We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #102 of 756 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant The home of Traditional Indian Cuisine in Westbourne Bournemouth's first and original Indian Restaurant, and winner of Patak's Restaurant of the Year. Join us for one of the best curries you'll ever taste. The Taj Mahal is a family friendly restaurant - the prefect place for the young ones to taste their first traditional Indian curry!
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fantastic menu choice and friendly service. A little bit of a wait between courses and to order which was surprising as they were not busy on the Sunday evening we visited but that is my only criticism. Have been many times before and will visit again. My local favourite

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    52
    27
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“They have got the second best Indian gravy / curry in Poole & Bournemouth”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was staying in Poole for a duration of around 35 days and liked there food so much that I have had almost all my meals (Lunch & Dinner) at Taj Mahal only.

Overall ambiance & verity of food was good. If you are a Indian and are on your first trip to UK - while ordering your food must mention that you want your food to be medium spicy, Garlic to be very fined chopped and Your Bread to be well done cooked.

So that you do not get any surprise once your food is delivered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rahul_g6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I wondered why there were salt & pepper pots on the table but now I know it's to flavour the food yourself. Bad food, bad service. Will never go back. Would rather eat a microwave curry, it was that bad.....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank owzatpowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Sadly we were very disappointed by our recent visit. The tandoori meat was very chewy as was the lamb rogan josh. The latter dish was also overwhelmed by tomatoes. We tried to raise our concerns but were met with argument that the tandoori is meant to be dry (yes, we know, but since when does that mean tough and chewy? Tandoori can be very succulent though a dry dish and should fall of the bone - this did not at all.) we were also told that the rogan josh was meant to be full of tomatoes (it is meant to be a tomato based dish, but definitely not like this). We paid our bill and left disappointed, not to return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 17Lucy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great night at the taj ”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

exceptional service all requests met with a super friendly attitude all four of us enjoyed our meals no complaints will definitely return

Helpful?
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing