We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blakes Restaurant

Blakes Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Blakes Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 736 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$45
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Overlooking the garden, this hugely popular double rosette restaurant offers one of the best dining experiences available for visitors to Bournemouth and local residents alike. Offering a wide range of modern cuisine, the menu is inspired by the best of British and French food. Blakes has held its double rosette since 2011 and is very proud to also have been awarded with TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence 2016",With an extensive wine list and an experienced team, led by Maitre d', Nicky Rutigliano, you will be pampered from the moment you arrive.On those balmy summer evenings, why not have a romantic dinner, al-fresco, in the candlelit garden - or during the winter months retire after dinner to the warmth of the open fire in the drawing room.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We ate in Blakes for breakfast and Dinner and I have to say the food is some of the best I've ever had.

Breakfast is the usual buffet style apart from the hot food which is served to you. I am coeliac (gluten free) and am always impressed that they offer hot and cold gluten free cereal. The staff are very friendly and are willing to help in any way they can.

Dinner is absolute bliss! The food is always hot and cannot be faulted for presentation or taste. Overall an outstanding hotel restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyW725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed the experience so much Chrissy and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    67
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Quiet restaurant in a lovely hotel, serving excellent food (with beautiful complimentary bread). The staff were respectful and polite, just the right side of friendly, and we felt very welcome. The food was sublime, particularly the double-baked cheese souffle starter. The bill was surprisingly reasonable for such quality food and service.Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your "Faultless" review Cliecost, I enjoyed reading it as much as you clearly enjoyed your evening!!

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Presentation 5*,Taste 4*,good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

All the dishes arrive looking picture perfect,starter of scallops was worthy of a 2 michelin star in looks but was overelmed by truffled mash,couldn't detect the truffle.We both opted for steak,advertised with triple cooked chips and bernaise sauce.Chips were fine but one of the reasons for this choice was the bernaise sauce as we love it.Well all I can say is I really don't understand why serve what they did when advertised as bernaise sauce a pot was put on the side of the plate of mayonaise with a sprinkling of a dried herb that ddn't taste of tarragon let alone any thing but Hellmans.Great shame and left me and my partner bemused and saying"Why?"
Steaks were good.
Pudding again a picture and absolutely delicious.
For me the more memorable bit of the meal was the wine.granted I payed just over £10 for 1 large glass of red but it was fabulous,I made my partner take a sip who usually wrinkles his nose up at red wine and he agreed that he could quite happily down a glass or 2 of it.It was a very classy wine and I liked they also didn't charge any more for drinking by the glass compared to the price of the bottle.Service as with the rest of the hotel is delightful.
As it was the first visit to Bournemouth and the only restaurant I visited not sure if its the best in the area but i would eat there again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Many thanks Barbara for your delightful review - the sauce has been the subject of a very lively debate ever since!! Thank you also for your superb review of the Connaught which you posted separately.

Best wishes and look forward to seeing you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
140 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Almost a hidden gem ! Unless you are staying at the hotel you don't really know about it.
However, we discovered it recently and have now had two superb meals there. Very comfortable, fine dining with impecable service. Good choice of meals including many vegetarian options. Not the easiest place to find as its tucked away on the Westcliff, but well rewarding once you do. Looks like a great place to stay too. Good professional reception.
All in all this place gives you the feel of a bygone age with a modern twist. Superb. A Good 4 star hotel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BoBBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks Bob and we hope to see a lot more of you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The food and service just get better and better. On a recent visit with my wife we were treated to a faboulos meal and the service front of house was impecable. The decor and the ambiance is 2nd to none in the Bournemouth area and the food is of the highest quality. I would recommend this restaurant to everybody and do so quite frequently. Looking forward to coming back again sometime in the near future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iron0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Our thanks Iron for yet another superb 5 star review - very much appreciated. Hope you like the newly designed drawing room, reception and bars!! If we can get some decent weather the garden is such a lovely place for dinner on a balmy, Summer's evening.

Best wishes and thanks again

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blakes Restaurant also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Blakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing