We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #65 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Recently spent two nights here,with a seaview room, breakfast was pleasant with lots of variety from fruit juices, cereals, to a full English breakfast The bed was very comfortable as was my stay here would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolli1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    114
    29
    23
    12
See reviews for
47
119
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just spent a weekend in Bournemouth for a family event. Husband and 3 grandchildren in 2 very comfortable seaview family rooms. We arrived late, no problems with that and wakened to a fabulous breakfast. The children were in their element,great choice of cereals and juices followed by any sort of full English you could think of cooked to order. First class. Our beds were clean and comfy and nothing was too much trouble including an early breakfast on our departure day, thank you very much.
It is a bit of a hike back from the beach but it only costs 3 pounds in a taxi if you are too lazy,tired or old to do heartattack hill.

Room Tip: 20 or 21 facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianholt54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croxley Green, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Only stayed one night but enjoyed my stay, room needed doing up but owners are revamping the rooms as they can do them
, bed very comfy , sea view excellent in room 7 , very quite even tho hotel was full , breakfast was lovely, staff are great and the owners are down to earth very friendly indeed all in all great stay and so close to every thing in bournmouth
One thing I will say I hope the old character of the hotel is not lost once revamp is done as there's so many lovely parts in there

Room Tip: Room 7 has a lovely sea view
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Short break at Bournemouth staying on the west cliff at The Balmoral Hotel. The hotel has recently been taken over and is undergoing a refurbishment. On being shown to our room the staff were very pleasant allround and helpful in showing the hotel facilities.
The room had just been renovated with new carpets and had a large light airy feel to it with magnificent views of the bay toward the Isle of White. The room obviously spotless as it was the first time it had been used with a large comfortable bed, quiet easily fit an extra single in the room if required.
Only meals taken at the hotel were breakfast more than adequate for the day ahead with again pleasant service
As I mentioned earlier the hotel is being refurbished and the hotel is a little tired here and there, but Rome wasn't built in a day and I'm sure when the The Balmoral is restored to its former glory this well situated hotel in Bournemouth will be a must to stay.
If in Bournemouth will be sure to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy2go_lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here for a concert at the Bic. Nice central location, only a few minutes from the International centre, and the gardens and shops just a five plus minute walk away. Can see the sea and pier from the Hotel lounge. A bit dated, but the current owners are in the process of updating this grand hotel. Has a lovely feel to it, and a really nice old building with lots of character.As I was a solo female traveller, I was very happy to be greeted by a lovely receptionist called, Michele, who could not have done more for me, she really did make my stay very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice, great selection off a buffet table with every cereal, fruit juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, you can imagine, and a good selection of cooked meals. I would certainly stay again, a very clean Hotel with a traditonal service that was very impressive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerofage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is old and slightly dated but in the process of being refurbished. The hotel staff were friendly at all times and we were made to feel very welcome. Margaret and her staff show how it should be done and all in all it was a great stay.

Room Tip: A sea view is very reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here with my wife for four nights in late June, very friendly and welcoming staff (nothing too much trouble). Could not give the Hotel 5 stars due to being a bit "tired" and in need of re-furbishing but everywhere in the Hotel was spotlessly clean, Breakfast was superb.
Will certainly stay here again if we are down this way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#9 of 66 in Bournemouth
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#53 of 132 in Bournemouth
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 132 in Bournemouth
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: 11-13 Kerley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing