We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to beat”
Review of Marren

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marren
Ranked #20 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hard to beat”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Secluded, comfortable and welcoming. House and room to exceptionally high standard, good furniture, well decorated and very clean. Lovely garden and views. A good base for exploring Dorset by car but also close to the coastal path and a safe, shingle beach. Excellent value and highly recommended. In all my years of travel I have not found better than Marren.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely, secluded B&B. The house is set in a magnificent, out of the way location with wonderful sea views and is run by friendly and helpful owners Peter and Wendy. Our room was stylish and comfortable (we had the larger bedroom with private access via the garden). A delicious breakfast was cooked each morning by Peter and taken in the dining room with stunning views over the terrace to the sea. The house has a calm ambience and we very much appreciated and enjoyed our stay. Before leaving, we explored the wonderful gardens surrounding Marren (Wendy is a professional garden designer) - beautiful and natural and felt very much a part of the coastal landscape. Don't miss the "stairway to heaven"! This part of Dorset is particularly attractive and we very much enjoyed our visit, made all the better by our stay at Marren.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Had a very good experience staying at the Marren for one night in May - was warmly welcomed by Peter and Wendy (although I made the school-boy error of not reading the travel directions, which I would advise everyone to do.) As has been mentioned before on the site - if anything, Peter and Wendy are under-selling their lovelly, secluded home - everything was of a greater quality than I had expected.
Do take the time also to explore the beautiful garden that Wendy has created - simply stunning !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMH549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Not only prime location, with superb views
We enjoyed our two night stay because we were pampered from the moment we arrived
Marren has lived up to our expectations and offered us more
Our thanks to peter and wendy, keep up the good work and we hope to be back in the future

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

One night away felt like much more - the peace & solitude fabulous and just what we needed.
We love that Marren is off the beaten track - our coast walking enhanced by the hint of arrival of spring like weather at last! Knowing the Dorset coast very well this area was a hidden and delightful discovery for us, Peter and Wendy make you feel very much at home and breakfast was delicious - a perfect set up for another day's walking. The immaculate room looking over to Portland was lovely with a gorgeous bathroom - just one improvement - a choice of coffee in the room not just teabags please. The garden is superb too we'd love to come back and see it in full bloom in the summer!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing and peaceful weekend at this bed and breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised as we both felt the website did not do the house justice or the setting which is definately it's main selling point. If you want to spend a few days feeling like you are really away from the city this place is definately recommended. We went for a long coastal walk to Lulworthcove and had a lovely lunch there before heading back to relax at the house and enjoy the views from our room.
The hosts provided a lovely breakfast and gave us guidance on suitable walks and place to visit. Hope to go back in warmer weather.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at Marren for three nights over the New Year period having stayed here a couple of years previously. The peace and solitude are unrivalled. The view of the bay from the room is fantastic. Peter's eggs are like no other we have tasted, having sampled many in the quest. And he and Wendy are always on hand with suggestions for days out - take decent walking boots. Make sure you reach it by turning off the main road (signpost Beach Cafe) and carry on through Ringstead Bay National Trust land - the other way that sat nav insists upon is a bit treacherous in parts. Smugglers Inn reasonable food. Also ventured to the Wild Garlic in Beaminster, run by a previous masterchef winner, for more of a foodie experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
1.8 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
459 reviews
3.8 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
459 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bradle Farmhouse
Bradle Farmhouse
#4 of 23 in Wareham
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Heathcote House
Heathcote House
#1 of 1 in Milborne Saint Andrew
111 reviews
7.3 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
273 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 4 in Winfrith Newburgh
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marren

Property: Marren
Address: Holworth, Dorchester DT2 8NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea between Lulworth Cove and Weymouth is a house called Marren. Surrounded by National Trust land, Marren is set in a large garden on a steep slope with spectacular views of Portland and Weymouth Bay. The only sounds are of waves breaking and the cries of buzzards. We are seven minutes from a secluded beach to the east of Ringstead and five minutes from the Dorset Coastal Path which leads to Bats Head, Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove. It is the perfect place for walking, seeing wildlife and breathtaking views of sea and cliffs. We have two en-suite double bedrooms. The larger one has its own entrance from the garden and a super kingsize bed; the smaller one has a spectacular view of Portland and Weymouth Bay through french windows from the bed. We can recommend a selection of excellent restaurants and pubs for eating out, plus help with local maps and directions for walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marren Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing