We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here with friend and my 4 year old son. Stayed in the Trinitario. It had 2 single beds and a sofa bed. Technically you could have 3 friends staying here but you wouldn't want to do that! The room was fine for us but small once the bed was out! Also the twin beds are very narrow, my friend put the 2 together and I slept on the sofa bed with my son.

The tv has to be placed where it is on the wall and so you can only see it from the 2 beds and not the sofa. Fine for us.

The shower room is very small but adequate.

Our fan was broken but the owner came and helped and we had a good laugh with him. The owners and staff are just delightful really helpful and lovely.

Breakfast was excellent. Lots and lots on offer. Cooked, cereals, cakes, salmon and chocolate crepes.

Chocolate in the room each day.

Definitely not a hotel but a B & B but a really good one. Would definitely go back but not that room in Summer!

This place often has deals search widely on the Internet. I asked directly for a discount and they told me no for August but I found a discount on Expedia for this room only!! Very lucky! So do research.

Chocolate in the bar. We didn't use the bar but I did help myself to the truffles in there! They are really yummy!! Lots of chocolate buttons to eat on the way in and out of the place too!

Very clean and well decorated chocolate theme throughout. Not so much to be tacky and/or overpowering but just right.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Trinitario which is at the top and was very very very hot. You have to have the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheComplainingCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in September.Breakfast is good and freshly cooked.Staff are friendly.
This is a listed building--no lift! Luckily we were on the first floor but this B&B is no use for anyone with mobility problems. The breakfast room is in the basement.It is all stairs!
We booked at the last minute,the only room available was Cortes,a twin room.This really should have been a single room,it was extremely small as was the bathroom-difficult to sit on the loo!
The mattresses needed replacing,very uncomfortable,hard and sunk in the middle. I had to ask for a duvet to lie on which made it a bit more comfortable.Very little drawer and hanging space,don't take many clothes!
In all this is expensive for a B&B,it is certainly not a hotel. On the positive side,if you like chocolate,there is lots and free.The hotel is situated in a nice quiet area of Westcliff.We had beautiful weather so enjoyed our holiday in spite of all the discomfort!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room,hopefully a bit bigger than the one we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Good clean room, quite spacious ( stayed in Aztec), is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel, but still lovely. It is surrounded by a few other hotels, so was very noisy in the middle of the night, with passing people in the street, but not this hotels fault. I dont think would have paid the full rate ( we were there on a reduced rate), but enjoyed our stay. Being a Monday, their chocolate bar is only open on request, would have been great for it to have been open just for an hour or so, as a lot of the rooms were taken, i wanted to see the cocktail machine work,and felt i didnt want to disturb the staff to open only for me! Good location, within 10 minute walk from seaside, and few minutes walk from a great Italian restaurant they recommended to us. Also we had brought our own bottle of wine, so sat in the beautiful garden in the evening, was very relaxing. Breakfast good, although the coffee machine didnt make the cappuccino properly!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked a chocolate making class for a hen party this September. The area where we waited, the bar, was a lovely, clean environment with chocolate in dishes and a choice of 'choctails'.

The class itself was fantastic. The guy was really knowledgable and we had such a good time making the truffles. We got to take home 3 bags each which was really good value for money.

My only regret was not staying in the hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kailee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of July and had a wonderfull stay.
We stayed in the Maya room. The Maya room was lovely nice big window, bed very comfortable and plenty of space. Nice en-suite bathroom towels where lovely and soft.
Room had tv, seating area, tea and coffee making facillities and delicious chocolates.
We paid the £69 for the romantic package which included chocolate fountain with strawberries and marshmallows, cava, chocolate heart and 2 cocktails and it was well worth it everything was delicious. Would recommend to anyone staying at the hotel to pay the extra you will not be disappointed.
The choice of breakfasts was excellent. I had the chocolate pancakes which where lovely and my boyfriend had the vegetarian cooked breakfast.
Would deffinatly recommend a trip to the bar, I had 2 chocolate cocktails Roos Revenge and Chocolate Dreams and they where the best cocktails that I have ever had.
You can also buy chocolates downstairs by the entrance to the breakfast room, lots to choose from, I got quite a few for myself and some for family, wish now that I had bought more!!!!
Staff where very friendly and helpfull, couldn't do enough for you. Receptionist very good.
The location of the hotel is good very close to the centre of Bournmouth and shops. We had a lovely evening meal at Lolitas Spanish Tapas would deffinatly recommend.
Will deffinatly return

Room Tip: The Maya room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The staff were friendly, clean comfortable rooms all decorated to a high standard. Close to the town and beach. Would definitely stay here again. Chocolates in the rooms was a nice touch and there are also chocolate making classes available although we didn't do this. Nice choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

On arrival the staff were very friendly indeed and very accommodating! Everything was clean and tidy, and the room was gorgeous! Double bed with a sofa and telly. Bathroom lovely and the shower was really nice too, which really makes a difference! Big fluffy towels and bath robes. In the morning we had breakfast delivered to our room, an extra charge applies but worth it. There is a smashing bar too, somewhere nice to relax in of an evening. Over all I really really enjoyed my stay. We also paid the extra £30 or what ever it was to have the chocolate fountain which was well worth it.
My only critisizm would be, that you pay a lot of money to stay in the chocolate hotel, and other then a few chocolates in the room and all the decor being brown with chocolate pictures on the wall, I wouldnt have felt I had had a chocolate experience so to speak, if it hadnt have been for the chocolate fountain which pf course cost extra. I really think one should came as standard with the room, because you pay enough as it is, it would have made a big difference.
Would I go again? Yes it was a lovely place, but not for the price I paid.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edipaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Boutique Hotel

Address: 5 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £52 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chocolate Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in Bournemouth's fashionable Soho quarter, the Chocolate Boutique Hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Here you'll find a warm, friendly welcome, cosy chocolate-themed rooms and chocolate galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Chocolate Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing