We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riviera by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
175
80
24
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
80
24
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewwest cliffon arrivalbournemouth bayzig zagthe hotel is cleanparking is limitedtown centreweekend breakfull englishstar hotelsingle roomcooked foodthis lovely hotelplenty of hot waterlong weekendreception desk
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Warm welcome, lovely friendly staff and a room with the best view on the south coast! What more could you want? Just enjoyed a break at the Riviera and loved its quirkiness, it's location is superb and the breakfast delicious and plentiful. Great value for money and thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: 17 or 18 have views to die for
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisCou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The location was definitely number one! The hotel staff was very professional, friendly and extremely helpful with everything that we needed; such as getting us medication from drugstore and recommending the right place to go.

The fantastic breakfast served by wonderful and caring staff, I applaud the Management and staff of Hotel Riviera for their superior standard in hospitality.

Highly highly recommend this hotel. I will spread the word to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

VERY helpful and sympathetic staff. I had a problem with wi-fi and help was immediately there and solved the problem. Also, I forgot a pair of trousers there and they were mailed to me. I had to pay for it, but all was done by the hotel staff real quick and efficient.
I stayed for four nights with my partner. The room size and the bathroom was great and very clean. free wireless internet and free car parking. You cannot beat the location (the best view of Bournemouth bay). Breakfast was included and it was more than anyone could eat. I would definitely go back to that hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DREAM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Where do I start........The first thing I want to clarify is that I am a very honest person and my account of my stay is based on my personal experience. I have stayed in many Hotels and I am not usually a critic but how this hotel has had so many 'reasonable' reviews is unbelievable and I felt impelled to highlight some major shortfalls. One member of staff did tell me that the reviews are from members of the family trying to boost the ratings as well as repeat business from people in their twilight years who are used to a more 'nursing home' feel. I have chosen to categorise each point below in no particular order and IF you decide to stay here then you can decide if my 'account' had any truth in it.

PARKING - Basically, forget it. The access, the amount of spaces and general layout of the carpark is terrible. The owner of the hotel stands outside like a traffic warden dictating where to park in a vain attempt to control the last one in, first one out policy which was a joke to watch. Also, If you park in the wrong place then it means several cars would need to be moved to let you out and I had to move twice during my stay and it's just annoying and very poorly thought out..

Disabled Access - There is a stannah stair lift to the main entrance but with that, the steps are steep and treacherous for older people. There is a lift inside but is clearly old and I wouldn't trust it and didn't use it.

Rooms - I was shown 4 rooms and spoke with other residence during my stay. It is very easy to spot damaged furniture, peeling wall paper, water damage, temporary repairs and repairs done to a low standard. There are also cameras everywhere and the bar area can only be described as something your uncle would build in his front room in the 1970's. The best way to describe it is that the hotel is tired and very tired at that. If your of older years and either don't care or don't notice then fair enough. The hotel reminded me very much of a nursing home. Some of the rooms are tiny and the walls are not very thick. You can easily hear next doors television as well as other guests talking.

Food - the food was good but the downside was there was shouting coming from the kitchen on more than one occasion and from what I heard, it was the owner shouting at his 'partner'. I was disgusted at this and you can imagine what the other guests thought. How rude!!!!!!

Staff - The staff are generally fine. I did get the impression they were unhappy with the working conditions and there was one particular man who had a foreign accent on reception who was rude, condescending and abrupt on more than one occasion so I don't think it was a one off. I heard him shouting at staff also. One resident told me that this same man had shouted at guests the week before.

View and location. The views are good as it's on the cliff top but the location is 'noisy' especially at night with drunk younger people walking past until the early hours.

In summary, this hotel is like a 1970's nursing home. It's old. outdated, lots of shouting, odd smells and the rooms look like something from a Miss Marple episode. Don't let the recently painted exterior of the hotel give you a false sense of security as inside is definitely not the same as the outside.

If you have average or high expectations, want to be able to park your car easily or just want no shouting then book at your peril. You have been warned.

I hope now that I have shared my experience, maybe others will do the same.

Room Tip: They all need updating so choosing a room wont really make a difference. Stay clear of the rooms facing west as I heard one guest moaning that they had a view of an abandoned building site next door.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WellTravelledUK1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this lovely hotel for two nights and have just returned home. First of all, we would like to thank John and his team for making our little break so very good. This hotel ticks all the boxes in terms of cleanliness, comfort and outstanding food. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean and the bathroom had a lovely shower in it. This hotel gives real value for money and has a charm all of it's own and is an shining example of an older hotel that offers a warmth of character that many large chain owned hotels could not possibly have. Finally, the food was probably the best we have tasted in a hotel for a very long time and the waitress was excellent and very friendly. We both agree that in the very near future, we will return to this truly lovely place with views that are simply stunning.Thanks John once again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ron427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews