We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Woodside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Woodside
Ranked #20 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“one night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having just spent five glorious days in milford on sea we decided to stay on for another night, we found the woodside guest house in southbourne. I knew the area well as I had spent a lot of my childhood in the same road of which brought back happy memories. We only stayed one night, hazel the owner made us feel very welcome and the guest house was very clean and tidy. They have got high standards and its obvious that they work hard to make the stay an enjoyable one . To top of the stay the English breakfast was excellent, being a chef I noticed the good quality of the produce. We look forward to a longer stay later in the year.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikea1975cov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
69
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

A really lovely place to stay. The owners, Hazel and Keith are extremely friendly and helpful, and from chatting with them it appears that a lot of their guests return again and again. I have to say we will probably do likewise. You really can't fault the place, the rooms are kept to a fantastic standard and the breakfast set us up for the whole day. In fact I'd go as far as saying The Woodside puts so many other places we've stayed at, to shame. Keep it up guys, we will return!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaynTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Spent two nights over the Easter weekend and enjoyed it immensely. The place is smart and well kept and our room was well furnished/equipped and comfortable. The hosts are extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful with useful local knowledge and recommendations. Breakfasts are just great with efficient and friendly service. The location is in a quiet, tree lined road - ideal for walks along the cliff top or the beach-level promenade and easy travel to surrounding attractions. We definitely intend a return visit as it suited us to a tee!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the lovely The Woodside B&B. Nice and well equipped rooms, a cosy sphere as one expect it from a typical B&B. Hazel and Keith are perfect hosts with loads of good hints what to do and what to see in Bournemouth and the whole Jurassic Coast.
Real home made breakfast is standard and so much more tasty than whatever you get in a bigger hotel - we loved it.
Our stay was perfect and if we come back to the south coast The Woodside will be our point to start the tour.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasfluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Woodside and Keith & Hazel could not have been nicer people. I really liked our chats about the midlands and the room itself was excellent (a really comfortable bed!). I'm already looking forward to a return visit later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JARowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 lovely nights at this excellent b&b with Keith and Hazel the best people with warm welcome and friendly chats. Extremely clean rooms, comfortable bed and great cooked brekkie. Poached eggs perfect:-) Will be back for another visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovelyliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just as others have said the Woodside is the place to stay near the seafront in Southbourne. Our room was spotlessly clean and welcoming and the en suite bathroom had been carefully designed to make best use of the space. The whole house was in a good state of decoration and was obviously well looked after.

Our breakfast was atractively presented and not at all greasy or dried out as it had been freshly cooked to order, Hazel and Keith clearly make it their priority to do all they can to make their guests' stay a good experience - and they suceed!

We were there just overnight but would certainly recommend it to families or couples wanting to stay in the area, the cliff top and seaside is a short walk along the road, the shops and restaurants at Sourhbourne Grove a short walk in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryannSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#1 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodside

Property: The Woodside
Address: 29 Southern Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodside 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodside is a highly recommended Guest House 3 miles east of the centre of Bournemouth.We pride ourselves on the Woodside's high reputation for its warm, personal and friendly atmosphere.We are situated in a very pleasant tree- lined road. The golden sandy 'Blue Flag' beach is only a 2 minute walk away offering safe bathing, cliff walks and magnificent views.Situated close to the New Forest, Christchurch, Hengistbury Head and Poole. The Woodside is in the ideal location for the perfect quiet break. It is wonderfully positioned for cliff top walks, with panoramic views over the Isle of Wight, and Dorset's Purbeck Hills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing