We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for stop over”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Junction Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Junction Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good for stop over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

this hotel/b&b is okay for a couple of nights. the rooms are in the pub grounds and were old garages or sheds, don't get me wrong they done out real good. The beds (we had twin beds) have seen a fair bit of action, but were clean the carpet could do with replacing. Staff were very helpful and friendly, we ate in the pub at night and the food was abit more than your normal pub grub. my wife and I with a couple of friends stay for three nights as we visited monkey world and Lulworth Cove.I would not say it is a hotel for a weeks stay.

Room Tip: all about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BERNARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    28
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
27
40
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

stayed here after a visit to Monkeyworld. The Pub was busy on our arrival and there didn't seem to be enough staff on duty to ensure we were attended to promptly. Staff friendly and professional. The room was perfectly fine for our purpose however it could have used a bit of a repaint.. nothing drastic. It was a bit disappointing to be informed there would be a disco on the Saturday night this was still going on our return from our evening out and did keep me awake for a while..
The breakfast the following morning was very good... the coffee was nice but it was a bit puzzling when it became apparent that the cafetiere didn't have coffee grounds in it!!! Breakfast service was good

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB106a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Travelling by motorcycle, I needed to stop for the night and happened across this hotel. Rooms were available, and checked in.. Nice big room and comfortable. They gave me a discount rate too, arriving at about 7pm. Ate in the pub, the menu looked very good. My meal was delicious. Friendly staff. Good food, comfortable. Well done, Junction!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sandddweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed with some friends for a weekend as we were going to a wedding nearby. The rooms were clean and pleasant, though as they're in old out buildings they are a little dark. The staff were so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to check we had what we needed, they were also really friendly to the little children that were with us. The food was nice pub food and the breakfasts were really lovely. It's one of the cheaper places to stay in town and a nice enough place, the staff are really helpful and this made all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmiwem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

we and friends stay for three nights, you get what you pay for, and we found the staff, food and rooms match the price we paid.We would not stay again because its not the sort of place we like The rooms were good, staff helpful and the food ok, apart from the Sunday lunch the roast potatoes were awful. Don't let me put you off try it.

Room Tip: not rooms 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 819TICH819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and myself stayed here for two nights while visiting the local steam fair, the staff are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble.
we had both evening meals t the pub as the first night was so good, we had rump steak with the trimmings, dessert and drinks all for under £20. I had the same the following night that's how good it was, would recommend the melt in the middle choc pudding amazing.
Drinks were reasonable. unlike other reports no problem with breakfast it was perfect very good value.
Rooms very comfy and very clean, first thing I do is check for cleanliness and it was spotless.
all round good weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehousekeeper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stopped here for 3 nights over the recent whitsun holiday weekend, having stopped here previously. The rooms were comfortable enough, clean, flat screen television. good shower. No complaints,
However getting breakfast is a different story!
We were asked when we checked in what time we would like breakfast. I thought this was strange, as there was a sign stating the breakfast times.
When we got up on the Saturday, we went over to the bar of the pub at 9 am only to find it locked! This was despite breakfast finishing at 9.30 am.
The bar was totally deserted, and we even telephoned the number on the outside - and could hear and see the phone ringing on the bar!
After 10 minutes we gave up and went round the town and found a lovely local cafe.

Upon returning after about an hour, we found the bar open, so we went in. The proprietor greeted us and said 'I must have just missed you!' More likely he had not got up!
When we were asked if we would like breakfast, we politely refused, and i suggested that we had a free meal that evening to make up for it - this was granted with no fuss,

However thinking that this was a one off, was a mistake.
Sunday morning breakfast was fine, no problem.
Bank holiday Monday - same problem again - the bar was again locked at 9am! Another couple were waiting impatiently, as they wanted an early start as they had a long way to travel.
After a couple of minutes, the door opened with the surprise greeting ' Good morning, who would like tea or coffee?
I was obviously that the proprietor had only just got up again, by his sheepish expression.

So although the location was fine, the rooms being adequate, I do not think I will be stopping here again.
Bed and breakfast mean just that! Not bed and breakfast if I am up!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dorchester hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#9 of 45 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Hotel

Property: Junction Hotel
Address: 42 Great Western Road, Dorchester DT1 1UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Junction Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Junction Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junction Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing