We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a great stay friendly hotel, staff etc.....”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #55 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“had a great stay friendly hotel, staff etc.....”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

this is a lovely hotel we arrived very early in the morning way before check in time and Margaret who was so kind and friendly allowed us to check in at around 8am instead of the normal check in time which was great we had asked for a seaview room and we got exactly that this hotel to me is perfect. i asked Margaret if there happened to be a local pool near by as the weather didn't permit to venture to far into the sea and Margaret phoned around for us and found an excellent place where we could not only use a pool but jacuzzi, sauna and steam room as well if you are looking for a hotel that is basically a stones throw from the beach and at very reasonable rates this hotel is perfect thanks Margaret and staff we had a great time cheers Gary.

Room Tip: a room with a seaview i think is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firestream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    114
    29
    23
    13
See reviews for
50
124
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

what a lovely find on arrival we were met by Michelle who was so friendly and kindly showed us where everything was on the ground floor and information station that provided you with all the information that you needed to know about what was on in the area. We had a sea facing room which was brilliant, the rooms are all well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities,crisp clean white bedding, white fluffy towels in the bathroom and complimentary soap,shower gel and shampoo, as previous stated the room was a little tired but did not effect our stay there. The staff are absolutely outstanding and a credit to Margret Denise and the rest of the management, Daniel the gentleman who served behind the bar and also served breakfast was so friendly and helpful nothing was to much, also Dani the young girl who also served the breakfast was a very friendly young lady. The hotel is situated in a brilliant area so close to everything you need. The evening meal on offer was fabulous so nice to be waited on. On departure Margret explained to us how they were renovating the hotel and showed us a couple of the rooms that had already been completed they were magnificent, can only say that when the whole renovation is complete the hotel will be the best in the area, The breakfasts were also brilliant everything and more you could want and all cooked to high standards compliments to the chef, this will certainly not be the last time we visit this wonderful establishment so much character this building has, also free parking which is a bonus, Well done to Margret Denise and their team.

Room Tip: sea view room superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked this hotel for a three night break over the Bank Holiday weekend mainly because it was the cheapest priced that we could find. We read all the reviews good and bad, but decided to book anyway.We are so glad we did.
We met Margaret on arrival and she showed us around. She apologised for the dated decor and explained that they were in the middle of refurbishing every room in the hotel.
Personally, I thought the place had a warm and cosy feel and bearing in mind that the current owners had only been in residence for the last year or so. their plans for the future were very exciting.
The room we was given(nr:29) was comfortable and quiet. Although it was at the front of the hotel, there was no noise from the street below. Yes the room looked "tired", but we found it very comfortable.A big double bed with clean and fresh linen that was made up every morning.
Breakfast was excellent value and the choices were plentiful.In fact, the three days that we had the full english, we found that we were full for most of the day.
We also took advantage of the restaurant for the evening meal. Proper "home-made" food that tasted just like your Mum or Granma used to cook .
Overall, we could not find any fault with the hotel.
Margaret, David, Denise, Dave and the rest of the staff were absolutely brilliant and nothing was too much trouble.
We will be booking again and I will be recommending the Balmoral to all family and friends.
Its closeness to all the amenities is a big bonus and it is ideal for all parties young and old.
Finally, I wouldn't be surprised that when the refurbishment is completed, this Hotel will be one of the best on the south coast, but with the current owners, will still be affordable to everyone.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimboy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews online I was a bit worried about what we would turn up to.

The welcome from reception was fantastic! Very informative and helpful throughout our stay.

Room was clean and tidy, clean bedding and duvet not sheets. Complimentary toiletries and tea and coffee.

Breakfast was lovely, all fresh and homemade. Fruit, yogurt, cereal and a full English with toast and coffee.

We paid £60 for a double which included breakfast. My 2 year old daughter came with us and a travel cot with bedding was supplied. They couldn't have been more accommodating.

I know the hotel is undergoing refurbishment but on the whole I was really impressed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fazbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here Saturday and Sunday night for our first anniversary.
We were made aware when we booked that it was not a refurbished room but that room 20 was big with great views. Indeed, it lived up to this. Yes the room was a little tired and there are some obvious things that need doing but it is not as bad as some others on here have made out and is clean which is most important. AND has amazing views :-)
One thing we found a problem was the shower - there was hardly any pressure so having a shower was such a chore! If you took the shower head off the wall to move it about the pressure dropped even more! Hopefully this is sorted when they refurbish the room.
Before I came I asked if I was able to sit in front of a mirror with a plug near it to do my hair etc - they said no and so I asked for an extension lead. They provided me with an extension lead but only a very short domestic one and considering the mirror and chair was at the opposite side of the room to a plug it was not at all useful. In the end I moved the mirror to a bedside table and plugged the extension lead in instead of the lamp so I could do my hair and we could charge our phones.
Breakfast was good enough - the full English is set and I did not eat a couple of things on it - it would be good if you could have a little more choice. It would be nice if the continental side of things had pastries too. But it was nice what we had!
Something I was surprised about was 10:30am check-out as I have never stayed in a hotel with such an early check-out time and when you have a shower with hardly any pressure it was difficult trying to get ready and packed etc after breakfast in time for 10:30! It would also be nice if we could go back to our room and just relax for 20mins to let our food go down.
The staff were all really nice and helpful! (although the older man at times seemed a bit grumpy and reluctant to help, but other times he did help so was maybe just bad moments).
I would stay here again but maybe not first choice.

Room Tip: Room 20 is not refurbished yet but is clean, big and has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckykalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We initially booked the Balmoral for two nights midweek.
However, we were having such a lovely time we asked if we could possibly add another night to our stay.
This was done for us in a matter of minutes, the only thing was, we had to change rooms for the last night, which was on problem at all, as it was last minute.

I will start by commending the fabulous staff at this characterful little gem of a hotel.
We were greeted by Michelle, who couldn't be more helpful, what a star.
The management team are so lovely too, and housekeeping do a great job.

Our breakfast was hot and fresh every morning, and there was a good choice on offer too.

This place has got so much character, and the views are excellent.

If you are looking for something friendly, homely and not clinical, this is a must!

Thank you alt once again at the Balmoral for such a lovely stay. Xxx

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hairialbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here in a family room for a four night break, the hotel is in a good location with good views over the beach. The hotel itself is quite dated and needs a lot of work doing to many parts of it. The staff were very friendly and keen to help, the lady on check out was very welcoming and helpful (sorry cant remember her name, young blond lady) The breakfast was good with a decent selection for all tastes

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecrazy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 131 in Bournemouth
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: 11-13 Kerley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing