We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #66 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Shirley hotel was offered a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend it. It was cheap and really good value for money. Myself and 2 friends went down for one night for my 21st birthday. It was initially meant to be four of us so we had a family sized room which had 2 single beds and a double. If there were four of us it might have been a bit small but certainly doable. We met Jorge who is Portuguese he is a lovely man. Some people said he wasn't friendly and perhaps he wasn't as friendly as some hosts, just in the sense that he told you what you needed to know and let you get on with the rest which I actually liked. I just wanted to get to my room so it was nice he didn't waffle on and on like some hosts do. He also offered to help direct us around the sights of Bournemouth if we needed it.

On arriving to our room we were pleasantly surprised by how clean it was, you really couldn't fault it. It had an en-suit which was lovely and the shower was better than mine at home! You only had one wardrobe between four so perhaps for families who are wanting to stay for a long period of time, they may be better off going to a bigger hotel. Nonetheless for us it was fine. There were fresh towels, mini bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body wash and also a tea and coffee making set. We were offered Wi-Fi but I didn't ask if you had to pay for it but reading some other reviews you didn't.

The beds were soooo comfy and the breakfast which was served between half 8 and 9 was pretty nice too. It was a general full English, you could have a vegetarian options if you let them know the night before and you could have cereal and croissants.

Parking wise there was limited parking, about 5-6 spaces at the back. I was lucky enough to get a space. There is also free parking on the road but it was the air festival when we went so again parking was limited. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the back and probably about 10 from the centre which was brilliant. Even though we checked out at 11, they let us keep our car in the car park until 2. Everyone was friendly, the cleaners, Jorge oh and not forgetting his lovely dog Bobby. He was the most friendly.

Overall it was a lovely stay, the room was £120 four a family room but we split that between 4 so it was only £30 each. I guess for families the rooms could have been a bit bigger. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you're staying for weeks but certainly for a weekend or a few nights I couldn't fault it. Perhaps if there is only two of you then you could stay for weeks as it would have been fine if the rooms had been a bit bigger.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenbluehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    62
    12
    12
    11
See reviews for
41
103
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My family booked our 2 night stay at the Shirley Hotel after reading quite positive reviews on various websites.
We arrived at the Hotel to a frosty reception from the landlord and we were given a key and pointed towards our room.
The room was small and fairly clean, very average and didn't reflect the amount we had paid (£210 for 2 nights)
The breakfast was poor, served between 8.30 and 9.30am or nothing at all. We ordered 3 full english breakfasts on the first morning and the owner served us 2 and then went onto serve other tables leaving my son without his breakfast. When we asked him about it he replied 'I am coming, I can't do everything at once!!!' We found him to be very ignorant and rude and will not be staying at the Shirley Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardy185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We booked a double room here on the morning of our stay. We visited Bournemouth overnight to soak in the sun and sights. We were not disappointed.

The Shirley was great value, double ensuite room with free wife, breakfast and parking for an extremely reasonable price. To top it all off, it's within walking distance of a quieter patch of beach, restaurants and shops.

Jorge, the proprietor, was a great host.
Cannot recommend enough.

Thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnJh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed at the Shirley in Bornemouth recently with the wife and kids and found it be rather a decent place to stay. We had a 'family' room on the ground floor which was in effect a regular double ensuite room with a couple of foldup beds at the far end. The room could have been a tad bigger as it was described and priced as a family room - but all very clean and comfortable. (cleaners in the room during the day = very good).

On arriving one of the kids bed legs was broken, [but as we we only putting a travel cot on it, it didn't really matter] - on informing Jorge he seem genuinely upset about this but it was no problem really... I guess this is a reflection on Jorge that he cares a lot about his place and wanted everything to be perfect for us.

The ground floor has laminated flooring panels throughout which was perfect for the pushchair coming in and out of the breakfast room (although breakfast starting at 8 was a little late for us) - oh and finally I must give a round of applause for a B&B with an actual decent internet wi-fi connection that we could use... (although we were an the same floor as the router).

Scores on the doors: Host and service: 10/10, Full english breakfast: 7/10, Room: 8/10, Internet Wifi 10/10, Location 10/10. Jorge is a good guy and deserves a good review so here it is - thanks Jorge for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights had a realy relaxing stay.rooms were cleaned every day good hospitality definately would recomend this hotel
Jorge is very good host and knows a lot about bournemouth I do not know how anybody could write a bad review about this place to sum it up it was an excellent stay xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHARON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Ideal location for our visit to BIC also close to beach and town centre. Jorge was friendly, pleasant, welcoming and offered great advice on places to see and how to get there. On the morning of our departure a breakfast was prepared at seven a.m. and a taxi ordered for us as we had to leave early to catch the train to London. The hotel itself is spotless, bed we were in was very comfortable, fresh towels daily, beautiful breakfast every morning, free in room tea & coffee making facilities topped up daily. Great value for what it cost.
If the event we attended returns to Bournemouth in the future we will definatly stay in the Shirley again. Altogether a very pleasent and enjoyable vacation. Thanks Jorge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

You will find staying here a very pleasant experience.The proprietor, Jorge is very friendly and helpful:nothing is too much trouble for him.The hotel is conveniently located near the pier and shopping centre and the many varied eating establishments.All in all this B&B will fill all your holiday requirements.

Room Tip: Higher floors are hotter than lower ones which might be a problem in hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 444David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#90 of 132 in Bournemouth
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#45 of 132 in Bournemouth
199 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ashleigh
The Ashleigh
#65 of 132 in Bournemouth
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#12 of 132 in Bournemouth
303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waves In
Waves In
#31 of 132 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#17 of 132 in Bournemouth
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 81 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley Hotel. This family run Bournemouth B&B is situated on the favored West Cliff. It offers great value for money in this wonderful location being just five minutes walk from Bournemouth town centre with its shops, cinemas, theatre, restaurants and bars. Not forgetting our close proximity to the seven glorious miles of award winning sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing