We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southernhay Hotel Westbourne”
Review of Southernhay B & B

Southernhay B & B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southernhay B & B
Ranked #90 of 134 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The hosts Lyn and Tom from the moment we arrived were so friendly and nothing was to much even to helping with our one small case was taken to our room .
Room 9 was our stay for three nights and we must say for a small so called B&b it was very well decorated and spotlessly clean.
The breakfast that was prepared for us set us up for the rest of the day.
We will certainly recommend the Southernhay to all our friends and we will be returning there again.
Many thanks to Lyn and Tom.

Mr and Mrs Hefford

3  Thank orient2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2010

Lovely hotel, friendly atmosphere, free wireless access, very good hotel to calm down and relax.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kr5tian83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Owner curt to the point of rudeness when we arrived. Wi-fi advertised but only available by kitchen door. Shower minute. Breakfast poor using the cheapest of ingredients. Wanted to charge 2% for credit card use where no signs showd a charge would be made. Not acceptable in 2009.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamsondheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Have just returned from another super holiday at this friendly hotel,we have been here four times now and will certainly return next year,have been visiting Bournemouth since the 1950's sometimes three visits a year ! this hotel is smashing with a lovely breakfast,reading other reviews what do these people want by giving grossly inaccurate reports, i would highly recommend that anyone give it a try it is well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I dont' know where the other two reviewees have got their ideas from! This is my fith annual stay in this hotel with both family and initially friends and I certainly would not be going back if I didnt think it was up to the mark. The hoteliers are very helpful and friendly both on arrival and departure. The hotel is tastefully decorated and is very clean and maintained very well throughout. Rooms 7, 8 and 9 are all double with their own en suite. There is one bathroom opposite No. 8 on the upstairs landing which again is very clean and modern and nicely decorated - couldn't help having a look when the door was left open. The breakfasts are of a very good standard too. About 5 or 6 ceriels to chose from together with fruit juice. The cooked breakfast is always very hot and has been grilled to perfection. With regard to the person complaining about fried eggs - these are not at all greasy and if 'fried' is not their scene then have scrambled or poached as offered in the menu. The bedding is of a high standard and co-ordinates with the decor of the bedrooms. The towels are extremely white and soft too. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others as I have in the past and I look forward to my next stay at the Southernhay in June 2010

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnygirl081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We had booked an ensuite room and turned up to find that the room was not en-suite. The bathroom was down the hall way and was shared with about 3-4 other rooms. We were put off by the bright yellow custard walls in the room and thought we were quite lucky to only be staying one night. My partner braved the shared facilities only to find that the loo seat was covered underneath in dried diahoerrea. That did it for me so I planned my loo breaks by using a restaurant last thing at night then heading into town first thing in the morning. I gave breakfast a miss as the eggs were as greasy as the owners head. Not a good experience.

The only plus point is the fairy lights outside.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SweetieCutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

1 year ago, we booked a FAMILY room for 2 adults and 2 children for a 2-night stay at the Southernhay this summer, July 2008. The "family" room we were presented upon our arrival was in fact a simple, small, 14-15 m2 DOUBLE room with 2 extra beds (1 full size + 1 foldable)! Remaining net circulation space: approx. 2 m2!

No wonder the owner kept the introduction very short and disappeared immediately after he had handed over the key.

Unfortunately, the house was fully booked that night, so we decided to leave and find a hotel in town.

1st impression from website: OK. Reality: very disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AngiSimmeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.0 mi away
FAB Hotel
FAB Hotel
#10 of 24 in Bournemouth
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Living Room Bournemouth
The Living Room Bournemouth
#16 of 134 in Bournemouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernhay B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernhay B & B

Address: 42 Alum Chine Road | Westbourne, Bournemouth BH4 8DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £46 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southernhay B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing