We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dave and georgina from kent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Breeze Lodge
Ranked #8 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“dave and georgina from kent”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

malcom and fran were fantastic hosts it was spotless could not throught any thing about our stay wow what can i say about the breakfast omg now thats what i call a big breakfast the decor was great the rooms we stayed in was lovely they are a lovely couple enter as a stranger and u leave as a friend my 2 day stay was not long enough i couldnt fault a single thing me and the girlfriend will be going back some time in the near future hope to see u soon

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Dave and Georgina
Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you stay. Thank you so much for the lovely flowers you gave Fran on her Birthday. We are so pleased you are thinking about returning and hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards

Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
244
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed at the Southern breeze and culdnt have been happier. If you are looking for a friendly home from home stay this is theplace. The decor was great, owners couldnt do enough to help and the breakfast left me full till dinner. Would highly recommend the southern breeze if you wat a location close to the beach and a base where you can relax and feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suresh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Suresh

It was great to see you again and really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards

Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Although Malcom and Fran are relatively new to the B & B scene they are fantastic hosts who provide excellent accomadation, along with an excellent breakfast, in fact the Full English was so large that on the second morning I asked for a smaller version.My wife being more health concious went for the lovely assortment of fresh fruit and Yoghurt.
I had picked Southern Breeze prior to looking at Trip Advisor, but all the Excellent comments from previous customers did not exagerate howfriendly and welcoming both Malcolm and Fran were.
Thank you both very much, Southbourne to us is better than Bournemouth and I am sure that we will visit you again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Rose and Ray
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a great review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and much as you enjoyed your stay. Fran is definately feeding our guests well as she never wants anyone to go away hungry. However we may have to offer free gym membership for a good work out after one of her breakfasts.
Delighted you are considering coming back in the future and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The only words to describe this beautiful B&B are 'Absolutely Fantastic'. I couldn't fault a single thing from the warm and friendly hospitality of Fran and Malcolm to the amazing, peaceful location and beautifully decorated and clean house and rooms. Nothing seemed too much to ask for and Fran and Malcolm were always more than happy to offer to go the extra mile - special thanks for accommodating my food allergy's with your wonderful breakfast :-) This is by far the best B&B I've ever stayed in and I would highly recommend it to anyone..I'm planning my next visit already!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your time with us and like what we are doing to our home and business. Really looking forward to seeing you all again later on in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Can't believe Malcolm and Fran have only being doing this since March! They are naturals. We had a wonderful stay, the room was lovely, the attention to detail was spot on. The location was just perfect for us, just a short walk to the beach. The breakfast definitely lived up to expectations. We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Hayley
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. Reviews like this are so important to a new business as we are beginning to build our reputation. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and really looking forward to you returning in the future.
Kind regards
Mal and Fran

PS, Did you take our sunshine away with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

An absolutely brilliant B & B!! Stayed for 3 nights and when we left it felt like we were leaving home. "Enter as strangers, leave as friends" is displayed in the dining room. This sums up this B&B very well. Hosts are brilliant; friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Accomodation is clean and comfortable and tastefully decorated, Breakfasts are great and the pancakes are out of this world! Walking distance to the beach and a short drive into Bournemouth, Catered well for our daughter's dietery needs; who is wheat intolerant. Will definately stay here again and encourage others to do the same. Thanks Malcolm and Fran for making our stay special.

Room Tip: Quite location, so all rooms are great.Peaceful night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay as much as we did having such a lovely family staying with us. We are equally pleased that you liked the way we are renovating our home and business and we are on the right track to make it a lovely place to stay. Loved the comment about leaving home which is what we are trying to create for all our guests.

Really hope we see you again and look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Wonderful B & B, very friendly and welcoming and a very personal service. All to high standard with nice little touches,good and very quiet location close to the beach, very good breakfeast, a clean and comfortable room.Many thanks to Malcolm and Fran,we had a lovely stay.We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomaszandKate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Tomasz and Kate
Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and in Southbourne. Good luck with the arrival of your baby girl and next year if you come and stay the travel cot will be waiting.

Kind regards

Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,479 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
134 reviews
1.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 131 in Bournemouth
478 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#6 of 131 in Bournemouth
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#10 of 131 in Bournemouth
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Breeze Lodge

Property: Southern Breeze Lodge
Address: 20 Southern Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Breeze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Breeze Lodge.Under new ownership from August 2016 )Southern Breeze Lodge is a lovely 100-year-old character building just two hundred yards from the beautiful cliff tops over-looking Bournemouth's seven miles of glorious sandy beaches with beautiful views from Poole to Hengistbury Head and the Isle of Wight. There is a zigzag path or a lift, just three minutes walk from the Guest House, which takes you straight down to the promenade. The Guest House is also situated close to Southbourne's many shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants.The Guest House is in a great location to explore the south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Southern Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing