn't expecting to find a room even because we hadn't booked in advance.
Not only did they have a room for us but it was incredibly cheap and beautiful! At such short notice, for so many people I have absolutely no complaints!
We all loved the fact that we could sleep in one room with so many beds, it was super nice.
We liked it so much we decided to stay another night. Works out to be £18pp and a complete bargain
One word - lifesavers! Definitely would come here again. No questions about it.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank NirvanaSoyjaudah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here on the 9th June for one night and served its purpose. Great night's sleep, we were worried with the creaky floorboards that we would be kept up all night but slept soundly. The only gripe was the shower, it took a long time to heat up and once it had it was very weak, it also leaked and left the floor very wet.

Overall the stay was very good. Cheap parking too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I dont moan but il keep it short and sweet.

1) went with 5 other friends.
2) we expected to be 2 people in a room.
3) we got given the key and told 6 of you in one room.
4) the room was damp and smelt of mold.
5) I was almost sick from the damp and moldy smell.
6) the beds were small camping beds. Low and of small width. My shoulders were over the side of the bed.
7) windows were soaking wet in the morning.
8) couldnt keep windows open as outside at least an arms length were public walking past.
9) breakfast isnt given to residents of the 'hotel'. Had to walk down the road to a pub. Wasnt all you can eat. Awful food too.
10) oh also the bathroom stank awful of urine as did the hallway by reception.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hotelreporter1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here for one (Saturday) night in mid May for a friend's hen do. The steps at the front smelled of wee and the hall carpet had lots of stains on it. However the bonus is that it has car parking (£5 a night) and is really close to the town centre and the beach. Between us we had 3 rooms, with 3 ladies in each. The rooms were cramped but the sheets and bathrooms were clean.
The major downside to our stay was the fact we were on the front of the building facing the street. The stag parties rolled in one after the other, the last coming in at 5.30am. Needless to say we barely slept. There was a lot of shouting, swearing and smoking (which drifted into our room - the rooms were too hot not to have the window open) so all in all a very unpleasant night.
Someone else mentioned knocking on the doors and this happened to us at about 2.30am, twice.
For a stag or hen do it's okay but I would never take my family to stay there if I wanted a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissGreenFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed there just for one night, the standard was good, the location was good and the staff was polite. There were no extras, but again nothing to complain about. I enjoyed the building - even if it seemed older.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricaCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent one night at this hotel and found it to be basic but clean and comfortable and would stay here again. Staff were friendly and helpful and there was free parking behind he hotel. The location is central and not far to walk to the pier and shops.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KylieRuscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#55 of 66 in Bournemouth
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#25 of 134 in Bournemouth
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#32 of 134 in Bournemouth
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carisbrooke Hotel
Carisbrooke Hotel
#77 of 134 in Bournemouth
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eurostay Bournemouth Beach
Eurostay Bournemouth Beach
#16 of 24 in Bournemouth
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmount Hotel

Address: 15 Priory Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £23 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmount is a hotel located at a central location in Bournemouth, only 5 minutes' walk from the beach and town centre. We offer affordable, clean rooms, which are perfect for a wide range of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing