We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice cocktails and excellent service”
Review of Frankie & Benny's

Frankie & Benny's
Ranked #555 of 778 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: US$37 - US$37
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We had a mid afternoon early dinner so the restaurant was busy but not too busy as it can be at peak times. The pre 5pm meal deals are really good value and we all chose different styles of burgers, knowing that it's something this type of restaurant tend to do well and we were not disappointed, the food was above average for quality and quantity was just more than we could eat which is nice. We had cocktails which were lovely and the service was excellent, very friendly and attentive, we weren't left with dirty dishes and didn't have to wait long for our food, I have rated then 4/5 to leave room for improvement but really I was pleasantly surprised.

Thank Merlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Not much good to say I'm afraid except the staff were cheerful and attentive but that's where it ends! The restaurant smells - in my humble opinion it could do with a good clean and the food well ....... greasy, horrible, dough balls covered in black char from where they were cooked and £11+ for a mediocre burger and a handful of cold chips - sorry but the food was just too much (in more ways than one).

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CoopsandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRGManager, Guest Relations Manager at Frankie & Benny's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear CoopsandCo,
Thank you for leaving us a review and we're sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable meal at our Bournemouth restaurant. We have passed your comments regarding your disappointing food dishes on to the Area Manager responsible for the branch, who will personally review the operation with the chefs and the restaurant management team, to ensure the specific issues you have raised are fully addressed
We hope that you will visit us again, and that your faith in our restaurant can be restored.
Thanks
Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Dreadful, overwhelming greasy spoon type smell set the scene for a truly awful evening. The service was faultless, cheerful, helpful staff, unfortunately the food was appalling. Starter of Bruschetta was cold, bland, raw onion covered, the New York chicken was totally smothered in their barbecue sauce making it inedible, unable to taste anything other than the sauce and was also cold, fries tasted reheated and tough and again...cold! The rest of the parties meals were equally unpleasant and cold. Will not be returning, just wish the staff could be metamorphosised into every eatery, as they were amazing. Shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank DaisySorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRGManager, Guest Relations Manager at Frankie & Benny's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear FairylightsOT,
Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy your visit to our Bournemouth restaurant. We'd like to assure you that this doesn't sound like our normal standard of food, and we have passed your comments on to the Area Manager in charge of the branch to ensure the issues that you have raised and the reasons for the poor standards are fully addressed. We are pleased to hear that the staff were helpful and cheerful, and your kind words have been passed on to them.
We hope that you will visit us again, and that your faith in our restaurant can be restored.
Thanks
Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We took our 14 week old twins for our first meal out to this F&B - The staff were lovely and reasuring. The service was quick and the food was lovely. Every memeber of staff was friendly, polite and we felt relaxed. All our friends love this F&B and it definatly one of the best. Thank you and we shall see you again soon. S&J

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank suemwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Got to hand it to Frankie and Benny's and particularly the Castlepoint restaurant - the food is always excellent but it is the Customer Service which is outstanding - nothing is too much trouble - well done

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheRealWilkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankie & Benny's also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Frankie & Benny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing