We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, warm welcome, pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Warm welcome, lovely friendly staff and a room with the best view on the south coast! What more could you want? Just enjoyed a break at the Riviera and loved its quirkiness, it's location is superb and the breakfast delicious and plentiful. Great value for money and thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: 17 or 18 have views to die for
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisCou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riviera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

The location was definitely number one! The hotel staff was very professional, friendly and extremely helpful with everything that we needed; such as getting us medication from drugstore and recommending the right place to go.

The fantastic breakfast served by wonderful and caring staff, I applaud the Management and staff of Hotel Riviera for their superior standard in hospitality.

Highly highly recommend this hotel. I will spread the word to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

VERY helpful and sympathetic staff. I had a problem with wi-fi and help was immediately there and solved the problem. Also, I forgot a pair of trousers there and they were mailed to me. I had to pay for it, but all was done by the hotel staff real quick and efficient.
I stayed for four nights with my partner. The room size and the bathroom was great and very clean. free wireless internet and free car parking. You cannot beat the location (the best view of Bournemouth bay). Breakfast was included and it was more than anyone could eat. I would definitely go back to that hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DREAM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Where do I start........The first thing I want to clarify is that I am a very honest person and my account of my stay is based on my personal experience. I have stayed in many Hotels and I am not usually a critic but how this hotel has had so many 'reasonable' reviews is unbelievable and I felt impelled to highlight some major shortfalls. One member of staff did tell me that the reviews are from members of the family trying to boost the ratings as well as repeat business from people in their twilight years who are used to a more 'nursing home' feel. I have chosen to categorise each point below in no particular order and IF you decide to stay here then you can decide if my 'account' had any truth in it.

PARKING - Basically, forget it. The access, the amount of spaces and general layout of the carpark is terrible. The owner of the hotel stands outside like a traffic warden dictating where to park in a vain attempt to control the last one in, first one out policy which was a joke to watch. Also, If you park in the wrong place then it means several cars would need to be moved to let you out and I had to move twice during my stay and it's just annoying and very poorly thought out..

Disabled Access - There is a stannah stair lift to the main entrance but with that, the steps are steep and treacherous for older people. There is a lift inside but is clearly old and I wouldn't trust it and didn't use it.

Rooms - I was shown 4 rooms and spoke with other residence during my stay. It is very easy to spot damaged furniture, peeling wall paper, water damage, temporary repairs and repairs done to a low standard. There are also cameras everywhere and the bar area can only be described as something your uncle would build in his front room in the 1970's. The best way to describe it is that the hotel is tired and very tired at that. If your of older years and either don't care or don't notice then fair enough. The hotel reminded me very much of a nursing home. Some of the rooms are tiny and the walls are not very thick. You can easily hear next doors television as well as other guests talking.

Food - the food was good but the downside was there was shouting coming from the kitchen on more than one occasion and from what I heard, it was the owner shouting at his 'partner'. I was disgusted at this and you can imagine what the other guests thought. How rude!!!!!!

Staff - The staff are generally fine. I did get the impression they were unhappy with the working conditions and there was one particular man who had a foreign accent on reception who was rude, condescending and abrupt on more than one occasion so I don't think it was a one off. I heard him shouting at staff also. One resident told me that this same man had shouted at guests the week before.

View and location. The views are good as it's on the cliff top but the location is 'noisy' especially at night with drunk younger people walking past until the early hours.

In summary, this hotel is like a 1970's nursing home. It's old. outdated, lots of shouting, odd smells and the rooms look like something from a Miss Marple episode. Don't let the recently painted exterior of the hotel give you a false sense of security as inside is definitely not the same as the outside.

If you have average or high expectations, want to be able to park your car easily or just want no shouting then book at your peril. You have been warned.

I hope now that I have shared my experience, maybe others will do the same.

Room Tip: They all need updating so choosing a room wont really make a difference. Stay clear of the rooms fac...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WellTravelledUK1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this lovely hotel for two nights and have just returned home. First of all, we would like to thank John and his team for making our little break so very good. This hotel ticks all the boxes in terms of cleanliness, comfort and outstanding food. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean and the bathroom had a lovely shower in it. This hotel gives real value for money and has a charm all of it's own and is an shining example of an older hotel that offers a warmth of character that many large chain owned hotels could not possibly have. Finally, the food was probably the best we have tasted in a hotel for a very long time and the waitress was excellent and very friendly. We both agree that in the very near future, we will return to this truly lovely place with views that are simply stunning.Thanks John once again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ron427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We recently booked a last minute deal and I have to say I was presently surprised. We were greeted on reception by the friendly Adam who was very helpful and couldnt be faulted he informed us of everything we needed to know about the area and hotel. Breakfast was very yummy too. Room was very basic but had everything we needed as a base. My only fault would be that the swimming pools chlorine was so strong we could only manage a 20min swim at a time. That said we enjoyed our stay so thank you.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I required an overnight stop in order to attend a concert; we were not disappointed. During our somewhat brief visit, we found the staff to be most helpful and extremely friendly, and the room, which had a most delightful view over the adjacent gardens and the sea, was very comfortable and we lacked for nothing. Our sincere thanks to the Riviera team - we will be back!
P&P, Dorset

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#9 of 67 in Bournemouth
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: 5 West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £63 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dating-from-the-Victorian-era hotel overlooking Bournemouth Bay is under-8-minute walk from the nearest beach and from Bournemouth International Centre conference and entertainment venue. The colourful, low-key rooms offer TVs and free Wi-Fi, plus complimentary tea and coffee. Most rooms feature bay view. Parking is free. A cosy bar and a sea-view lounge, plus a garden are all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing