We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely breeze”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Breeze Lodge
Ranked #10 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived nothing was to much trouble, from serving up fresh coffee and doughnuts to giving directions to the best places to visit.
The rooms were very comfy and cosy.
Beautifully decorated and full of character even down to the jelly fish!!!! ;-)
Malcolm and his wife couldn't do enough for us.
Breakfast was delicious.
I could go on but you must see it for yourself.
An absolute gem.
Thank you.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Sheesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are always pleased when our guests take the time and trouble to write a review and tell us they have enjoyed their stay.
Hope to see you again
Best wishes
Mal and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Southern Breeze Lodge was an absolute delight :-)
We arrived about 3 hours before check-in but the room was ready and we were invited to check-in. We received a very warm welcome and we dropped our luggage off and went off to enjoy the beach (Bournemouth pier is about 3 miles away from the B&B, so be warned :-) After our long walk, it was so lovely getting back to our room where we had a couple of delicious muffins waiting for us. The entire place including our room were spotlessly clean and I particularly enjoyed the very cute sea-side ornaments that were used to decorate the entire place. 
Our bathroom was lovely and came furnished with a well-kitted toilet bag (I've been to hotels where you'd be hard pressed to get a decent shower cap!) We even had cotton buds & cotton wool (that's a first :-) 
On the whole, it was an intimate B&B experience with Five-star Quality. 
Well done to you both, Mal & Fran. We hope to see you both again in the not-too-distant future

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased you liked our B and B and enjoyed your stay. It is so nice when guests like what we do and how we do it. Reviews like this help keep us on the right track.
Hope to see you again
Best wishes
Mal and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were there the last weekend. I can say it was the best accommodation (including Hotel, apartments and B&B) I have had in England, It is a lovely place, clean, tidy, excellent localization...And what we can say about Malcolm and Fran...Only Thanks for your attention and your kindness with us...And obviously thanks for this marvelous breakfast....We never forgot this weekend!!!

Víctor&Cristina

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and we are so pleased you both had a lovely time when staying with us. We are so pleased you are loving England and you must come back to Southbourne as there is plenty more to see along the south coast.
Hope to see you again in the future
Best wishes
Mal and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the delightful Southern Breeze B&B between the 26th Feb - 1st March.

It is situated on a quiet road and has its own private parking spaces for four vehicles.

On arrival we were greeted by the lovely owners Mal & Fran who offered to take our bags etc before being taken to our room (No.2).

It had a large bay window which overlooked the road with just a peak of the sea, which was literally a two minutes walk away.

The room comprised of a comfy King size bed with nightstand tables either side. A dressing table with two large leather chairs either side,
a large flat screen TV, a large wardrobe with ample clothing hangers. And a smaller unit with a kettle, complimentary tea & coffee sachets and biscuits etc.

Overall the room was spacious, and exceptionally clean.

The on suite bathroom was absolutely spotless. The shower pressure was great and also had a variable temperature dial. However I did find the cubicle a little restrictive (this is probably because we are used to our double shower at home).

After a greet night sleep, we went down to the breakfast room where there was a fantastic choice of cereals, preserves, yoghurts and fruit to choose from.

Whilst there is was a wonderful 'set' hot breakfast menu to choose from Mal was happy to cater for our unusual breakfast requests!

There is also a large fish tank in the breakfast room and a smaller tank with jelly fish in the hall which my fiancé and I found fascinating!

On one of the days we happened to be the only guests, and Mal was kind enough to show us the other rooms which were all lovely and beautifully decorated especially rooms 5 and 6 in the 'Penthouse' suite.

These rooms were just as fantastic as our room but on a larger scale including double shower cubicles in the En suite bathrooms.

Whilst the decor throughout is modern, there is a clearly a nautical theme to it which really adds to the ambience of your stay.

Overall we had a lovely stay and were so impressed that we have already booked to return later this month.

So if your looking for a 'Home away from home' in a clean and friendly B&B that's a stone throw from the beach, then the Southern Breeze is for you.

Faz & Caitlin

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fazsadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We enjoyed having you both stay and so glad you liked Southern Breeze Lodge. We have only just opened again for this season and we are delighted by the reaction we are getting from our guests.
We are so pleased you have booked again and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Me and my friend stayed here last year in April (sorry the review is late).
We came for a little break to get away from everything, it was the best stay ever!

We were greeted by the owners who were very nice and very chatty, they told us all the places which we could go to to get the most out of our stay. They took us to our room which was lovely! lovely setup with a beachy feel.

We had a brilliant stay, room was spotless, facilities were great (especially the big pot of biscuits :)) and had a great sleep both nights with no noise.

A Town center was near by, just a short walk and in the opposite direction was the beach!

We have booked our next stay which is in March, cannot wait! I hope it is as good as the last :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It makes our day when guests take the time to write a review to tell us what a great time they have had. We are so pleased you have booked again this March and look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We feel the need to let you all know what an absolutely first class B & B Southern Breeze Lodge is. We only stayed one night but when we arrived we had a friendly welcome from Mal and Fran and were taken to our room which I can only describe as wonderful. The room was clean,neat and the décor fantastic.We had a comfy nights sleep and to wake to go down to a full English breakfast what bliss.So would we go again you bet already planning it

Room Tip: Room No 5 the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busababe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. As our first weekend of our third season we are thrilled with the response we have had from our guests and has given us a real boost . We have worked hard trying to improve Southern Breeze Lodge each year and listening to feedback so its great to hear we are getting it right. We really enjoyed having you stay and hopefully see you again soon.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Southern Breeze Lodge last Friday after attending a funeral in Bournemouth. It lightened our mood after a very emotional and long day. We don't think we have ever been in any guesthouse so immaculately clean. We were welcomed by Mal and Fran on our arrival an immediately offered tea and brownies brought to our room. We passed a very comfortable night and started the next day with an outstanding cooked breakfast. We were also impressed by the enormous variety of cereals, fruit and jam and preserves on offer. It was a delight to stay somewhere where nothing was too much trouble to provide, and at an extremely good price for the quality of service! We will certainly visit the Souther Breeze again.

Roger and Grace/Cornwall

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frog353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Roger and Grace
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in what was a sad occasion and hopefully see you again in happier circumstances.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 132 in Bournemouth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
#1 of 132 in Bournemouth
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander Lodge
Alexander Lodge
#22 of 132 in Bournemouth
129 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#6 of 132 in Bournemouth
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Breeze Lodge

Address: 20 Southern Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £79 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Breeze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Breeze Lodge.Under new ownership from August 2016 )Southern Breeze Lodge is a lovely 100-year-old character building just two hundred yards from the beautiful cliff tops over-looking Bournemouth's seven miles of glorious sandy beaches with beautiful views from Poole to Hengistbury Head and the Isle of Wight. There is a zigzag path or a lift, just three minutes walk from the Guest House, which takes you straight down to the promenade. The Guest House is also situated close to Southbourne's many shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants.The Guest House is in a great location to explore the south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Southern Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing