We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a place.”
Review of Blue Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Palms
Ranked #38 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I found Blue Palms on the internet and it was a gem of a find.
A warm welcome by the owners, Paul and Avril.
They were friendly, chatty and attentive throughout our stay.
The hotel is tastefully decorated and is spotlessly clean throughout.
Paul has an amazing collection of pictures which are on display throughout the hotel.
Our room was spacious, very comfortable and again spotless.
The breakfast was great with a good choice and served with a smile.
Any complaints? Absolutely none.
Could anything be improved? No, nothing needs to be improved, they have a winning formula.
Would we stay here again? Yes, and I would be disappointed if Blue palms were fully booked when we visit the area again.
Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dburns307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril H, Owner at Blue Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you so much! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We too hope we aren't full when you want to come back to Bournemouth again as we would love to be able to welcome you back to the Blue Palms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for four nights, they were excellent hosts and advised us which places to go and eat, and did a good job at that.

The breakfast was great, the bed was comfortable what else can you ask for?

I would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril H, Owner at Blue Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thanks Angus. We really enjoyed meeting you both and we enjoyed our chats about food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Having arrived in the middle of a thunder storm we received a really warm welcome from Paul and Avril. Our room was extremely comfortable and although it overlooked the service road it wasn't at all noisey. Everywhere felt and smelt clean and fresh. Nothing was too much trouble and the lovely breakfasts got us off to a good start to the day. Blue Palms is approx. 5 min walk from the park and shops and only a little further to the beach. If returning to Bournemouth we would definitely try to stay at Blue Palms again. Saying goodbye to Paul and Avril and the end of our stay really was like saying goodbye to 'old friends' Thankyou for a comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril H, Owner at Blue Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

You are very welcome! We are gald that you weren't disappointed and we look forward to welcoming you here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in the Blue Palms for two nights (end of April). Luckily there was only one other guest with a car, as parking is very limited. The room was very clean and a good size, unlike the toilet and shower room which were very cramped. Breakfast was well worth getting up for.
The owners are very welcoming and the hotel is in a quiet area but I think the lack of parking would be a problem in high season.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril H, Owner at Blue Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

I really hope you will come back again during peak season so you will see that our Car Parking spaces are quite adequate to accommodate cars for our 7 Guest rooms! Understandably you never had a chance to see this during your brief stay last month. Paul of course is always happy to park cars for guests should they request it. We are so glad we are able to offer free parking in our Town Centre location - especially since so many public ones keep disappearing.
Thank you for your comments regarding your bedroom This is a converted 150 year old Victorian Villa and naturally the owners who carried out the original conversion many years ago had to make decisions regarding the best use of space - often dictated in part by the logistics of the building. You had the room with our smallest en suite. We did consider enlarging it when we moved in 12 years ago but this would have resulted in a smaller, impractically shaped bedroom. After 22 years in the business we have found that in our experience, the size of the bedroom and seating area is more important to our guests.
Great to hear you enjoyed our breakfasts. It is so important to get the first meal of the day right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here over the Easter weeknd. Paul and Avril are so freindly and welcoming. Drove down early in the morning and arrive at 09:30 to find our room was already for us.

Stayed in room 4 ( The Laurel & Hardy room) which had a greta view of the Bournemouth Balloon. The place is spotless and very well maintained. Breakfast was great and very well cooked. Try the toasted bacon sandwiches, delicious.

Location is great in easy walkind distance of all the park, pier, and a great real ale pub ( Goat & Tricycle )

My father lives in the Bournemouth area and we go down 3 or 4 times a year and have done for the last 20 years. This is without doubt the best B & B we have stayed in in Bournemouth.

One last thing, make sure you ask to meet Freckles the dog. She loves meeting people.

We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Wouid reccomend room 4, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatfield_Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just back from Easter weekend visit, last here in 2009, it was as great as we remembered it, Paul and Avril remembered us and greeted us like friends, their hospitality is second to none.
The hotel is great, rooms are warm and spotlessly clean with really comfy beds, we slept like logs, helped by the sea air.
Breakfasts are really good with lots of choice, Paul has a great sense of humour, I shall always chuckle now when I see a poached egg!
Bournemouth has lots to offer, the gardens are lovely in the sunshine, with very tame squirrels, miles of beach with lots of cafés along it, Bournemouth Pier with the Aruba bar and restaurant above and lots of shops and some fab restaurants, we shall be back, but won,t leave it so long next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winniethepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Such a lovely, helpful couple running this B&B! Made us feel really welcome, acquainted us with the area, and cooked an amazing breakfast! They even waited up after midnight to look after us when we were incredibly delayed arriving, and instantly cheered us up from our ordeal!
Room was incredibly comfortable, clean, and attractively furnished.
B&B was in easy walking distance to the town centre, without being too busy. Also just a short walk through the beautiful gardens to get to the beach and pier.
A wonderful stay, and when we come back, we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvandPaul, Owner at Blue Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments Ryan. Waiting up for you both was no trouble at all. The weather had been dreadful and I think you were lucky you got to Bournemouth at all on that wet & windy night! Glad we helped you to love our town and we look forward to seeing you both again very soon (maybe for some summer sun?!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
664 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hedley Townhouse
The Hedley Townhouse
#36 of 132 in Bournemouth
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palms

Address: 26 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £57 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Palms is in an excellent Guest House in a central location in the heart of Bournemouth. With free car parking, a garden & patio and being only a short stroll from the beach, shops, entertainment and Conference Centre, it is ideal for all visitors. All 7 superbly furnished en suite rooms have free wireless broadband access and Flatscreen TVs. Sumptuous breakfasts & friendly personal service will help make your stay comfortable & memorable. The Blue Palms is licensed so you can enjoy a relaxing drink in the garden, lounge or privacy of your own room. Non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing