We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Chocolate Lovers Everywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For Chocolate Lovers Everywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel was booked by my partner for my birthday, and it was a lovely birthday treat! He had paid extra for a bottle of Cava, which was the best Cava I've had! The room has lots of chocolate so I spent the afternoon eating chocolate and drinking Cava!

The rooms are nicely decorated and our room had a nice bed, a sofa, tv and it was all clean and tidy. The bathroom was lovely with a good shower and nice toiletries. The only down side was our i-pod dock didn't work.

Breakfast was great, we went for a full English even though chocolate pancakes were available! The dining area was comfortable and the staff were friendly.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate7603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    170
    64
    22
    9
See reviews for
39
401
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
thatcham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife booked this hotel for a half term break with the kids. I was a bit apprehensive as some hotels are not hugely welcoming when it comes to having young children around.

The day we arrived we checked in and entered the room we were staying in. We were pleasantly surprised as there was lots of homemade chocolate supplied in the room which the children found straight away. The beds were covered with rose petals so all in all it was a really nice start to the holiday. We then explored bouremouth a little and ended up coming back to the hotel quite early in the evening since the children were a little tired. We then asked if it was ok to have the children in the bar area so that we could order a drink and keep an eye on them at the same time. The owner served us and she was more than happy to accommodate and the children ended up playing cards whilst she mixed my wife a chocolate cocktail which was delicious! It’s not often we get away with 2 young children so it was a real treat for us. The hotel staff were very friendly and the hotels attention to chocolate was amazing!

Breakfast was delicious – we recommend the chocolate pancakes!:)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband booked this hotel as a suprise for my birthday this year. We stayed for one Saturday night in February. We were a little disappointed by the size of the rooms which, although clean, were very small. The room we stayed in was originally a large room which had obviously been partitioned off by stud walling - problem was you could hear EVERYTHING going on in the room next door. Opposite this hotel is the Lynden Court Hotel which caters for stag and hen do's - which does mean lots of noise as their patrons return to their hotel in the early hours a little worse for wear!! The rooms at the Chocolate Boutique Hotel are on the warm side and it means that if you want a window open you are woken frequently during the night by noise from outside - whenever we looked out there were always streams of people wandering past in the street - maybe it's just a short-cut for some on their way home! It's a shame because this spoils things for what would otherwise be a comfortable, relaxing place to stay. Maybe the owners should have a word with the hotel over the road!
The bathroom left much to be desired - although clean it was very small. You had to be very careful when you sat on the loo that you didn't bang your head on the handbasin. And when taking a shower the water did not drain away in the shower tray so we had to keep switching it off so it didn't overflow. When exiting the shower there was also very little room to dry yourself and the actual doors into the shower didn't open very far - a person of a slightly larger frame may have had some difficulty entering it.
Breakfast was lovely - served by a very helpful and cheerful gentleman and the breakfast room is bright and airy. The food was very good and the full english breakfast was just the right size allowing room for toast and tea too! And there was a good selection of other things to choose from.
Overall I would class this place as more of a B&B than a hotel - and an expensive one at that - but then you are paying for the "Boutique" name. We did enjoy our stay but the hotel over the road spoilt it. We didn't get the chance to speak to the staff about the noise or the shower problem before we left as although we rang the bell to hand in our keys, no-one appeared so we had to leave them on the side.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakota23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had one night at this fabulous hotel - if i ever have to stay anywhere else in Bournemouth I would cry. Fantastic breakfast and service and attention to detail second to none

Room Tip: we had the aztec room - hot showers and comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 432scarecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here the weekend before Valentine's day and booked the hotel's Valentine's package - which was pretty expensive (£300) given this is a small hotel and not the most luxurious place we have ever stayed - but all the extras and the chocolate workshop made it worthwhile. We had a fantastic time!

The hotel is walking distance from the town centre which is nice. The rooms aren't big - we booked the Montezuma suite, which I think is the biggest - we had a lovely double bed strewn with rose petals with a big chocolate heart in the middle, and two chocolate houses (with the hotel name) on the bedside tables. In our living room we had a sofa and TV and a chocolate fountain and bottle of cava - part of the Valentine's package but you can request (and pay for) these as extras any time. The bathroom was very small with only a shower not a bath.

The hotel bar is small but there are only 13 rooms in the hotel so that's fine. Apparently the bar is only opened when guests ask but when we went in, there were already two people in there. There is an automatic cocktail machine and they specialise in chocolate cocktails, but those have to be made by hand as the ingredients can't go in the automatic machine (a shame as I wanted to see it working!). Gerry, the owner, who was also behind the bar, chatted to us and gave us different chocolates to try while we had our drink.

One caveat I would say is that the walls in this hotel seem to be very thin! Our room was adjacent to the bar and we could hear everything the people in the bar were saying - which meant they could probably hear us!

Breakfast was a little disappointing - my boyfriend had the cooked breakfast which was nothing special. I had read that they also offered a chocolate themed breakfast so expected a selection of chocolate pastries, but actually the menu simply offered a choice between the cooked breakfast and a chocolate pancake. Which was nice but again nothing special.

Then we took part in a chocolate truffle making workshop - quite a few other people who were not staying at the hotel overnight came for it too, though the group didn't feel too big. Gerry was very interesting and entertaining when he demonstrated what he had to do and talked to us about the way the chocolate was made. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed making the truffles, getting quite messy and discovering the proper techniques e.g. how to temper chocolates, and we each got 4 bags of nicely wrapped truffles to take home.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel, Gerry made us feel welcome and the best bit is that there was free chocolate EVERYWHERE!!

Room Tip: The Montezuma suite is good - one of their biggest I think - but is adjacent to the bar so could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smileycat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Chocolate Boutique Hotel was a great place to stay. We only stayed one night in the Forastero but would have loved to stay longer and will definitely be back. The room was small but had everything you need and perfectly clean. We had the romantic package which was great. Breakfast was really great too. We ate dinner at Pinochios Italian which is really close by, which was a lovely restaurant as well which we'd recommend. If you're thinking of booking, do so, its fab!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Chocolate hotel for 3 nights just before Christamas.as a base for doing some walking on the Dorset coast and taking in the football match at Dean Court.
Firsly, agree with some other reviewers in taht it does feel more like a B&B - the owners were away on vacation and we were looked after very well by a young gentleman who helped us with lots of things such as restaraunt bookings etc
Having said that - rooms are nice, did not use the bar and cooked breakfast was very good all for a reasonable price with the plus side of having lots of choocy fior the mrs...!
We also thought the location was very good - great gastro pub 'Goat & Tricycle' 5 minutes away and also very close to soem good restaraunts - the new Thai one was fabulous.
Overall, nice place trying to do something different.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papasteve1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Boutique Hotel

Property: The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
Address: 5 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chocolate Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in Bournemouth's fashionable Soho quarter, the Chocolate Boutique Hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Here you'll find a warm, friendly welcome, cosy chocolate-themed rooms and chocolate galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chocolate Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing