We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Bournemouth? It's a Breeze”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Breeze Lodge
Ranked #7 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel in Bournemouth? It's a Breeze”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay for one night at short notice, as our daughter had just produced our first grandchild and we were making an early visit. We were lucky enough to discover the Southern Breeze Lodge; a seven bedroomed guest house run by Mal and Fran.

New to the business, Mal and Fran bring a fresh enthusiasm and zeal for their hotel yet run the Southern Breeze Lodge with a professionalism that suggests years of experience. Guests are given a warm welcome and my wife and I both felt we had been treated like old friends.

The building has been given a complete makeover with all the rooms decorated to a high standard. I understand that the improvements are set to continue during the winter (2012/13).

The bedroom we occupied was relatively small but comfortable and stylishly decorated, containing all the essentials including a newly equipped en-suite shower room. The room, like the rest of the hotel, was spotlessly clean and the bed was particularly comfortable.

The best part for me was the breakfast. Options including a "Full English" and muffins with scrambled egg and smoked salmon and everything was freshly cooked using high quality produce. A specialist range of jams and preserves with fresh granary toast topped it off beautifully. I can honestly say that this was one of the best breakfasts I have eaten in any hotel.

I really would recommend the Southern Breeze Lodge to anyone looking for both long or short stays in Bournemouth. You will be assured a friendly welcome and a pleasant stay whether on holiday or on business.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear David
Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a wonderful review. Reviews like this are so important to the success of our B and B. We are quite humbled by the way our guests are loving what we are doing to our new home and even more that they are enjoying staying with us as much as we have enjoyed our 1st season with our new guests. I would love to take the credit for the breakfasts but as Fran pops out of the kitchen from time to time and everyone knows who the chef really is. Congratuations again on your new grandchild and sure you will have lots of fun along the way. Hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
238
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Home from home without the chores.Malcolm & Fran were fantastic hosts, helpful & considerate.What can I say about the MEGA breakfast.plenty & many choices. The bedrooms were nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable,the en-suite, magic ,with grooming accessories provided.The rooms wre spotless. The location, excellent for the east cliff walks and beaches, convenient for shops & buses 15min to Bournemouth. Definitely will be paying another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chalkysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Terry and Greer
Thanks again for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. As our first season is nearly under our belts it has given us so much confidence we are heading in the right direction to make our B and B successful and guests wanting to return. We are so pleased you liked what we are doing with our property and intend to keep investing over the coming months ready for 2013. It will be great to see you both back in the near future.
Kind regards
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Only a few minutes walk from the beach and in a quiet location, Southern Breeze Lodge is ideal. The owners, Malcolm and Fran, made us very welcome and went out of their way to ensure that we had a most pleasurable stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The standard of our ensuite room was outstanding. Little details like decaf tea, biscuits, and a fresh bottle of mineral water were made available in our room everyday. The cooked to order breakfasts were superb and we would recommend their speciality of smoked salmon on scrambled eggs and muffins. We have no hesitation in recommending a stay to anyone and we shall certainly stay again when we visit next time.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mgrlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Dear Michael and Sheila
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked what we are doing to our B and B. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to you staying again in the future.

Kind regards

Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have just stayed for one night at Southern Breeze and it was excellent. Everything was great and Mal and Fran couldn't have been more helpful. It is very close to the beach and local shops. The road is very quiet. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Mike and Sharon

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

malcom and fran were fantastic hosts it was spotless could not throught any thing about our stay wow what can i say about the breakfast omg now thats what i call a big breakfast the decor was great the rooms we stayed in was lovely they are a lovely couple enter as a stranger and u leave as a friend my 2 day stay was not long enough i couldnt fault a single thing me and the girlfriend will be going back some time in the near future hope to see u soon

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Dave and Georgina
Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you stay. Thank you so much for the lovely flowers you gave Fran on her Birthday. We are so pleased you are thinking about returning and hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards

Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed at the Southern breeze and culdnt have been happier. If you are looking for a friendly home from home stay this is theplace. The decor was great, owners couldnt do enough to help and the breakfast left me full till dinner. Would highly recommend the southern breeze if you wat a location close to the beach and a base where you can relax and feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suresh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Suresh

It was great to see you again and really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards

Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Although Malcom and Fran are relatively new to the B & B scene they are fantastic hosts who provide excellent accomadation, along with an excellent breakfast, in fact the Full English was so large that on the second morning I asked for a smaller version.My wife being more health concious went for the lovely assortment of fresh fruit and Yoghurt.
I had picked Southern Breeze prior to looking at Trip Advisor, but all the Excellent comments from previous customers did not exagerate howfriendly and welcoming both Malcolm and Fran were.
Thank you both very much, Southbourne to us is better than Bournemouth and I am sure that we will visit you again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Rose and Ray
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a great review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and much as you enjoyed your stay. Fran is definately feeding our guests well as she never wants anyone to go away hungry. However we may have to offer free gym membership for a good work out after one of her breakfasts.
Delighted you are considering coming back in the future and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,446 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 132 in Bournemouth
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#6 of 132 in Bournemouth
334 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 132 in Bournemouth
733 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
#5 of 132 in Bournemouth
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Breeze Lodge

Property: Southern Breeze Lodge
Address: 20 Southern Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Breeze Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Breeze Lodge.Under new ownership from August 2016 )Southern Breeze Lodge is a lovely 100-year-old character building just two hundred yards from the beautiful cliff tops over-looking Bournemouth's seven miles of glorious sandy beaches with beautiful views from Poole to Hengistbury Head and the Isle of Wight. There is a zigzag path or a lift, just three minutes walk from the Guest House, which takes you straight down to the promenade. The Guest House is also situated close to Southbourne's many shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants.The Guest House is in a great location to explore the south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Southern Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing