We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay + first class as usual”
Review of Southernhay B & B

Southernhay B & B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southernhay B & B
Ranked #90 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2013

we stayed at Southernhay B + B in Bournemouth again as we went to see our son who is at university in Bournemouth. We had the same room again as we took our King Charles dog down with us. The accommodation was comfortable and clean as usual and the hosts were down to earth and friendly. nothing was too much trouble for them and being a pet friendly Bed + Breakfast was a big plus for us. if you have a pet or do not have a pet this is a very comfortable place to stay and the food was well cooked. I would recommend this accommodation to anybody and the price is a good price for Bournemouth.
I certainly for rate this as 5 stars for service etc and will be going back again next year.

Room Tip: book well ahead as does get booked up very quickley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardgwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

Nice location, close to shops and restaurants, about 20-30 mins walk to the beach through a garden/small forest. Distance to the city centre is about 15 mins by bus, very often but also quite expensive to go back and forward. The guest house we found it clean (although we found a cat in our bed when we arrived), but the service was poorly. On the first day a lady served us and it was everything great, the following 3 we were served by the owners and it was awfull (worst coffee ever, we ordered breakfast but they forgot to bring it as we order it and the person who served us, i guess the owner... asked me "what do you want?" when i tried to ask for more toast. We are not fussy or posh persons, but i was ofended by his lack of manners. At the end, they tried to charge us more because of the weekend, although the booking was made directly with them, confirming the price. Nice location, clean, but didn't make us feel welcome. We wouldn't go again.

Room Tip: In room nr.7 the blue one, between 6 am and 10 pm there is a constant noise, don't know from wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaDinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed here for night, with friends, taking up two rooms.

Found this 'hotel' (or should that really read, B&B) very clean, and quite good parking, although there was only us using two rooms on the day.

Tea and coffee in the rooms.

The only let down was the scruffy looking breakfast chef.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronandgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very neat cottagey B&B 3 minutes from centre of Westbourne - shops, buses to almost everywhere, range of restaurants. Warm, friendly, well-equipped. Lost of parking. Pet friendly (medium-sized dog)
Proprietor has good sense of humour

Room Tip: only saw one room - first on left, for pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowryepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Another lovely experience, our third time in two years at this very welcoming B&B. Immediately after arrival, we realised we had lost our car keys! Although Tom and Lynne (owners) were due to go out, they searched the front drive with individual torches. We felt VERY daft when keys were found in our room. They didn't even look irritated. Such lovely people. We had a comfortable bed and could walk bare foot on clean carpet in room. Ensuite spacious and immaculate as rest. As we are both trying to shed weight, was nice to have such a lovely well cooked but HEALTHY looking, full english breakfast. Wish "my" home cooked eggs looked that good ! A lovely break with traditional hospitality and positively relaxed ethos. We will return and look forward to a longer stay.
Mrs J Park

Room Tip: We had room 8 with ensuite but other rooms are nice too with clean and spacious bathroom, despite sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Had a lovely easter break and the owners Lynn and Tom were so helpful tips on places to eat and places to visit. We were so full from our breakfast that we did not need to eat until dinner.
Our room was spacious and spotless the shower was good a good size and the room was nicely decorated and warm. Would stay there again and again will be recommending this to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We had a nice break here with our pet , the food was good and the place is clean.
The only problems were the noisy doors that slam in the night as people without an en-suite go to the bathroom that is straight infront of the other rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ca709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,611 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
217 reviews
1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.9 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernhay B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernhay B & B

Address: 42 Alum Chine Road | Westbourne, Bournemouth BH4 8DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £48 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southernhay B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing