We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”
Review of Blue Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Palms
Ranked #19 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rye, East Sussex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights at this very welcoming B & B. Rooms were lovely and clean, a little on the small side, but everything you needed. Breakfasts were wonderful, food cooked beautifully and served with a smile. We were made to feel very welcome and it felt very much like a home from home. Ideally situated for shops and plenty of restaurants to choose from within walking distance. Would highly recommend and would love to stay again. Thankyou Paul and Avril.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank colleenc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    23
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
176
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

My 13 year old daughter and I stayed for two nights. The room was a little old fashioned but very clean, relaxing, good size and homely. The bathroom excellent. Paul and Avril could not of been more welcoming. I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Good value for money with a very personal touch.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianednh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My 13 year old daughter and I stayed for two nights. The room was a little old fashioned but very clean, relaxing, good size and homely. The bathroom excellent. Paul and Avril could not of been more welcoming. I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Good value for money with a very personal touch.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianednh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Me and my boyfriend came to blue palms for a weekend break away in Bournemouth.
We were met by Paul who helped us park. Then inside we met Avril with a warm welcome. We were shown to room 4 which was a superior double, with all the facilities you would expect from a B&B. It was a lovely room. Very large with an also very large bathroom with a power shower!!
Breakfast was wonderful with selections of everything. Cereals, juices and a delicious cooked breakfast by Avril. With tea and toast. Yummy!! All served by Paul.
This B&B is situated lovely to the town centre as is only a short stroll away. Also a selection of pubs and bars too.
Paul & Avril done all they could to make our stay perfect. Nothing was too much for them and was really appreciated. They knew the area well and advised us where to go etc despite the horrid weather.
Highly recommend this B&B if you are staying in Bournemouth. Hope to stay here again :) xxx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emnemz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Visited this little B&B midweek with my husband for a child free break.
We were met by the proprietors Paul & Avril on our arrival with a warm welcome. We were shown to room 4 which was a superior double, with all the facilities you would expect from a B&B. it was large and airy with a large bay window, from which you could just make out the sea on a clear day.

The bed had a good firm mattress with plenty of pillows & additional blankets if needed. I was amazed to find a wardrobe filled with clothes hangers, a very rare find in any type of accommodation these days! Hair dryer was provided in room if needed, along with kettle etc. would have liked a bottle of water on tray as well though. Having said that you could get most drinks brought up to your room if you wanted them, including alcohol. Again a rare find in a B&B.

The shower room had a nice power shower & unexpected free toiletries. Rather than being a cramped little room as in some B&Bs we've stayed at it too was large & well set out. The whole place was spotless, there was not one speck of dust anywhere to be seen. All bed linen & towels were of good quality & no faults to be found.

Breakfast is served between 8.30 & 9.30 in the dining room. There is a selection of the usual cereals, juices, yogurts along with full cooked breakfast, all cooked wonderfully by Avril & served by the effervescent Paul. Plenty of tea,coffee & toast on tap if required.

There is a small car park at the back of the house which I should imagine would be a bit tricky to park a 4x4 in, however I have no doubts Paul will have mastered the art of doing so.

The main shopping centre is a 3 min walk away down quite a steep road, but this caused us no problems other than well worked out leg muscles at the end of the stay. A further 10 min stroll takes you to the beach.

Having lived there for some time Paul & Avril are very knowledgeable about the surrounding area, places to eat etc & more than happy to help with any questions.

My husband & I would definitely stay here again as it was perfect for what we wanted.

If your a dog lover then a meet & greet with the resident dog Freckles is a must, she is the most adorable Heinz 57 you can imagine. But a word of warning, don't try the tug of war with her. You will lose!!!

Thanks Paul & Avril for making our first child free break in years a great one. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCPLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Once again this year we had our normal stay at our Favourite little hide away the owners Paul and Avril are one of the best Couple you could meet both as your Hoist and as a good laugh which makes all that stay feel welcome. In our last stay we made had seen yet more inprovemnts and thats to say how do they inprove such a great place. See you next year Cant wait for my great cooked Breakfast and a great welcome

Room Tip: space all rooms are of great value but try the large quality rooms if you what a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsea, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

After 2 months of travel this is the best B and B it ticks all the boxes walking distance to beach shops restaurant etc rooms have all you need breakfast is great parking is free and the owners are wonderful so full of information nothing is to much trouble

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
838 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
865 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palms

Property: Blue Palms
Address: 26 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Palms is in an excellent Guest House in a central location in the heart of Bournemouth. With free car parking, a garden & patio and being only a short stroll from the beach, shops, entertainment and Conference Centre, it is ideal for all visitors. All 7 superbly furnished en suite rooms have free wireless broadband access and Flatscreen TVs. Sumptuous breakfasts & friendly personal service will help make your stay comfortable & memorable. The Blue Palms is licensed so you can enjoy a relaxing drink in the garden, lounge or privacy of your own room. Non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Blue Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing