We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A little jewel in Bournemouth"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Breeze Lodge
Ranked #7 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A little jewel in Bournemouth"”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just had 4 nights at this lovely B&B, would recommend to anyone. Mal and Fran really make your stay in Bournemouth a bonus. The room we had was perfect, the breakfast menu is excellent. It was my birthday when I was there but did not tell anyone, we went out all day and when we returned Mal said you kept that quite about your birthday. We went to our room and on the bed were balloons a card and two cakes, one with a candle in, they saw my birthday cards when they cleaned our room, it was a lovely thought. Thanks Mal and Fran we shall return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us and what a lovely review from great guests. We work hard to ensure our guests have a great time and it is always nice to do something a bit different when we can to make a stay feel a little more special.
Reviews like this mean so much to us and really appreciate it when guests take the time to write one as nice as this.
It was so nice to meet you both and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
238
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I'm not sure a can offer a lot more than most of the other reviews on here. We were made to feel very welcome by Mal and Fran. They really went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and that you have everything you need. We stayed in room 5, which was a great size with a good sized en-suite. Really clean and well looked after. The breakfast was amazing. So many 'accessories' for your breakfast it was something to look forward to every morning! I would happily recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loz-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We are so privileged having so many great guests coming to stay at Southern Breeze Lodge. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and Fran always likes to hear that our guests enjoy breakfast. Thank you so much for such a lovely review and hope we see you both again in the future.

Best wishes

Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Mal and Fran welcomed us on arrival. Room 5 spotlessly clean with large en-suite shower room.Large range of choice for breakfast,probably the most comprehensive we have ever seen in a B&B. The traditional cooked breakfast was very tasty and cooked to perfection by Fran.Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. We sat outside in the courtyard garden, which was a real sun trap to enjoy a drink.The flowers were out in full bloom in the hanging baskets, making it a very pretty area to relax.We will certainly visit again, next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Room 5 very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us. Its lovely seeing so many guests using the little courtyard garden for breakfast, drinks and chilling out. Thanks for the lovely comments about breakfast. Fran's aim is that no one ever leaves Southern Breeze Lodge hungry and I am sure you will agree you don't.We really enjoyed having you both stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked for 4 nights at this B&B and on arrival were made to feel very welcome by Mal and Fran with Mal taking our suitcases to the room and being offered a cup of tea and muffins. We knew from this point we were in for a good stay.

The room was comfy, clean and very quiet and breakfasts were fantastic with a very wide choice.

With the B&B being just a few minutes walk from the beach and cliffs, this was perfect for us being a young couple and enjoying the beach. We would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMiss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so pleased you like our B and B and how we do things. We loved having you both stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

As a young couple, my boyfriend and i were looking for a nice play to lay our heads whilst we were in Bournemouth for the weekend. We were confident that we had picked the right place after reading the reviews on here and we weren't disappointed.

We were in room 6 (the penthouse :-)) and it was a lovely clean large space. Malc and Fran couldn't have done anything more for us.

It was my birthday on the Saturday and after seeing cards in my room we came home from our day out to find balloons, cakes and a card! I lovely gesture that made my boyfriend look bad as he didn't even go to that effort! :-)

We couldn't quite make breakfast on our first morning, due to a night out, but we had a really lovely one on the Monday morning.

The area was lovely and quite in a nice suburban road. Boscombe pier was about a 20 minute walk along the coast the Bournemouth pier about another 20 minutes on from there. With the lovely weather we didn't mind the walk at all. On our last day we actually just went to the beach at the bottom of the road and it was lovely and quiet.

All in all a truly perfect weekend. Would definitely visit again and recommend to friends!

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GemmaMarlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to make it feel a little more special to celebrate your birthday.
Having great guests staying makes are job seem so easy
Hope we will see you again
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Mal and Fran were exceptional hosts and made you feel very welcome. The breakfasts were first class as was the bedroom, it was our first visit but could recommend anyone to go. We were last in Southbourne 15 years ago but the New Forest still hold its beauty for a visit as did Christchurch and Swanage. Hope to visit again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Norma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay and loved our place especially as you booked on a recommendation. We really enjoyed you both staying with us and would be great to see you and the family again in the future. Massive thank you for leaving such a lovely review.
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you have never stayed at Southern Breeze then I highly recommend you do if you are thinking of going to Bournemouth, located in Southbourne just five minutes from the beach and either a lovely stroll into Bournemouth or a short bus ride, plenty to do in the evenings nice pubs and restaurants away from all the Hen and Stags that take over Bournemouth at night. Mal and Fran are really lovely people and nothing is to much trouble and Fran is a fantastic cook, a bit to good I must of put on a least 5lb in just two days. Southern Breeze has a lovely beach theme and is spotlessly clean I recommend room 6 with it's own lounge area. There is so much I could write about this lovely place and the great couple that own it but go a long and find out for yourself you won't be disappointed. Hope we get down to see you both soon and I have started the diet ready for our next visit Nicki and Dave x

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but we love room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287MKnight287, Owner at Southern Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for another terrific review. It means a lot to the both of us when our guests take the time and trouble to write and post one on tripadvisor which really helps the business. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay again and we loved having you here. It is always nice to hear that our guests love our breakfasts and if you have put weight on after 2 days this shows why I need to lose some weight after 30 years of Fran's cooking.
Hope we see you both again in the future
Best wishes
Mal and Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 132 in Bournemouth
464 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 132 in Bournemouth
727 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#6 of 132 in Bournemouth
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Breeze Lodge

Property: Southern Breeze Lodge
Address: 20 Southern Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Breeze Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Breeze Lodge.Under new ownership from August 2016 )Southern Breeze Lodge is a lovely 100-year-old character building just two hundred yards from the beautiful cliff tops over-looking Bournemouth's seven miles of glorious sandy beaches with beautiful views from Poole to Hengistbury Head and the Isle of Wight. There is a zigzag path or a lift, just three minutes walk from the Guest House, which takes you straight down to the promenade. The Guest House is also situated close to Southbourne's many shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants.The Guest House is in a great location to explore the south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing