We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect wedding accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beggar's Knap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beggar's Knap
Ranked #24 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Even before arriving, Mark was the perfect host, wanting to ensure we had the best of stays. As we took every room In the b&b we were perhaps not the easiest of groups, all arriving at different times (sometimes without warning due to last minute wedding prep!). However, Mark took this all in his stride. Although the rooms are not perfect, the 4 poster bed is impressive and there is a good atmosphere. Breakfast was very good and when we locked ourselves out on our wedding night, Mark was on hand to let us in at 1:30 am! Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The 4 poster bed is impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polkdadotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    23
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
42
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed for one night wanting to look around Dorchester and the Dorset coast. Mark could not have been more helpful giving advice on what to do and where to go, the breakfast is first class proper sausages and real bread. We chose the four poster bed the room was spacious and well appointed, despite a pub being over the road and it being a Saturday night we had no problems sleeping. In fact I liked the place so much I'm considering giving Mark an offer he can't refuse. Well it worked for Victor Kiam!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Mark was very attentive to our needs. The service was excellent and B&B was lovely. Very quaint. Mark has good taste in ornaments! He even managed to cater for Vegans. Bravo old Boy.

Hope you enjoy your stay there too!

Room Tip: Communicate with Mark and you will be ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed for one night in February and stayed in a room with four poster bed. We were welcomed so graciously by the host Mark, who we could keep informed of our predicted arrival time via text message which I thought was a lovely idea and helped to keep atmosphere friendly and informal.
Four poster bed extremely comfortable and bay window over looking Dorchester an added bonus.
Breakfast was cooked very well with an array of cereals and fruit to choose from if we wished.
We will recommend Beggars Knap to anyone visiting Dorchester in the future, thank you again.

Room Tip: Definitely worth a little extra expense for the four poster bedroom. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Beautiful Victorian house with lovely,elegant rooms ,original features and period antiques.Glorious 4 poster bed ! Mark went out of his way to make us feel at home. Perfect host - he couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickiPCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2,262 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,427 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

I have stayed at this bed and breakfast a few years ago on a business trip and loved it so much that I decided to take my wife with me there this year. We had an outstanding room, large bed with 4 posts, and the view was just sublime. I love Mark the owner, he also remembered me from the last time I was there. The guy is full of life and always smiles, he seems like a very positive guy which in return made us feel even more welcome going in. It almost feel like staying at a cousin's house... The breakfast is outstanding and the outside straight out of a movie set! Thanks a million Mark, I hope you get ranked in the top 5 very soon! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

On a recent driving holiday in the UK we spent a night in this lovely guest house. The owner Mark was a great host and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and were fortunate enough to get a cancellation. We had a twin room which had a lovely four poster bed plus a single bed overlooking the street. Breakfast was excellent served in a beautifully furnished dining room.
There was off street parking and the town centre was just a stone's throw away with apub accross the street for our evening meal.
We found it to be great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisX_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 50 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Lantern House
#13 of 50 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beggar's Knap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beggar's Knap

Property: Beggar's Knap
Address: 2 Weymouth Avenue, Dorchester DT1 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beggar's Knap 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beggar's Knap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beggar's Knap Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing