We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balmoral Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bourne Hall Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trouville Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Savoy Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Devon Towers Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
102
118
30
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
118
30
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewrefurbished roomcar parkfull english breakfastnight porterinternational centreexcellent locationplenty of storage spacebar loungebreakfast was excellentfantastic hotelrelaxing stayonly stayed one nightfive minute walkvisit bournemouthcooked breakfastbournemouth pier
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed in the family room, all together one Saturday in May. We parked up in their spacious carpark and checked in early. We received a warm welcome. The decor was dated but everything was clean. We had a fabulous seaview and plenty of room with 2 single beds and a double. Breakfast was on the small side. The location was great, near the pier,5 minute walk to shops. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank south-coast-beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

not as good as we thout lot dust around lamp shades bad with dust in need of good make over shame realy could be nice hotel but in bad need of help beds not good we did not sleep at all lumps and bumps the bed were so old in bad need of new beds we were so happy to get home to our own beds nothing like the picturs you see you had to ask to put heating on the old lady had to ask for heating to be put on breackfast was nice but dinner one night was duck just a bit of duck like cheap off cuts i had no meat on it i left it sweet corn with every meal or mixed veg when we was with others from hotel they warned us aboat one of the staff how true was it she was very rude i took a butter from other table because we only had 2 for our toast i did not bother her because she was running around doing breackfast but my lord she was so rude when i took the butter but there told me she was rude the day before with twwo people no need for it we pay her wages the owner was ok but she needs to up date the place and sort beds out paint it yp so it looks nice when you walk in but wont stay there again a few said this

Room Tip: no nice rooms all the same need make over
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

On a 5 day coach trip and stayed here.Jenny the owner came out to greet us with a big smiling welcome.That counts for a lot when you have been on a coach for 6 hours!The hotel had a lovely atmosphere and also a very interesting history,built for the Queens physician and apparently became a hotel in the 1920's.A lovely building.My room was warm,clean and very comfortable.Hot water and a working tv.The food was very good at every meal(big thanks to the chef).The 2 waitresses were very polite and worked very hard and throughout our stay I could find nothing to put me off returning to this hotel-and SO near to the seafront.,bus stops,Russell Cotes museum and all amenities.

Room Tip: Room 4 was very quiet,warm and convenient,and you could see the sea from one half of the window!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norfolkgirl-Heacham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

my wife and i went on a coach holiday and stayed at this hotel .we found jenny and her staff very friendly and helpful.the rooms were clean the bed comfortable.the food was good and a good choice was available.special mention to debbie our waitress who served us promptly and with good humour. we will definately stay there again when next in bournemoth. thanks for making our holiday fun
ian and jackie gumbleton

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I have just returned from a mini weekend at The Balmoral coutesy of Leisuretime Travel, (Cardiff). The weather was bitterly cold and I'm sorry to say the Balmoral's central heating failed to heat my first floor single room on the Friday evening even though the radiator was on full blast! Thankfully there was enough bedding for me to have a decent night's sleep. Other than that I had an enjoyable time at the hotel. My single room, on ground level, was compact with a decent sized bathroom area, an old style tv with 4 channels available and the usual tea/coffee making facilities. Meals were served in the basement dining room and the meals were tasty and well cooked with the waiting staff being efficient and friendly. Bar prices were rather high, £3-50 a pint, but that seems to be the norm these days in these types of hotels. The cabaret on the Saturday evening, provided by a male/female duo singing 60's/70's pops, Carpenters style was very enjoyable. I was impressed by the owner, Jenny's hands-on and enthusiastic attitude whilst the French bar lady was charming. All in all, and taking in the abnormal weather conditions, I had an enjoyable stay and would certainly stay there again but, perhaps not in the depth of winter for obvious reasons!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddersCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews