We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel I've ever stayed at!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Liston Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Liston Hotel
Ranked #19 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I've ever stayed at!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I had the misfortune of staying at the Liston hotel at the weekend.

As part of a family wedding we had booked a few rooms at the hotel for the event. We knew we we're in for an 'interesting' night from the moment we stepped foot in the hotel where we we greeted by the most uncharismatic receptionist. Things only got worse from that point forward. I don't want to confuse fact with fiction so below are the key issues we had with the hotel.

Facts:

-all the rooms need updating as they are stuck in the 60s and 70s

- in all the rooms we had the mattresses were long past there use by dates, with 2 clear body grooves on either side of the bed

- in one of the rooms we had to move a full size mirror in order to switch on the bathroom light, in the same room there was no door handle on the bathroom door so it couldn't be shut properly

- In another room only 1 of the,lights worked, all the other light bulbs had gone

- In all the rooms only a tiny bar of soap was provided, even in travelodges and premieur Inns they provide wash kit

- All the walls were paper thin and you could here everything at all times


- We were awoken at 6.30am by the washing machines and tumble dryers on the 1st floor

- The food at the buffet was terrible, we were one of the 1st few up and everything was stone cold, even the fish, potato wedges, chicken.

- The bar only took cash, with a very limited drinks choice.

- We we tried to leave the room at 9.45 the corridor outside the room was full with cleaning equipment and stuff which we had to dodge round with suitcase. Not what you expect!

All in all its safe to say I would never ever stay or come here again, and would advise others to avoid this place to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodyReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGBournemouth, Owner at The Liston Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Firstly I would like to say we are a family business so these reviews good or bad affect us on a
very personal level. As a family we all enjoy catering for people and from personal pride try to give the very best service we possibly can.
Of the three rooms you booked two of these have really lovely brand new bathrooms with power showers, you did not mention this. One of these rooms has been totally
refurbished. In the other room the mirror only covers the light plate not the switch it could not
be fixed anywhere else because of the beams. There is a handle on the bathroom door but
inside it closes with the bolt.
We apologize if any of the light bulbs were not working if you had mentioned this they would have been replaced. A member of staff spends a great deal of time on this task.
The single room does need upgrading but we have planning permission to extend this room
and have a balcony. This room is the one where several wedding guests climbed out of the
window in order to access my grandchildren's paddling pool on our private roof garden and
disturbed other guests in the early hours of the morning! When you arrived you said one of your party would not be coming so I kindly suggested that you took this single room with a double
bed to save you money.
In the last three years we have bought 32 new beds including the many zip and link beds in most rooms (we only have 25 rooms) We have an ongoing refurbishment programme - we only have 5 more to do. No doubt we will then start all over again it really is an ongoing process. Nobody ever uses washing machines or tumble dryers at 6.30 in the morning the
staff do not start until well after 8.00 a.m. and have been told never to use the machines until 9.30 a.m.
Our buffet food is always very much appreciated and we are never complacent and always strive to please people. It was a hot and cold finger buffet all the hot food comes straight out of the oven and on to the table. Sometimes there is a delay from when we say the food is ready and people start eating.

We have quite a wide range of drinks for sale and yes it is a cash only bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    70
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
52
142
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Clean room, comfortable beds, friendly staff, fantastic food! Nothing else to say really. If I'm in the area again I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresajnics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westbromwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

from the time we booked in ,the service was of a very high standard,the family room we had was spotless,and kept that way all week by cleaning staff .
this room is highly recommended, as there was plenty of storage for all our needs.
all staff was very polite and friendly, the week we had was a warm and plesant stay
a big thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colinWestbromwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

On our summer vacation to England from California, we found a lovely hotel at the English seaside. Our whole experience was perfect, our room, the staff, the hospitality, the surroundings and the restaurant (food) conveniently located in the hotel. The owners are friendly and have great stories to tell. We felt very welcomed on arrival and throughout our stay. We highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay again. By the way, it is very clean as well...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliedunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed two nights,excellent room very spacious lovely bathroom.The owner very
friendly .lovely staff Jackie and Isaac we had a lovely stay ,will go back.
[ Malone London]

Room Tip: We had room 9 lovely and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at The Liston Hotel August Bank holiday weekend. The Staff are very hard working and Welcoming. The room was extreamly clean, and comfortable. The Food was 'Simply the best' Our compliments to the Chef and staff. We will definately be visiting this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had an excellent weekend stay at this hotel. It was very clean, comfortable and tidy and within easy walking distance of the promenade and town centre. The staff were very curtious and very welcoming. We would recommend this hotel to all our friends and will definitely be returning to stay there again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Havill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liston Hotel

Property: The Liston Hotel
Address: Boscombe Spa 5 Wollstonecraft Road, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing