We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special evening for friends 40th birthday”

Cuccini's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #427 of 754 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: US$13 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Cuccinis has been established for over 24 years in Bournemouth and is one of the most popular Italian Restaurants and Live Jazz Bars in Bournemouth town. The decor is warm and inviting with special attention to lighting. We pride ourselves on quality food and service and we also have live music nights which are always popular with locals and visitors to Bournemouth. It's definitely worth calling or emailing us to check the Live Music schedule whenever arranging your booking. The restaurant is ideal for a romantic night, a birthday bash or any special occasion. We also have a conservatory area which is ideal for those corporate functions and have also had many wedding receptions here. We've been told by so many customers that we are more intimate than a hotel venue and has proved to be a real success during wedding events. Whatever night you are planning Cuccinis can accommodate you for many different occasions.
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very special evening for friends 40th birthday”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a fantastic meal and was well looked after. Would highly recommend this restaurant. Food was delicious and we really enjoyed the live music.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank louroo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio K, Public Relations Manager at Cuccini's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Customer
Thank you for the feedback about your visit to our Restaurant & Bar. We are happy to hear that you have had a great and memorable time with us during your friends 40th birthday party. Cuccinis always aims to go that extra mile for it's new and regular customers. We welcome large parties such as yours, and we offer a number of different menu options to suite every budget. We value your feedback, so from all the team who made your night a successful event, we wish you the very best and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for letting others know about your experience here at Cuccinis Restaurant & Bar.
Claudio K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    57
    37
    25
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good and bad....”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went on recommendation to Cuccinis, we have just got married and wanted to go to a nice italian to celebrate as our first meal together was an italian, anyway on entering we were greeted by the manager who seemed friendly and straight away got our drinks, we then met some friends who were already dining there and got chatting, the waitresses kept coming over every 5mins asking if we were going to order as they were getting busy, we were in no rush as we were enjoying a glass of wine and chatting with our friends, eventually we ordered a starter to stop being hassled, we both ordered scallops which I must say were fantastic, we then ordered our main course which was the fillet steak, I asked the waitress if the mains came with any sides but she didnt understand me as she spoke little english and was going to add extra sides when the manager intervened and informed us that yes the mains in fact did come with sides so no need to order extra, when the steaks turned up they were chewy and did not seem like a fillet cut, so we sent them back and they were re-done, the manager brought them over and asked us if they were better, we cut them open and they were cooked to perfection it seemed so we told him that was better, as we went to eat them they were the same as the ones before, very chewy and not like fillet at all, so we just left them, one of the waitresses cleared the table and asked if they were ok , i said no they were awful, and she went away, I expected her to send the manager over but we just ended up with the bill with the steaks on there, we asked to see the manager as I didnt see if fair we pay full price for them, when he came over he wasnt the friendly charming amn who seated us, instaed he proceeded to have a hissy fit and basically saying that we were in the wrong! saying he had changed them and we should of said something the 2nd time round, but my point was that is if you have poor quality meat it dosent matter how well its cooked its still not going to be any better and I was not going to pay for something that resembled 'Hungry Horse' quality, after a a bit of a debate he agreed to charge us for one steak only, but also made a comment of ' why are we complaining when we have had a good night'!!! anyway on the way out his brother came over and apoligised for the steaks and said they were not the best quality and maybe he had got a bad batch from the supplier which was fair enough and offered us a free bottle of wine for next time we dine there, so all in all yes its a nice restaurant the service is attentive, the waitresses speak little english, the manager is nice until you complain, the toilets have a bad damp problem and stink, but that can be rectified , the steaks are crap but the scallops are gorgeous, and our friends had pasta which they said was good.
the atmosphere was nice with the live music and we did have a fairly good night, just wish I had ordered the seabass!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mellieparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio K, Public Relations Manager at Cuccini's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Customer -

Thank you for choosing to have dinner with Cuccinis Restaurant & Bar as recommended by your friends. Following your very in depth review, our management team have taken it upon themselves to introduce a meat quality monitoring system whereby our supplier must adhere to a 10 point inspection plan upon delivery. Our supplier of Fillet Steaks is one of Dorset's most successful wholesalers of meat and poultry and we have also been awarded the highest Rating 5 by the Food Safety & Hygiene Standards Team. I have passed your feedback on to our supplier and they have assured me that their Steaks are matured and professionally cut. As you know we did try to rectify the situation to your preferences and as with some things it would have been pointless to bring out a third steak for you to try if you thought the meat was not soft enough. I assure you our meat is 100% matured and cooked to perfection as many of our previous reviews do highlight. As in the end your evening was good overall, we do hope that you will try us again and pop back to try many of our other exciting dishes and of course our T-Bone Steak or perhaps the Cuccinis Sirloin or Rib-eye Steak. Perhaps we will see you on a Monday or Tuesday Night when we run our Steak Dinner for 2, starting at £22 per couple - Choose from Rump or Rib-eye Steak, which has proven to be very popular with our regular customers. Thanks again for your feedback and for helping to improve our Quality Standards here at Cuccinis Restaurant & Bar
Claudio K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, Somerset
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely FANTASTIC!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stumbled upon this place looking for somewhere it was first place we found and it was such a good choice. We walked in no reservation but were seated immediately the waitress was very attentive and lovely drinks orders taken within minutes great! Food ordered and a slight wait but they were very busy and it was soo worth the wait absolutely stunning food well presented gorgeous smells and tasted fantastic.After the meal we decided to stay and have a couple drinks, the 2 brothers that own the place were just lovely asking if there was music we liked did we want anything to be plyed and as midnight struck I was given a free piece of cake with some candles as it was my birthday. An absolutely brilliant night and the most amazing place to spend the start if my birthday celebrations. The couple of drinks turned into not moving from the place it was so welcoming it was hard to leave. Would definitely come back again and again and again!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio K, Public Relations Manager at Cuccini's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Customer -

We are pleased to hear that your evening at Cuccinis Restaurant & Bar was a success and you will be returning soon. We pride ourselves on being at the forefront of quality food and service here in Bournemouth, and it's always nice to hear when people realise this fact once dining with us. To have made your Birthday one to remember means so much to us, and we welcome you and your friends and family to return again some time soon. Thank you for your feedback.

Claudio K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We looked at this lovely restaurant on the lunch time as it was closed we looked at the menu and decided on what we would eat and where we would sit as you do,as it was my wife's birthday we decided to eat there that night so we took down the phone number to ring later on this we did at about six ,the phone answered all very nice and we asked if we could reserve a table for that evening at around eight o'clock in the window ok no problem all booked .
We where running a little late so ran them up to say so and no problem everything ok . when we arrived we saw the table we had booked was taken but talking to the manager he said it would be empty in a short while and would we like a drink while we waited ,ok we have time and we would look forward to a nice evening with a good meal and a few glasses of wine to celebrate my wife birthday.WRONG , after about forty five minutes we where shown to our table good ,we looked at the menu to choose our long awaited meal only to be told by the lovely waitress that they had no steaks only pasta etc we had really been looking forward to this meal and where disappointed to say the least we did not fancy anything else so decided to leave the manager was very apologetic and said that the drinks we had where on him all very good but it was way after nine by now and we still had not eaten, why did they not say that there meat order had not arrived and therefore no meat dishes that night when we arrived so simple and i would not be writing this review now all i can say is a little bit of forethought and we would have been happy.I dont know what the food is like but
the place looks really good .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio K, Public Relations Manager at Cuccini's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Customer -

Following your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor, may we extend our apologies that you did not manage to eat what you wanted on the evening of your visit. Furthermore our Head Chef has extended his apologies and welcomes you both to give us another chance, as we value your feedback and have reviewed our supply chain management system. Cuccinis was established nearly 20 years ago and since that time has transformed into Bournemouth's Premier Live Music and A la Carte Restaurant. You are completely right that it is not acceptable we didn't have sufficient stock that evening and should have informed you prior to sitting at the table. We now Guarantee to all of our new and regular customers every item on the menu will be available each and every evening going forward as we have implemented a new supply chain management system.
Claudio K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely restaurant and staff but the toilets were awful!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went here for a friend's birthday. The staff were very attentive and friendly and even accomodated some 'off menu' orders. I had pizza. The food took a while to come but the restaurant was busy. The pizza was nice, if a bit dry. Main issue though was the ladies toilets. Upstairs the decor is beautiful so a lot of time has obviously been given to the ambience of the place, but the toilets were a real contrast. Only one light was working out of three toilets. Unfortunately the one that was lit was blocked and highly unpleasant, and also didn't lock so my friends and I had to resort to using our torches on our phones in order to use the dark toilets! Real shame as otherwise a lovely place and would go again if the toilets were fixed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio K, Public Relations Manager at Cuccini's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for your feedback regarding the food, staff and toilets at our restaurant. Your review was passed onto our maintenance man who works on site most weekdays. Unfortunately during the time you visited us he was unable to carry out the necessary checks to ensure the door would lock correctly. This has now been done and all toilets are fully working and are dry, smell great :) and have lockable doors as well as well lit lighting throughout. On behalf of the owner and management - please accept our deepest apologies from us to you, even though we know you enjoyed the restaurant and food at the time of your visit..not having a toilet that locks properly can be a nuisance and also awkward. This will not happen again. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and also for letting us know so we can improve the experience for you when you return and also for our other visitors.
Claudio
Management Team
Cuccinis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuccini's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Cuccini's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing