We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean, but poor customer service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southernhay B & B

Southernhay B & B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southernhay B & B
Ranked #94 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, but poor customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Nice location, close to shops and restaurants, about 20-30 mins walk to the beach through a garden/small forest. Distance to the city centre is about 15 mins by bus, very often but also quite expensive to go back and forward. The guest house we found it clean (although we found a cat in our bed when we arrived), but the service was poorly. On the first day a lady served us and it was everything great, the following 3 we were served by the owners and it was awfull (worst coffee ever, we ordered breakfast but they forgot to bring it as we order it and the person who served us, i guess the owner... asked me "what do you want?" when i tried to ask for more toast. We are not fussy or posh persons, but i was ofended by his lack of manners. At the end, they tried to charge us more because of the weekend, although the booking was made directly with them, confirming the price. Nice location, clean, but didn't make us feel welcome. We wouldn't go again.

Room Tip: In room nr.7 the blue one, between 6 am and 10 pm there is a constant noise, don't know from wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaDinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    8
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed here for night, with friends, taking up two rooms.

Found this 'hotel' (or should that really read, B&B) very clean, and quite good parking, although there was only us using two rooms on the day.

Tea and coffee in the rooms.

The only let down was the scruffy looking breakfast chef.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronandgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very neat cottagey B&B 3 minutes from centre of Westbourne - shops, buses to almost everywhere, range of restaurants. Warm, friendly, well-equipped. Lost of parking. Pet friendly (medium-sized dog)
Proprietor has good sense of humour

Room Tip: only saw one room - first on left, for pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowryepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Another lovely experience, our third time in two years at this very welcoming B&B. Immediately after arrival, we realised we had lost our car keys! Although Tom and Lynne (owners) were due to go out, they searched the front drive with individual torches. We felt VERY daft when keys were found in our room. They didn't even look irritated. Such lovely people. We had a comfortable bed and could walk bare foot on clean carpet in room. Ensuite spacious and immaculate as rest. As we are both trying to shed weight, was nice to have such a lovely well cooked but HEALTHY looking, full english breakfast. Wish "my" home cooked eggs looked that good ! A lovely break with traditional hospitality and positively relaxed ethos. We will return and look forward to a longer stay.
Mrs J Park

Room Tip: We had room 8 with ensuite but other rooms are nice too with clean and spacious bathroom, despite sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Had a lovely easter break and the owners Lynn and Tom were so helpful tips on places to eat and places to visit. We were so full from our breakfast that we did not need to eat until dinner.
Our room was spacious and spotless the shower was good a good size and the room was nicely decorated and warm. Would stay there again and again will be recommending this to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We had a nice break here with our pet , the food was good and the place is clean.
The only problems were the noisy doors that slam in the night as people without an en-suite go to the bathroom that is straight infront of the other rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We have stayed at this hotel on about 4 occasions in the past year and we find it excellent. Nice comfortable room with en-suite and tea and coffee making facilities, good breakfast. Nice quiet spot away from the centre of Bournemouth. Owners very helpful with places to visit. Lots of ideas with leaflets in hallway. Nice walk down through Alum Chine. I would definitely recommend it. We are staying there again in August.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 at the front are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookie546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#22 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel
0.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
Living Room Bournemouth
Living Room Bournemouth
#18 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grovefield Manor
Grovefield Manor
#8 of 52 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernhay B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernhay B & B

Property: Southernhay B & B
Address: 42 Alum Chine Road | Westbourne, Bournemouth BH4 8DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southernhay B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing