We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balmoral Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Connaught Lodge(Bournemouth)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Cliff Inn(Bournemouth)
US$101
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Montague Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Durley Grange Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
102
118
30
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
118
30
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewrefurbished roomcar parkfull english breakfastnight porterinternational centreexcellent locationplenty of storage spacebar loungebreakfast was excellentfantastic hotelrelaxing stayonly stayed one nightfive minute walkvisit bournemouthcooked breakfastbournemouth pier
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Only stayed one night but enjoyed my stay, room needed doing up but owners are revamping the rooms as they can do them
, bed very comfy , sea view excellent in room 7 , very quite even tho hotel was full , breakfast was lovely, staff are great and the owners are down to earth very friendly indeed all in all great stay and so close to every thing in bournmouth
One thing I will say I hope the old character of the hotel is not lost once revamp is done as there's so many lovely parts in there

Room Tip: Room 7 has a lovely sea view
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Short break at Bournemouth staying on the west cliff at The Balmoral Hotel. The hotel has recently been taken over and is undergoing a refurbishment. On being shown to our room the staff were very pleasant allround and helpful in showing the hotel facilities.
The room had just been renovated with new carpets and had a large light airy feel to it with magnificent views of the bay toward the Isle of White. The room obviously spotless as it was the first time it had been used with a large comfortable bed, quiet easily fit an extra single in the room if required.
Only meals taken at the hotel were breakfast more than adequate for the day ahead with again pleasant service
As I mentioned earlier the hotel is being refurbished and the hotel is a little tired here and there, but Rome wasn't built in a day and I'm sure when the The Balmoral is restored to its former glory this well situated hotel in Bournemouth will be a must to stay.
If in Bournemouth will be sure to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished rooms if available.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Happy2go_lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here for a concert at the Bic. Nice central location, only a few minutes from the International centre, and the gardens and shops just a five plus minute walk away. Can see the sea and pier from the Hotel lounge. A bit dated, but the current owners are in the process of updating this grand hotel. Has a lovely feel to it, and a really nice old building with lots of character.As I was a solo female traveller, I was very happy to be greeted by a lovely receptionist called, Michele, who could not have done more for me, she really did make my stay very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice, great selection off a buffet table with every cereal, fruit juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, you can imagine, and a good selection of cooked meals. I would certainly stay again, a very clean Hotel with a traditonal service that was very impressive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travellerofage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is old and slightly dated but in the process of being refurbished. The hotel staff were friendly at all times and we were made to feel very welcome. Margaret and her staff show how it should be done and all in all it was a great stay.

Room Tip: A sea view is very reasonably priced.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here with my wife for four nights in late June, very friendly and welcoming staff (nothing too much trouble). Could not give the Hotel 5 stars due to being a bit "tired" and in need of re-furbishing but everywhere in the Hotel was spotlessly clean, Breakfast was superb.
Will certainly stay here again if we are down this way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews