We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“..not the best...”

The Iford Bridge Tavern
Ranked #568 of 764 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: US$5 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Here at The Iford Bridge you'll find everything you'd expect from a good food pub in Bournemouth - but with plenty of added sizzle. From our famous mouthwatering skillets and tasty British classics to our unbeatable value for money and warm, family-friendly atmosphere, it's no wonder the people of Boscombe, Southbourne and Christchurch can't get enough of this Sizzling pub.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“..not the best...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Ate here whilst looking for something cheap and cheerful during a holiday. Well, at least it was cheap....
The pub was very busy and is obviously popular. The place is looking very tired and is not the cleanest - we had to wipe the tables over with napkins as we sat down. Housework doesn't seem to be a priority in the cutlery department either as you rifle through the "help yourself" tray after ordering at the bar. As for drinks, no bitter or Guiness available as there was " a problem with the cooler". I had lager and upon tasting it, was reminded why I don't drink lager....

Food was served promptly and portion sizes were OK but was rather uninspiring and tasteless. The bill for two of us, for one course and one drink each, was about £16, but this included a £5 discount voucher I'd printed off from Martin Lewis' money saving website. So, dearer than, say, Harvester and Toby Carvery - neither of which are quite so grim.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sim0n1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    62
    38
    34
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Never eaten in a Sizzler before and wasn't sure what to expect. The pub was on our walk back to Meadowbank Holiday park via the riverbank so called most evenings during our weeks holiday for a drink and ate on a couple of visits. Drink prices reasonable, nice mix of bar area and eating, great outdoor space. We chose the 7oz gammon from the 2 for £7 menu and it was lovely - so much so that we had it again the next night! Overall great value and a well run pub

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JandK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ok meal but the premises is In need of refurb!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This is a cheap sizzling resturant/pub, although I had noticed they had put the price up, a "gourmet burger" and pint was £7.50 which you cannot knock, also had a mighty mixed grill which was £10-50 with no drink.
The burger was a typical burger like many eaten in lots of restaurants, tasted nice and I couldn't eat it all it was served on paper with thick greasy chips.
The mixed grill was huge and come out on a serving style plate which is much better than the old sizzling skillet type plates that carried on cooking your food and burning your hand!
Over all the meal was pleasant, the restaurant however is in need of a dam good clean and paint, and perhaps the waitresses could use a dustpan and brush to clean up after particularly messy family's, that's only thing letting it down!
Good selection of drinks even do cocktails 2 for a £5.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bazabex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
920 reviews
524 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Not cheap or nice or as described in the menu”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This pub is situated just off the roundabout at Old Bridge Road on the run into Christchurch. It has a reasonable size car park and you can see from the road if there is a space.

There are lots of wooden picnic style tables outside and when we arrived these were mainly occupied by smokers. It was a fine warm evening and we did manage to find a table away from the smoke and then went in to order a sandwich and drinks. Inside you have to find a table and give the number when you order but for outside they allocate you a paddle with the number.

We checked the menu which is very extensive but a lot of fried food and decided on a sandwich which is described as a choice between granary bread or a wrap. We ordered a wrap with sweet chili chicken and a ham salad sandwich on granary only to be told that it would come with white bread which is not even on the menu so we accepted that and ordered two drinks. There was also a choice of side salad which was included or pay extra and get chips which we decided against. Total bill £13.60.

They do a meal deal but only within certain hours when the sandwich menu comes with a free drink, unfortunately after 5pm this does not apply.

The food came within a reasonable time but looked like a child had made the sandwich, it was on a hot plate which seemed crazy when salad is being served. The white sliced loaf bread had been cut in half, the two sandwiches piled on top of one another and someone had attempted to make it a club sandwich by shoving a stick through it and putting the bread on the grill but it wasn't brown just dry.

The ham salad filling was OK and the salad had some dressing on it but quite honestly it was rubbish for the money, very amateurish.

The wrap was passable.

Overall I didn't like the pub very much, it was busy, full of screaming children and people buying cheap drinks and food, a bit like Weatherspoons but even more down market.

Definitely won't be going back and would not recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templecombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cheap and tasty”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

staff friendly and helpful. good choice of meals on menu to suit all tastes at very reasonable prices. would definitely use again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poforex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Iford Bridge Tavern also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Iford Bridge Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing