We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Breeze Lodge
Ranked #10 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Great location if you don't want to be directly in Bournemouth otherwise a short drive or bus ride. Lovely people, really friendly. the property is, still in need of some renovations but the are working hard at it. Very limited parking. Amazing bed do comfy. No complaints, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Asked for a refurbished room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Manager at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Nicola
Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are equally as pleased that our guests are loving what we are doing to the lodge and our continued plans to modernise. We are both excited about phase two which is a major project and investment on the second floor and we are sure the paint and brushes will be out again in the winter,
Thanks again and really hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Mal and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Southern Breeze Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

A home from home! Myself, my partner and my 9 year old daughter stayed for 4 nights during the last week of July and had a great stay at the Southern Breeze lodge. We were greeted with a warm welcome, good hospitality,and helpful advice about where to go and visit when we arrived. Beds comfortable. A lovely, well maintained room and facilities. A delicious breakfast... my daughter especially loved the pancakes! Just a stones throw from the beach, and if you enjoy walks you can walk into Bournemouth towards the pier or into Muddyford for a spot of crabbing. Would highly recommend this B&B to others. .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear James
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review which means so much to Fran and mysellf and confirms we are truely on the right track on making Southern Breeze Lodge a sucess. We really enjoyed having you all stay with us and thanks again for such a lovely gift that fits in perfectly with our beach and sailing theme. The pebble Lucy made us has taken pride and place in the hallway. We are so pleased we played our part in making sure you had a great time and hopefully see you all again in the future.

Kind regards

Mal and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Southern Breeze Lodge was a lovely place to stay. Malcolm and Fran, the owners, were very friendly and helpful. They upgraded me to a larger room for one night for no extra cost. The breakfast was really substantial with nice touches, like two types of peanut butter and a wide selection of jams, cereal toppings and fresh fruit. Very near the sea as well so ideal for coastal walks.

Brian M

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Brian

Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, liked your room and the breakfast we offer.

Hope to see you again in the future

Kind regards

Malcolm and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

What a wonderful place. Stayed for 4 nights in July and had a great time. Malcolm and Fran are not only excellent hosts but they make you feel as if you have gone to stay with friends. The rooms are spotless, food is top class and location perfect. We will definitely be repeat visitors both winter and summer. Best B & B we have ever stayed in. Jim and Jen

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Jimmy and Jenny

Thank you for such a lovely review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and are looking at returning again in the future. Hope Jenny remembers which room she wants next time.

Looking forward to you seeing you both again in the near future and we will order some more sunshine like last time.

Kind regards

Mal and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Malcolm and Fran welcome you the moment you arrive.Help with your bags and make you a pot of tea.The room was spotless,comfortable with all you could wish for.As for the breakfast,cooked to order ,all you can eat and a varied menu.If you are having the pancakes make sure you are very hungrey.You wont be disapointed.Excellent hosts who like having you in their B&B and enjoy looking after you and have achieved all this in only 4 months.Looking forward to returning often in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMrsRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Richard and Mandy

Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are delighted you had such a lovely time and enjoyed your stay with us. I am training Fran to cut down a little on the amount of pancakes so the guest dont feel they have to walk all day to work them off.

Hope to see you both again in the future

Kind regards

Mal and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I loved our stay at the Southern Breeze and the welcome and hospitality from Malcolm and Fran was outstanding. The B&B is on a really quiet wide road just 200 yards from a beautiful beach, where you can walk towards Christchurch on the left or Boscombe on the right. Our room was impeccably clean and beautifully decorated with a new en-suite; in fact it was more boutique hotel quality than B&B. On top of that we had a fantastic breakfast (and the bonus of some lovely other guests) and drove away promising ourselves to come back. An absolute find - in fact we were hesitant to write a review as we want to make sure there is space for us next time we visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuzzmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for posting such a lovely review. Really pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us and planning coming back later this year. Guest reviews are so important to a new business and very pleased from your response we are on the right track.

Look forward to seeing you both again later this year

Kind regards

Malcolm and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I would like to highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone wanting to stay in the Bournemouth area. Located on a quiet road just back from the beach. As we pulled up outside we were pleasantly welcomed by Malcolm and Frances who helped us with our bags and made us a pot to tea. The property is fresh and light with amazing little touches that remind out of your seaside location. The room was spacious and had all the facilities needed for a short break away. The breakfast was delicious. I will definitely be staying here again. Thank you again for being so friendly for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Before we left we had a tour of all the rooms and to be honest they were all fantastic and I would b...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Gemma
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, liked what we have done to our home so far and that you enjoyed the local entertainment. Hope you got the photos you wanted on Sunday and your photography business goes from strength to strength. Thanks for liking us on Facebook which we intend to keep updated with pictures and articles.
It was great having you stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Mal and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,035 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 133 in Bournemouth
490 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#5 of 133 in Bournemouth
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#8 of 133 in Bournemouth
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Breeze Lodge

Address: 20 Southern Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £78 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Breeze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Breeze Lodge.Under new ownership from August 2016 )Southern Breeze Lodge is a lovely 100-year-old character building just two hundred yards from the beautiful cliff tops over-looking Bournemouth's seven miles of glorious sandy beaches with beautiful views from Poole to Hengistbury Head and the Isle of Wight. There is a zigzag path or a lift, just three minutes walk from the Guest House, which takes you straight down to the promenade. The Guest House is also situated close to Southbourne's many shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants.The Guest House is in a great location to explore the south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Southern Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing