We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with a lick of paint!”
Review of Junction Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Junction Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Whilst I can`t enthuse about the appearance of this inn (sitting on a busy main junction doesn`t help) I will say that the interior is warm and inviting albeit slightly dated in the theme pub style. The rooms, however are set behind the main building and are furnished to a pleasant and very comfortable standard. We had room 4 which was large, airy and fitted with all the usual creature comforts and for the price could not be faulted. The threatened noise from the pub disco could not be heard from our room and we had a very comfortable stay for 2 nights. Breakfast was big and bountiful; all the staff were friendly and helpful and if I had to criticise anything at all I would probably pick on the "gourmet burger" as I think it may have come from the local branch of Iceland!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisydumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

The hotel / pub outward appearance is dismal and uninviting. Once inside, whilst some what worn down, it is clean. A pub, pub, if you understand the term.
Rooms are at the rear and consist of 6 converted storage barns. We stayed in room 4 which has a large bedroom area and an en-suite consisting of shower / wc / whb. The bedroom was spotless, linen and towels new and clean. Flat screen tv plus tea / coffee facilities.Very comfortable bed.
The en-suite showed some element of becoming tired but never the less was very clean, except for the rubber shower mat which was nasty.
Shampoo and bottled water was provided.
Breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, juices, yoghurts, fresh fruit and of course full english, very well cooked and pleasently served.
Evening meals were of course of pub style, plently of choice with special offers / reductions. Service was fast and food well cooked so no need to go elsewhere. ( found one italian restaurant plus numerous curry houses + various take aways and other pubs - nothing special )
The hotels location, sandwiched between a busy main road and a public footpath meant a high level of noise levels during rush hours, otherwise generally quiet and surprisingly no noise at all from the pub ( but we did stay mid week ) Oh, there was also the regular mechanical road sweeper at 7.45am cleaning the footpath.
Car parking is between the rear of the pub and the rooms, space is limited.
Dorchester shops are one minute walk away, the Wednesday market 2 minutes, Dorset museum 8 minutes - well worth seeing. Prince Charles / Duchy of Cornwall development Poundbury is 5 minutes drive away, you'l either love it or loath it. Theres also a variety of historical sites all within 30 minutes drive away, go to the Tourist Board offices or the above museum for information, but only go if the weathers good as the sites are exposed.
All in all the Junction is a good place to stay for a couple of nights at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed here during a weekend break and were very pleased with both the level of accommodation which was spotless and the meals - we each had a three course evening meal with drinks for under £40 for the two of us. I'd recommend this pub if you want a base to visit the attractions nearby which for us was the reason for staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diehard57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

The rooms are off a courtyard at the back of The Junction pub. The rooms are nice and well equipped, but the people congregating outside the pub -mainly to smoke kept us awake til the early hours.

The food at the pub is cheap but very basic, ok if you arrive late and want to go to bed but not for every night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissPStLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We found this hotel nice, with friendly staff, and simple but well prepared pub food, which was not expensive at all. The pub is huge and has a nice atmosphere. The room was lovely and quiet. We will certainly return if we visit Dorchester again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corfre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Stayed the 26th and 28th in rooms 2 then 4 to be close to relative in Dorset County Hospital. The rooms are the other side of small car park. The pub is very handy to the town and hospital. Friendly enough for the UK. Rooms large and newly furnished. Heart-stopping cooked breakfast is fine. The rooms are large; 2 has twin singles and 4 a large double. Newly furnished in airport-lounge-modern style. Impact was badly let down by the rooms' toilets, neither of which had been properly cleaned. Pretty disgusting. No loo brush to attend to things either.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BubbaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Located in the centre of Dorchester, was about 5 mins walk from train station. We were given a warm friendly welcome and shown to our room. We had a twin room which was large, clean and very comfortable. The room had recently been refurbished and was tastefully decorated. Even the bathroom (including the shower) was large.
The pub is situated across the courtyard from the rooms so don't worry about noise. We didn't hear a thing and there was a disco. The pub food is great too as is the breakfast.
All in all excellent value for money and we'd definately stay there again.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yip35uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.2 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
201 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.3 mi away
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Poundbury
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Hotel

Address: 42 Great Western Road, Dorchester DT1 1UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: £87 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Junction Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Junction Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junction Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing