We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Amazing”
Review of Spice of India

Spice of India
Ranked #300 of 744 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: US$0 - US$31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. Always get my takeaways from here and eat in the restaurant regularly.

Highly recommend it.. 10/10

Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisRowley79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    4
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delish”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Foods fantastic here, wasn't too keen on the mixed kebab starter but the organ josh was hot as a madras mmmm. Excellent value and great service followed by complimentary sambucas. Don't miss out xx

Helpful?
Thank phil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disgusting and an insult to real indian food.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I just ordered take away from this restaurant and it was disgusting and in edible . I have experience of good Indian food and the freshness and simplicity plus combination of spices is key.
I come from a city with a huge Asian community and the food is excellent.
This was an insult .
Worst I have ever eaten .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fernabranca20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Food in Bournemouth!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I have recently discovered The Spice of India - local to where we live. We cannot express how much we love curry and have been all over Bournemouth and Poole sampling what is on offer.

The Spice of India is beautifully decorated and has modern, clean facilities.

The service is impeccable and the food is beautifully presented and tastes excellent.

It is by far the best in Bournemouth.

We have yet to order a take-away but this will be sorted soon. Definitely highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torieorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is our favorite Indian restaurant and takeaway. The staff are always polite and helpful without being obtrusive. If you request something slightly different to the menu they always accommodate you. Although the restaurant is not that big the seating has been well thought out so you don't feel like you are sat with the neighboring diners, the decor is warm and inviting and it has a nice ambiance. My husband and I always have a starter each (prawn puri...perfect), then we share a main, rice and two side dishes and the staff never make us feel like we are being tight. We are not...its just that we can't eat one each after a starter as they are generous portions!! Other restaurants insist on one main per person, needless to say we don't eat at these places. In my opinion any negative reviews are a reflection of the customers attitude....if you are rude to the staff they have every right to respond appropriately.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonniemoordown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice of India also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Spice of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing