We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Southbourne for Motown concert at BIC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Breeze Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Breeze Lodge
Ranked #6 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend in Southbourne for Motown concert at BIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I am a returnee to the Southern Breeze and now wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in the Southbourne or Bournemouth area. I cannot fault the standard of the rooms, Fran's marvellous breakfasts and the friendly welcome from both Fran and Malcolm. I also bought one of Malc's candle holders made from driftwood from the local beach which is a great momento with all donations going to the local MacMillan Hospice.

If you haven't stayed here before you don't know what you are missing but book early as I tell all my friends and work colleagues about the Southern Breeze. I am definitely going back again soon when I hope the weather will have improved - that's the only thing that Fran and Mal cannot help with!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Angela
Thank you so much for a lovely review and it was so nice to see you both again. We were delighted seeing so many of our guests down for the Motown concert at the BIC and even more delighted it was well worth coming down for. We are really pleased you like you piece of driftwood art and thank you for your support. Check out the 02 Academy which is about a mile from us and has some great gigs new and old. We have ordered good weather for the whole Summer.
Thanks again and hopefully see you again later on in the year.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
233
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

What a lovely comfortable, welcoming,fantastic and nothing too much trouble weekend away we had. Owners Mel & Fran made us all most welcome, treating us all like family friends. I had booked this 2 night break away after much time searching for a decent B&B for reasonable price and when booking for friends as well as ourselves needed to ensure we weren't disappointed. I can not recommend this enough, ideally situated right by beach,local shops,and places to eat. Will definitely be returning and recommending to family and friends. FANTASTIC in a word . How it should be done. well done to MEL & FRAN.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JACQUIE Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Jacquie and Steve
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. This was one of those weekends that we enjoyed the weekend as much as the guests did with a great crowd in. As we said, it was the first weekend that everyone who booked went to the same gig so even gave us a bit of chill out time when everyone was out. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and really enjoyed having you stay.
It was great to meet you both and your friends and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

One of the best B&B’s we have stayed in. The owners, Mal and Fran were great – really friendly and helpful and you can see they really take pride in what they do at Southern Breeze Lodge (and rightly so!). The whole place is decorated beautifully with lots of little extra touches that really make the difference. Everything was spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed and an amazing breakfast! A very short walk to the end of the road took you to Southbourne beach and a great local pub where we had a very good meal.
I would not hesitate to recommend it and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellytyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Kelly
It is so nice to wake up and find wonderful reviews like this have been posted. We have worked so hard to turned our place around over the last couple of years so it is great to hear our guests are loving what we have done. It it so nice when guest take the time and trouble to write such lovely reviews and it is very much apprieciated by the both of us.
Glad you enjoyed our part of the south coast and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Southern Breeze Lodge for 2 nights and were blown away by Mal and Fran's welcoming and friendly approach, the standard of decor and cleanliness in the rooms, and the proximity to the beautiful southern beach. Southern breeze is also a stones throw from the local high street and a short taxi ride from Bournemouth town centre. We stayed in room six which was beautifully decorated and the full English every morning set up up for the day. We will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Liz
Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay and even better picked the hottest weekend in March. When the weather is great there is nowhere we would sooner be so its great to share this with our guests.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived nothing was to much trouble, from serving up fresh coffee and doughnuts to giving directions to the best places to visit.
The rooms were very comfy and cosy.
Beautifully decorated and full of character even down to the jelly fish!!!! ;-)
Malcolm and his wife couldn't do enough for us.
Breakfast was delicious.
I could go on but you must see it for yourself.
An absolute gem.
Thank you.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are always pleased when our guests take the time and trouble to write a review and tell us they have enjoyed their stay.
Hope to see you again
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Southern Breeze Lodge was an absolute delight :-)
We arrived about 3 hours before check-in but the room was ready and we were invited to check-in. We received a very warm welcome and we dropped our luggage off and went off to enjoy the beach (Bournemouth pier is about 3 miles away from the B&B, so be warned :-) After our long walk, it was so lovely getting back to our room where we had a couple of delicious muffins waiting for us. The entire place including our room were spotlessly clean and I particularly enjoyed the very cute sea-side ornaments that were used to decorate the entire place. 
Our bathroom was lovely and came furnished with a well-kitted toilet bag (I've been to hotels where you'd be hard pressed to get a decent shower cap!) We even had cotton buds & cotton wool (that's a first :-) 
On the whole, it was an intimate B&B experience with Five-star Quality. 
Well done to you both, Mal & Fran. We hope to see you both again in the not-too-distant future

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased you liked our B and B and enjoyed your stay. It is so nice when guests like what we do and how we do it. Reviews like this help keep us on the right track.
Hope to see you again
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Well, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were there the last weekend. I can say it was the best accommodation (including Hotel, apartments and B&B) I have had in England, It is a lovely place, clean, tidy, excellent localization...And what we can say about Malcolm and Fran...Only Thanks for your attention and your kindness with us...And obviously thanks for this marvelous breakfast....We never forgot this weekend!!!

Víctor&Cristina

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review and we are so pleased you both had a lovely time when staying with us. We are so pleased you are loving England and you must come back to Southbourne as there is plenty more to see along the south coast.
Hope to see you again in the future
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge Guest House
Beach Lodge Guest House
#2 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Breeze Lodge

Property: Southern Breeze Lodge
Address: 20 Southern Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Breeze Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Breeze Lodge.Under new ownership from August 2016 )Southern Breeze Lodge is a lovely 100-year-old character building just two hundred yards from the beautiful cliff tops over-looking Bournemouth's seven miles of glorious sandy beaches with beautiful views from Poole to Hengistbury Head and the Isle of Wight. There is a zigzag path or a lift, just three minutes walk from the Guest House, which takes you straight down to the promenade. The Guest House is also situated close to Southbourne's many shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants.The Guest House is in a great location to explore the south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southern Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing